Essie • Mademoiselle • Polishes

rated 4.4(382 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 prttybrwneyez13 on 7/31/2013 2:09:00 AM more reviews by prttybrwneyez13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this polish on my nails. I was first introduced to it while at the nail salon through one of the manicurists. I go through phases where I like having matching fingers and toes, and then I'd rather have a brighter color on my toes and clear polish on my nails and on one particular day rather I felt the need to have the latter, the manicurist asked if I had tried the color before, saying that it was a popular shade and looked very natural. I've been hooked ever since. It's like a barely-there glossy pink color and I find that it makes my nails look clean and elegant. Definitely my whole grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* remychic on 5/31/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by remychic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this polish. My nails are a wreck right now so I cut them all really short and was looking for something that would be a sheer wash of color to give a finished look but not call too much attention to my nails while I wait for them to grow back out a little. I saw this shade and decided to give it a try. It is very sheer so I understand why some will not like it. It is almost like you have no color on your nails at all, just a very sheer, very pretty glow. I have been using it with OPI Nail Envy at a base and top coat and I am really loving the look. I agree with some of the other reviewers, this will be a very pretty French manicure shade. I love the look of this color and plan on always having a bottle around for when I want a pretty "no polish" look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wooedwiththistles on 5/28/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by wooedwiththistles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Its pretty just not what i wanted. I've been looking for a pretty pinky peach opaque nail polish. something that looks natural but visible, sadly this is not it. this is a sheer nail polish, great if you want a french manicure but not if you want color. however the polish for what it is, is beautiful. nice and glossy unlike some other brands that leave a dull look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeautysWithin16 on 5/7/2013 8:47:00 PM more reviews by BeautysWithin16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I do understand why some don't like this polish, it isn't for everyone!
I bought this knowing what the polish looked like beforehand (swatches)!
Since this polish is so lightly colored, and is more of a really light pink, i use this for a french manicure, it is perfect for a natural looking french mani, especially if you want the light pink tint! I either use it for the french mani or when i am not really wanting to paint my nails and want a natural look i go for this! Definitely recommend if you want something like i listed above, or maybe for something else, but i don't think everyone will like this, obviously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paris525 on 5/4/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by paris525

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Goes on without streaking. I was really surprised at the quality of this nail polish. It complimented my deep complexion well. I'm giving myself a American manicure with Eddie's Allure on my tips and it looks fantastic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shaaaaaeeeee on 4/13/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by shaaaaaeeeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this nail polish and it looked really pretty in the bottle but when I tried it on my nails it was rreeaallyy clear. I thought it was to expensive because the it took 4/5 coats to get the colour it looked like in the bottle. Not impressed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rediska on 4/10/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by rediska

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I don't know why this is such a popular nude/MNBB colour. For me, it's not a winner because:
-application/drying time same as for coloured polishes, which is annoying. It's easier to apply a good nail treatment (like Ciate) which dries off in a second and gives that same milky shine, than do the whole 2-coats + drying time in-between that I do with Mademoiselle.
-it looks really good the first day (2 coats), but by second day it's just not as nice and neat anymore - the bits around the side edges look a bit whiter, the surface of the nail is not as smooth, and the shine is not as nice.
Meh, I'd rather do the Nails Inc South Molton street.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megabookfreak on 4/7/2013 1:53:00 PM more reviews by megabookfreak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a GREAT nail polish but for only a certain kind of person/ occasion.

This polish doesn't exactly show up on my nails. It's just very shiny with just a hint of a color. It's exactly what I need for a professional work environment because it makes your nails look GOOD but not like casual and fun I guess. If you're looking for color on your nails, steer clear of this one but its really good if you have a business professional dress code and specially for interviews!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 4/3/2013 2:05:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an alright polish, but it's not really for me. I've heard a lot of great things about this shade, and while I'll admit it is nice, it's nothing spectacular.
I used this the other day when I was staying at my grandma's house. I had an important meeting the next day and wanted to use a polish that would be neutral and look professional, so when I found this in her stash I decided to try it. Honestly, it is pretty good for a quick, easy, pretty much foolproof neutral manicure. The color is almost nonexistent -- this polish is basically clear, with just a little bit of milky pinkness to it. I used three coats to make my nails look polished, shiny, and glossy. I wish it had a little more color, but I think you could layer this all day long and it would never be totally opaque.
I did have an issue with this bubbling very badly. It bubbled so much that a few of my nails actually feel bumpy, even with a top coat on. It's not noticeable from far away, but I definitely notice it and don't like it.
I love color on my nails and I really don't like the look of bare nails, so this isn't for me. It would be a nice base for a French manicure, but I don't do those on myself so this shade would be worthless for me to buy myself. If you're very low maintenance with your nails and don't like to wear dramatic colors, then I would recommend this; just be careful with application to try to prevent the bubbling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dee0219 on 12/13/2012 6:56:00 PM more reviews by dee0219

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This polish gets rave reviews, but I am not sure it is worth all of the hype. I agree that is is a very nice color for the base of a french manicure, but doesn't seem to stack up for any other purpose.


The first coat has practically zero pigment. It was a slightly warmer color than a clear polish, but was still essentially clear. It takes about 3 or 4 coats to get anything remotely resembling a hint of color on the nails. Even then, the color is very subtle, giving off a "your-nails-but-better" look, and at the most, leaves you with a creamy pink, understated-but-still-there wash of color that looks better than bare nails.


For an opaque pink, I suggest Essie's "Fiji"


As for Mademoiselle, I'm not in love. It's not bad, but it doesn't quite fit what I am looking for in a nail polish. I may wear this at my wedding, using it for a french manicure -- but I don't think this will fit in my polish rotation very often.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products