Bourjois • Effet Liner Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.8(82 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 KeeleyCide on 9/25/2011 1:23:00 PM more reviews by KeeleyCide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I thought that this mascara is great on my bottom lashes because they are quite long but not good if you want to seal a curled upper lash. I have very short, straight upper lashes and the Waterproof seems really quite heavy and weighs them down. I'm a bit silly when it comes to Mascara and I often use a mascara that's suited for my bottom lashes and one for my upper lashes. I need to try mascaras that work for both so I'm not wasting my money :P Great idea though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 micaw on 9/6/2011 12:41:00 PM more reviews by micaw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a 2 step mascara. The brush head has 2 faces with different bristle length and density. On one side, the bristle is short and dense, on the other side, the bristles long and sparse. According to instructions, I use the the short side to get the formula into the base of the lashes to create the effect of kohl liner, as well as volumizing the lashes, then use the longer side to comb out the the volumised lashes, lengthening them. love the idea, I think it is very clever and effective. The formula is very wet and will not hold any curl unless I use a polymer base mascara on top of this, great mascara to create a smudged rocker look with red stained lips or glam rock with silver shadow and nude lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brookewannabe on 9/1/2011 5:51:00 PM more reviews by Brookewannabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

the past 3 months ive tried a few mascaras dior diorshow 360 and bourjois rotating one, althought i loved the dior 360 its quite pricey at almost 30 and mascara does dry out so your probably loosing quite abit of the product. i tried the rotating one by bourjois and i was not impressed i didnt really like it at all

today i purchased this mascara as they have a offer on all mascaras 5.99 in boots so i checked some out and this is amazing i tried this just now and wow for the price aswell its amazing.

i love the brush as its not thick and clumped up its a very thin plastic brush with small soft brissles on one side and longer ones on the other very similer brush to an eyelash brush so it seperates i used the short ones on the lower lash and the bigger ones on my top lashes, i applied it and it made my lashes look amazing. its waterporrf and intense black so you dont need much.

ive tried many many many masaras from every dior one avalible, clinique, clarins even cheaper brands and this one kicks their butt.
defo worth the money not that its much to spend anyway.

i rated the packaging 2 as it wasnt in any box or anything and mine did not have a seal on but i checked it first to see if it was tested and looked new plus it was the last of 2 they had on the shelf so i snapped the one that looked like it hadnt been played with.

i reccomend people to try this and dont worry incase your allegic as im allergic to bourjois eyeshadows but their mascara doesnt bother me at all.

remember to get the one with the blue stripe down the side as the silver one is not waterproof

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jcont1234 on 8/18/2011 1:13:00 PM more reviews by jcont1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Perhaps this is a better product for those with long lashes. I have short, straight lashes and it certainly did not create a "liner" effect. The product itself is a bit messy. I'm very careful in how I handle my mascara wands, but after a few weeks there was a very thick ring on the tube itself. Add another week and the mascara basically had clumped/dried to form a plasticy ring that is hard to remove. This is an ok mascara, but I won't be buying it again based on the price and final effect on my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claudia1408 on 8/17/2011 7:21:00 AM more reviews by claudia1408

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is amazing!! I bought it a few months ago because a friends recommended it to me. Because i naturally have very long eyelashes i can never find a mascara that really makes any difference but this one really did make my eyashes seem much much longer. It also gives a great liner effect so i don't feel the need to use eyeliner at all!! It doesn't clump either, and I like the fact that the wand is quite long which i find makes it easier to apply. This is definitely one of the best makeup products i have ever used!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 7/18/2011 11:35:00 AM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this mascara two years ago because they had a nice selection of colors. I bought it in brown and blue. I really like the plastic wand, it makes it really easy to reach all your lashes. I prefer a clean look and hate clumps and this mascara worked really well, I've never experienced any smudging or flaking. I wear contact lenses and it didn't cause me any discomfort. Overall a nice product, but nothing amazing. The colors weren't that bright or pigmented either, it was a dark-bluish and dark-brownish color. Will not repurchase (especially if it's only available in black now, I have too many black mascaras already).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 reiichan on 7/12/2011 10:43:00 AM more reviews by reiichan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this mascara a lot. It gives great volume and length. It doesn't smudge and the colour is very dark black. All in all it is a great mascara, one of my favourite. I will definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mairynB on 6/27/2011 6:06:00 AM more reviews by mairynB

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Liner effect? I guess the name 'smudgy-effect' doesn't sound as good. I found that this mascara was quite difficult to use - the wand sounded good, with its short stubby plastic teeth on one side and long skinny ones on the other, but actually using it is difficult! It's very easy to get smudges with this - smudges beneath the eyebrows and on the upper waterline. I guess at least it's easy to reach the roots of your lashes with it? Also, I found the formula of the mascara quite thick and clumpy.
Definitely would not re-buy. I hope Bourjois work on this mascara's formula and wand, because the idea is awesome, but the actual product needs work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lauradi on 6/15/2011 3:33:00 PM more reviews by lauradi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not a fan at ALL. Maybe if you are great at applying make-up, it will work. I found it didn't give any liner effect, and wasn't a decent mascara either.

The sales rep told me it was easy to apply. It's not. It is easy to get mascara all over your eyelid and under-eye area, if that's the look you're going for.

Packaging is pretty ugly; a really big, thick tube. It did have a squared-off edge which I thought was clever (keeps it from rolling off your vanity and into the toilet!)

Didn't look like I was wearing eyeliner. I rather stick with an easier-to-use mascara, like the Lorac I'm using now or good old Clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 niffniff on 5/2/2011 11:33:00 AM more reviews by niffniff

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Probably the best mascara I've ever used, although it doesn't actually give you a 'liner effect' it does lengthen the lashes really well with no clumps and easy to go straight from the root to the tips. Lovely product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Mascara products