E.L.F. • Mineral Booster • Loose Powders

rated 4.1(92 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 11/10/2011 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wOWOWWOW! I absolutely adore this powder- This is amazing for alot of different things but theres two things i use this for everyday that i know ill never be able to make my makeup look complete w/out it. I will be reviewing the shade "SHEER"
=PRICE/AVAILABILITY=
This Mineral Booster is sold exclusively online on the ELF Website in the mineral line. which i wish it was easier to find even if it was at Target stores I wouldnt mind but sometimes Ill wait for a mineral sale. If not on sale there is two different sizes & prices & shades. I am reviewing the shade "SHEER" but their is also Tinted & Shimmer formulas. I buy the SHEER shade in the small size which is 4.8 grams or .017 ounces which is priced at $5 which is a steal!!! but it also comes in a larger container/jar that is 0.63 oz for $8 so depending on what you feel is a better deal,i go with the small size since i wait for a sale & the small size last forever long. I have bought a backup for when i eventually run out which ive owned my first one for over a year now & still have 1/2 left.I think its def worth $5
=SHADE/FORMULA/PERFORMANCE=
According to the ELF site, this is what their claims are for the mineral booster: "Achieve the ultimate, translucent "photo finishing touch" to your makeup, our Mineral Booster melts into your skin, infusing it with key vitamins A, B and E to promote healthier skin thatís noticeably silkier and smoother. Completely sheer and ideal for all skin tones, Mineral Booster gently absorbs oil and minimizes the appearance of wrinkles, fine lines and pores for a beautiful even finish. Wear alone or buff over our Mineral Concealer and Foundation to lend extra staying power and to achieve a professional and stunning porcelain matte look that will last all day. " All these claims are absolutely true but i find that even the Sheer formula isnt too matte. Its more natural finish. But its so pretty. The Sheer formula does have a slight pink tone to it which for my cool toned extremely pale skin (yes vampire pale) this is perfect for all over buffing to set foundation which i love doing on days i want a a more flawless look but what I LOVE TO USE THIS FOR is setting my undereye concealers! Its perfect for me since i suffer from awful dark purple blue circles so i use correctors & concealers so when i use a fluffy brush to tap a very thin amount to set my concealers & the slight barely noticeable sheer powder keeps my concealer from fading & settling into my fine lines which i have too- i have never seen my concealers look so amazing til i decided one day to use this instead of my reg face powders & ever since ive used it daily on my under eye concealer, ive even used it on its own & it def helped out a bit. This powder provides almost a primer smooth canvas to the skin. Its cool toned w/ a tinge of pink but is sheer once applied. i find it best suited for light to maybe med skin tones that are cool since it may pull ashy on some. I makes my foundation look even better & also makes it stay longer since it sets the oils from coming thru as well as its packed with natural good ingredients that have never bothered my sensitive skin. This is for real the best powder i own & never want to be without it again!!!
=PACKAGING=
I love the simple & yet expensive looking mineral packaging from ELF. Its the basic hard plastic jar with a sifter & holes & screw on lid. The container isnt bulky w/ excess but the whole container is filled with powder. The holes are big enough that when tapped the right amount will come out but not come pouring out everywhere that you have a whole bunch of powder every where. i like tapping my powder into the lid & swirling & tapping my brush into the powder. The lid screws on & off & is sturdy that it keeps the powder inside safe. Also whats great is the mineral powder will last longer than some powder since minerals dont produce bacteria like others. I love the vitamins & goodness thats inside. I dont suggest bringin this everywhere since the powder will be all thru the top thru sifter thru travel but i have to bring mine but its not as bad as some mineral containers i own. Simple & pretty
Overall, i will continue to repurchase this powder over & over again- but i wont have to go out every month to buy it which is nice since its only online & elf customer service sucks so ill do it for this. I love this powder- it completely transformed my concealer!!! thanks to elf for making this awesome goodness!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mi2092 on 10/26/2011 1:52:00 PM more reviews by mi2092

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's an average product. I got it in shimmer. I like to wear it alone when I am going to walk the dog (don't wanna walk down the street looking sick scaring people). It's very easy to apply and it goes on nicely and stays on for a a decent amount of time. It does work on oil control. I still need to use one oil absorbing sheet a few hours later. That's not too bad. I don't know about minimizing imperfection. To me, it did make my pores appear smaller but not a big different.
I don't really like the color of the shimmer though. It appears to be purple/pink with a little bit of blue. I think it reminds me of the plastic pearl/beads necklace kids play with... Anyways, I just personally dislike the color reflected under light. If I really want something to brighten my complexion I would prefer shimmer that has no or minimal color. At least it won't make your T zone looks oily.
Over all, I don't mind this product. It's cheep and does at least 60% of what it say. I'm just too use to the $3 products from E.L.F therefore I gave it a 2 when it comes to price rating. I won't repurchase the shimmer one again but I'm interested in trying out the sheer though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 allthelittlethings on 8/25/2011 9:00:00 AM more reviews by allthelittlethings

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

There isn't that much to say about this product it is just simply ok. It does a minimal job of covering shine and lasts for quite a while. It is easy to apply all though i found that it went everywhere as soon as i unscrewed the lid. If your looking for a powder that will do its job for a great price then this is it but it's definaly nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lewipop on 8/24/2011 6:30:00 PM more reviews by Lewipop

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't dislike this prouduct i just found that it didnt actually do anything. I have oily skin so it does help take away a bit of the shine but I always seem to apply it and only see a minimal change! I do like the fact that it goes on easily with a kubuki brush or a total face brush and stays on for quite a while aswell. I would buy this product again simply because it leaves my skin feeling smooth but I can honestly say that's the only change it does to my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 voidy on 8/12/2011 9:10:00 AM more reviews by voidy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is not sheer. I have a light skintone and the powder slightly changes my natural colour, making me look a bit more pink. I'm cool toned with pink undertones, so this is not pleasant at all!
However, this does a good job at controlling oiliness (7-8 hours) but my skin isn't very oily. I think a person with really oily skin should look for something else.
Overall, don't buy this if you have pink undertones and don't want to look pinker. I gave this 4 lippies because it is good at controlling shine if you don't have too much and it makes your skin feel soft. It controls shine better than the HD Powder from E.L.F.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xMarshmallow on 7/18/2011 10:46:00 AM more reviews by xMarshmallow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not gonna start my review by saying: OMG this is an amazing product. I just like it. I got it because it looked like a good setting powder. I'm using this every day and I don't have any problems with it. It gives a nice sheer coverage and isn't cakey. I don't know if it is completely sheer, but it doesn't show up on my medium skintone. It may show up if you have a very light or dark skintone. It doesn't last very long, but I don't really mind. Because when I apply it in the morning my face looks nice ant matt, and during the day it gets this nice dewy finish that I really like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leiara on 7/15/2011 5:57:00 PM more reviews by Leiara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great!

I have it in Sheer, which could be more sheer anyway, I was expecting a more translucent powder and this has a slight colour; but it works great. I have combination to oily skin and it tends to get very oily 1 or 2 hours after I apply make up. With Mineral Booster, my face gets oily only after 5-6 hours and this is a success. It doesn't look cakey, and I apply it again once my face becomes oily. It definitely makes my face look more complete and even, pores less visible. I have a few acne scars on my cheeks that the foundation is not able to cover, and Booster makes them less noticable and my overall look undoubtedly softer. And closer to a flawless finish.

I tried applying it with a powder brush but, of course, kabuki brush works the best.

I'll definitely buy it again -if I can ever see the bottom of the huge jar :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HazyDayz on 7/11/2011 5:56:00 PM more reviews by HazyDayz

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This review is for the original sheer Mineral Booster. It always disappoints me when I see positive reviews on this product because it makes me wonder why mine is different. When I used this product I started noticing how sunburned my face looked. I didn't use a lot just a light buffing of booster with my kabuki. But everytime I looked pinkish red. Finally I took a paper towel to wipe it off and noticed that even on the paper towel the color was a pinkish red. I then wiped just booster on the back of my hand and sure enough it was that same sunburned color. That color is not flattering when you are light in color. Besides the horrible color it does nothing to boost up your makeup or mattify your face. I found it to be an unnecessary step with an unnecessary color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blahblahh on 6/21/2011 9:42:00 AM more reviews by blahblahh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've no idea what it really does for my appearance. Yes it has mattifying effect, but I've tried better stuff to keep me matte. No coverage and no 'boosting' that I notice. Simply put it works very well as finishing powder / setting powder on top of a good foundation. Can't use this on its own unless you have really, really good skin. Would I repurchase? Yes, I can't resist the price and the quantity. It's just I don't understand the difference between "mineral booster" and "normal loose powder".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dvdfjojo on 5/29/2011 12:39:00 PM more reviews by dvdfjojo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bought this as I needed something to 'set' my liquid foundation and it seems to do that job well but not much else.

It doesn't really give a sheen or finish other than to mattify my look which I'm not overly keen on as I have dry skin and don't want my foundation to look dry after I've spent so long searching for the perfect 'dewy'.

So still on the lookout for a good setting powder that's translucent and keeps the sheen of my foundation or actually improves the overall look of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Loose Powders products