Unlisted Brand • Retin A • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(513 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 maxmommy2 on 1/5/2014 6:20:00 PM more reviews by maxmommy2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had originally written a bad review for this two years ago, however I'm changing it to reflect what I've experienced with it since. It won't work for everyone, but it is the only thing to keep my skin consistently clear of cystic acne (I still get the occasional small spot, especially when I skip a few days - but the horrible below-skin-level angry bumps are a thing of the past). It does take at least two months of consistent use before you will see results. Also, your skin will look pretty bad at first - more acne, red skin, peeling. However, there are a few things you can do to make it a much smoother ride:

- DO NOT PICK. Your skin is much more fragile and prone to slow healing/scarring while being treated. Picking will cause a world of hurt.

- A simple moisturizer (I use Nivea Soft) is a good buffer and can be applied underneath the Retin A or on top, in order to keep skin from getting too sore and dry.

- It's ok to skip days and apply every other day or a couple of times a week.

- Sunblock!

I've not noticed an improvement in my wrinkles, however I *touch wood* don't have that many to begin with so I'm not too bothered. I get mine from an online pharmacy, and although it's a little bit expensive a small tube lasts for months - and it works.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 originalconfidence on 12/15/2013 1:56:00 AM more reviews by originalconfidence

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Its been a month and im still flaking despite the fact that it is the lowest percentage 0.025%. When will it stop flaking? As for acne... Well its not that big of a difference

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emvie on 12/6/2013 7:07:00 AM more reviews by emvie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using Tretinoin Gel 0.025% every other night for around 6-8 weeks (wish I had written down when I started!) and I've already seen a tremendous improvement in my skin! I have oily skin usually, and I noticed a marked increase in oil production on the days after I used retin-a for around 2 weeks but that subsided. I never went through a purging period, I think that's because I only use it every other night. My skin is pretty resilient but between starting retin-a and the weather turning cold, I started experiencing some dryness. I already mixed Rosehip oil with my Clarins daily moisturizer but to combat my newly dry skin I added Jojoba oil, which is supposed to mimic the skin's natural sebum. With this combination, my skin has never looked better! I had big pores, a lot of blackheads on my chin, and whiteheads on my cheeks, all of which never went away, plus at least one active pimple at any given time. All of that has drastically improved. The best part is... I no longer have oily skin!!! I had initially intended to move up to using retin-a every night but I don't think it's necessary as my skin is in such a good state with this regimen. I think the key is balance between using the product and keeping skin adequately hydrated. My expectations have been surpassed--what I wanted was clear skin, I got that plus GLOWING skin! So happy! I also wanted to combat a few fine lines under my eyes and on my forehead. The ones under my eyes are still there but the lines on my forehead have disappeared! The only downside is the price, my prescription cost over $100, insurance wouldn't cover it because I'm 25 years old.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lrc1024 on 12/4/2013 3:48:00 AM more reviews by Lrc1024

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for 6 months today and I'm amazed at the results. I'm only 14 but started getting acne at 12. I've never had clear skin for such a long time. I still get breakouts here and there but this product is perfect! I never went through the "purge" stage thank god. I've tried this product before & absolutely hated it. The problem was I never used it correctly. I started again mostly for hyper pigmentation and it's gotten rid of it a ton. It's so weird having smooth clear skin. I still have hyperpigmentation but I hope in time It will get better like it is now! I've tried many things but this has helped best. If you try it stick with it! I have oily skin & use a pea sized amount at night and in the morning use a wash cloth to exfoliate. A good moisturizer is a must! I use a gel one since I have oily skin. I get so many compliments on my skin but it's still not completely how I want it. With foundation my skin is perfect! But since I wear powder and concealer my skin looks good with that too. I'm overall SO happy with this product & recommend it to anyone struggling like I was. Didn't get a 5 star cause I wish it worked a little faster :(. Thank god I got a hold of this now since I'm young & didn't wait any longer! Retin a is my HG I love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zezy on 11/10/2013 4:46:00 AM more reviews by zezy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It is the only thing that actually keeps me away from breaking out while giving me a lovely skin texture! I have used it on and off ~3 years and I am pretty sure I will use it for another 30 or more years!

Pros:
1) Clears skin.
2) Gives lovely skin texture.
3) Reduces wrinkles.

Cons:
1) Comes only with prescription.
2) Not that available to get.
3) Makes skin super sensitive to sun.
4) If over-using, leaves skin flaky.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JadaIgwe on 11/2/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by JadaIgwe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started using tretonin .025% about 2 or so years ago because my friend told me it would help fight wrinkles.

I am pretty sure the retin-a has helped because my skin looks the same if not a little better every year because I use so much more and newer stuff all the time.

If you overdo it you will peel but it is a great product once you find out how much to use

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 10/24/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I heard so many good things about this product and how it helps to improve your skin if you suffer from slight breakouts or have wrinkles. My skin does tend to breakout form time to time but the lately I have been getting these breakouts mainly on my chin (not spots but the kind of cyst type breakouts that is deep under your skin and leaves a red bump on your skin that hurts). This time I elt like the breakout was more persistent so I got Retin-A 0-025% hoping that it would clear up my skin.

The first 3 weeks of using it I felt that it was helping my skin. My chin cleared up and it lightened up my hyperpigmentation from previous spots.
The only downside is that you need to moisturise your skin heavily, because this stuff will make your skin peel and somewhat dry.

Fourth week onwards my cysts on my chin started appearing again even though I have been using Retin-A every night. This is my fifth week of using Retin-A and I feel like my skin is back to square one. I have now ordered 2 products from Acne.org, which are the Treatment with Benzoyl 2.5% and the AHA 10% Glycolic acid. Until the products arrive I might as well just continue using the Retin-A. Maybe it will make a difference.

On a more positive note I noticed that since using Retin-A reduced the blackheads on my nose and where my skin tone was a little uneven (hyperpigmentation and redness) I feel that it has improved it.

However it makes your skin peel (not necessarily dry but definitely peel), which makes it difficult to apply makeup/foundation, because it will accentuate the areas where your skin is coming off. I'm also not entirely sure if this product is that great for reducing acne, but if you are looking to even out your skin tone or reduce blackheads then it's a good product.

I'm still on the fence about this. Maybe I just need to try it out for longer, but I just can't stand the peeling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vaniessa on 10/20/2013 8:53:00 AM more reviews by Vaniessa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this product saved my skin! i had acne for the longest time ever and I've tried every single product on the market to cure my acne, from drug store brand to high-end products but nothing beats this product! it's cheap, its effective & it lasts! one tube last me few months & you only need to use this at night, and nothing else! and i do notice that it also make other products for oily or acne skin much more efficient as well, of course you do not want to go overboard with the products that you apply cause its gonna make your skin sensitive! however i do notice that it does make my pores slightly enlarged though.. but that won't stop me from using it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nhothch on 10/18/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by Nhothch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this product a little over a year and it isn't what I expected. I thought it would make my skin clear enough to not have to wear makeup anymore but that's not the case.

I'm 32 years old and have struggled with acne since my teenage years. I've used proactiv to help manage my acne. After having kids my acne got worse I starting getting acne all around my mouth and chin. I went to the dermatologist and was prescribed accutane which worked like magic. I had no more acne and a lot better complexion. After my second baby my acne flared again. I was prescribed accutane for the second time and used it for only four months. I was clear again but after a couple years I had these under the skin bumps that were not acne but oil trapped under my skin that wouldn't go away. I went to the dermatologist and was prescribed retin a. She said it won't guarantee that the bumps will go away but she couldn't prescribe accutane anymore since I didn't have acne. I decided to try it.

Two weeks on retin a was a nightmare. My skin became red, flaky, dry, bumpy and I was peeling. From then onto four months I started breaking out like never before. It was nonstop breakouts including places I've never had pimples before like my forehead. People at work we're wondering why my skin was so bad they told me to discontinue retin a. Although I wanted to quit because I was so depressed and didn't want people to see my crazy face, I continued using retin a everyday. There were some positive changes like my frown line was reducing and brown spots were lightening. Also, my pimples healed quicker than usual. After four months I went through a clear up breakout process every month. This was better than breaking out everyday but I still wasn't satisfied with the results. I gave it a good year before I realized retin a alone won't help so I started researching online different acne treatments. I was going to try proactiv again but found out there was a better product called exposed skin care. After using retin a every night and exposed skin care during the day I think I finally found a solution.

Do I recommend retin a? I would only recommend it to strong people that are willing to have horrendous skin for awhile, it's not for the weak. I guess everyone's skin is different since some reviews show improvement within a month or so, :( no fair. I would recommend using retin a in conjunction with some type of bacteria killer to lessen the outbreak. I wish I found exposed skin care sooner.

To describe my skin so far, I would say I'm pretty clear. I only get one or two little pimples here and there usually before my period that heals quickly. I still have acne scar I'm waiting to go away. I still have under the skin oil bumps that seem to be permanent. Therefore, I still wear makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jessicaelias on 10/9/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by jessicaelias

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe I'm just fooling myself, but I swear that this one made more harm to my skin than it did good. I used this 6 months before I gave up. It helped with the acne, sure. At the time. And I got this amazing glow that I can't explain. BUT. My skin after retin a(it's been over six months since I discontinued the treatment) is sooooo sooooo sensitive and THIN. Yes. Thin. My epidermis(outer layer) never repaired itself, or it never went back to it's original state. With time I developed many crowsfeet(at 17 yaaayy) and alot of new fine lines under the eyes. My fine lines has multiplied and the skin takes alot of time to "bounce back" to its original state after making a facial expression. My skin can't handle the sun anymore, and worst of all is that I can't wear makeup because my skin reacts to pretty much anything I use. My skin looks really awful. Red and fragile and full of small pimples everywhere. It has never been like this, and I've had acne since I was 12. This one might be great for some people that needs to boost up their collagen and have a thick skin barrier but if you're young like me or you have skin that's more on the sensitive side then I would be careful using this because it won't do anything good besides from making the outer layer of the skin super thin and even more sensitive and red. And I know I'm not alone in having these kind of feelings towards retin a.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products