Anastasia Of Beverly Hills Brow Pen Long Wearing Brow Tint

3.4

53 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/19/2010 2:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OMG, what a disappointment. Let me first say that I'm a fan of Anastasia brow pencils. I especially like Medium Ash, which is exactly the right tone for me (olive skin, light ash brown hair), except a *teensy* bit too red. I am always seeking brow pencils that are essentially the color of pencil lead, graphite with a touch of taupey brown to them, and always coming up empty-handed. I bought this brow pen ("universal light shade") hoping it would be similar to Medium Ash, or perhaps (hopehopehope) even less red. FAIL! I swept it on with short, light, feathery strokes, and it looked decent in the rather dim light of my bedroom mirror. When I got in my car in full sunlight, however, gaaaaah!! My brows were RED--so red I thought for a moment I'd made a mistake and used a lip stain liner on my brows instead of Anastasia's Brow Pen. Unfortunately, no mistake. I have very sparse, light brows, so the stain showed up as a clownish arc on my skin, even though I'd applied it lightly. On women with darker brows it might look fine, like a shadow underneath the hairs. Likewise, on women with red or auburn hair it would probably be perfect. But if you have ash-colored hair like me, and especially if your skin tends to amplify the red in "neutral" colors, try before you buy. I wish I'd read the reviews below before buying this one. :-(



on 5/16/2010 2:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG after seemingly trying every powder or pencil I could find. I have sparse and non-existing areas for some unknown med. reason. I don't try to draw in little hairs..I just gently swipe this on. I might ad a powder if I can't get total coverage. It sinks into your skin like a magic marker... .doesn't sit on top. I have both the colors and I think the lighter is best for me. Edit: 8-15-10 Stopped wearing this..just didn't work anymore..found something better. Still looking for my HG.


on 5/15/2010 7:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this because I was tired of using powders and pencils and thought this would look and wear better. I have very light eyebrows and the universal light shade isn't so universal, it actually has a reddish tint to it and looked very harsh against my skin, especially in sunlight. Other than the color, I liked the feel and application of it. If another light shade was introduced, minus the red tint, I'd consider trying it again.


on 5/4/2010 2:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the deepest shade of this pen and I love it! My brows are pretty dark, almost black but not quite and even though the pen isnt an exact match to the hair color, it still looks very natural. My pen doesnt show up reddish at all on my skin like with other reviewers. I dont know if that's cos my skin is tan or what. But my brows are of medium density and whenever I use powders or pencils to fill in the sparse areas, it always looked weird/too clown like even when I chose a lighter shade. With this pen, I can draw on hairs and fill in gaps and it looks sooo incredibly natural!!! i'm so impressed with this product. it leaves a subtle sheen to my brows, whenever I'd use powders or pencils they would look dull and powdery. will def buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2010 9:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i have been on the hunt for a good eyebrow pen and this is IT girls, as a young adult i WAY overtweezed to the point of no return and therefore left with barely half an eyebrow left and this is exactly what i needed. for 10 years i used covergirl brow maker pencil but it always smeared if i touch my eyebrow by accident and i do not have that problem anymore. when i put this on i can rub and rub my eyebrows and they are staying put. i am so happy to have found this i could cry. seriously! i got the lighter shade and it is the perfect color. if you have thinning eyebrows i say Run and get this NOW! nevermind the bad reviews on here, i dunno what thats all about because this products is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2010 9:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Thank goodness for this product! I was devastated after a professional overplucking (before a TV appearance, no less), and this rescued me. The Universal Light shade works perfectly and looks quite natural. My brows are naturally full and so look darker than they are; I have dark ash blonde hair with lighter highlights, and anything darker than a blonde pencil is too overwhelming. The very fine tip makes it easy to apply precisely and you can build little by little to a fuller shape, stopping exactly where you wish. I have been using this over Talika Lipocils (see my review) to encourage my brows to grow back in, and they seem to be doing very well. This is by far the most natural-looking brow product I've used, and the size fits nicely in my makeup bag or a small purse (a lot of brow pencils are too long). It does have excellent staying power - if you fall asleep wearing it, you'll see much of it still there the next morning. I don't know how well this works for those with very light brows, but it is ideal for me. I'm grateful to have had this on hand to remedy a bad situation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2010 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really wanted to love this as well, but it just didn't work for me. I got the universal light for my dark blonde/light brown browns, but for some reason this turned an auburn shade once applied and looked very harsh. It wasn't light enough either - she really should make more than two shades. I looked like I had drawn on drag queen eyebrows! Not exactly the look I was going for. This will be going back to Sephora.


on 11/23/2009 10:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I took a leap getting this after reading the mixed reviews here, but turns out it works for me. :) I got the lighter of the two colors and my eyebrows are finally EASY to do and turn out great. My problems with powders and pencils have been that they always end up looking too harsh no matter what. I think it's the opaqueness of them. So the transparent tint of the pen is what is making the HUGE difference for me. I love this pen and hope they come out with many more colors. The light works well for me, thank god, but I was really nervous having only a choice of two colors.


on 11/17/2009 10:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have bark brown hair and thin brows. I bought the dark shade, and I love it. It is great for filling in sparse brows, and it lasts on my oily skin. It is a lot less "harsh" than a regular brow pencil- the liquid inside is kind of sheer. I also go over it with an eyebrow brush after applying, to soften the look even more. I have heard the lighter one can look purple on some people, but the dark does not, I assure you. This is my favorite brow product by far.


on 10/29/2009 8:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this, but 1) it is too dark and 2) the tip of the pen bent after a couple of uses (I was not pressing hard), and I can't get it back to the way it was. This made my brows look too harsh, and while it did fill in a couple of sparse spots, the dark color was too conspicuous. I tried the lighter shade, but that didn't match my brows at ALL. Great concept, but need more flattering shades and better packaging.


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
371 Reviews
Brow Wiz
342 Reviews
Gimme brow
172 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
610 Reviews
Back to Top