The Body Shop • Nature's Minerals Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.9(75 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmei on 10/30/2010 5:58:00 AM more reviews by missmei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This product gives mineral powder foundations a bad name. It was expensive, had limited shades that stood out like a mile, cakey finish and it did not cover. If that wasn't bad enough, it also made the sides of my nose and forehead exceptionally oily!
It has a fine sieve that you need to get passed to get the powder out. Good idea to make the powder smoother but a massive pain to try to get the powder back into the main pot area. Not recommended for travel as you end up with a heap of powder the has a tendency to spill when you open it.
I don't think it clogged my skin and it does not contain talc but that would be the end of the positives for me.
I much prefer Nude By Nature which is my HG. It is a 100% natural and is more cost effective as well as being a superior product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jl4068 on 9/8/2010 5:00:00 AM more reviews by jl4068

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this over the top of my LUSH colour supplement and find it works well. On its own, the coverage is quite light, but that is to be expected from a mineral foundation. I'm not to keen on the loose powder, but am yet to find a compact version without the excessive preservatives (if there is one). This is a good to even out skin tone and doesn't clog pores. It does not, however, cover acne scars or blemishes too well (unless you plan on buffering and layering heaps - this will make it look cakey though and will use up a ton of product).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anandakatze on 8/20/2010 10:09:00 AM more reviews by anandakatze

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Didn't irritate my skin, but this oxidized and turned orange on my skin. Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Holamandy on 8/11/2010 5:32:00 AM more reviews by Holamandy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this after hearing raves on mineral foundations.

I really regret buying this foundation because it turns into an oily mess after 2 hours. My face shines really really bad! I have oily combination skin and this is not suitable for me at all.

I do agree that the powder is super fine and good for the skin, Doesn't clog pores nor cause breakouts. However it's just too messy for me =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 farahana on 8/4/2010 5:57:00 AM more reviews by farahana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This foundation has successfully made me think twice before going natural and all-mineral....
At first, I thought of buying this to save more time and at the same time, to try out mineral foudation, to see whatís the HYPE about. I thought about doing this review for a while, but I still want to give it time and I decide to finish the product first.

When I put this on, I accept it to be light to medium coverage (eventhough, the sale assistant says otherwise, 'it can cover acne',that bulls***t), for me, itís too light on the brink of it being translucent... and we have a product called translucent powder, that is not what I sign up for RM99.
Continue on, after a while, I realize that my face become really shiny.. (it is always shiny, but this shiny is like Iím not putting on any makeup)... so I would say that this does not really have oil-control properties, or their oil-control properties just suck!
Then, I also felt uncomfortable while wearing this. It make my skin felt more bumpy (itís already quite bumpy actually) and it has no smooth feeling like I should feel after wearing foundation and powder. Some people said that this cause breakouts. It does not necessarily break me put since Iím always prone to that, but I do felt uncomfortable and tight on my skin.

Okay, the colour range is also not the best, only up to 5 shades I believe. It was also annoying that I canít really get the little more left out of the sift... rip off!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bekahh101 on 7/31/2010 7:35:00 AM more reviews by bekahh101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation a couple of months ago and I have to say I am impressed! I had a voucher to the body shop and thought I would go in there for a new foundation. I was after a product that was good for the skin as my skin has been a bit dodgy recently, and as this is a mineral foundation it contains natural ingredients, which are a lot beter on your skin. It doesn't clog my pores, and when I'm wearing it I can barely een feel it, so it feels just like my normal skin. One of the good things about it is that even though it is a powder you can still wear it on it's own, as you can get really good coverage, or you can wear it over the top of liquid foundation without looking too much. There are a fair few shades to choose from, so I recommend getting one of the shop assisstants to do a colour match so you don't get the wrong colour for you. They are very friendly and will do it for free, so why wouldn't you? I nought the 02 shade it matches my skin tone almost exactly. At $40, it sounds expensive but when you think about it most other brands charge even more, and seeing as this doesn't clog your pores and you only need a little bit on the brush ( a little goes a long way) I think it is really worth the money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* product_junkie6 on 7/25/2010 1:32:00 AM more reviews by product_junkie6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a complete waste of money. I bought it after hearing so much hype about mineral makeup, and I thought it would be better for my skin.

As others have mentioned, it gives no coverage whatsoever. It's completely invisible on me, and does not help with controlling shine. It's totally pointless.

I tried it a few months after I bought it (my own fault) so I couldn't return it. What a waste of money. Can't even use it as a setting powder because it makes me break out with little bumps over my chin :(

1 lippie for SPF I guess...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 simplexangel on 7/25/2010 1:26:00 AM more reviews by simplexangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried the BE mineral foundation, but it was too pricey for me. I got this foundation and the face and body brush when the Body Shop was having a promotion. I don't regret it. I'm actually surprised at the reviews it got. Liquid foundation is way too heavy for me, this foundation gives a nice light coverage with good staying power. My only problem with it is my face gets really, really shiny after a couple of hours or so. But, I'll definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalie_xoxo on 7/6/2010 1:06:00 PM more reviews by lalalie_xoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been seeing this product at TBS stores for a while and only thought to give it a try now after loving the foundation kabuki brush for quite a while now.

After reading the reviews here prior to purchasing, I kind of saw a trend that is product is very much light to medium coverage, and that is exactly what I was looking for. Something to even out my skintone and conceal some minor redness.

This product did a great job giving me a very natural, glowy (not sparkly or glimmery) look while evening out my skintone and concealing most of the redness I have. So overall, I really do like this product!

There are, however, two reasons why I marked it a 4 instead of 5...
a) this didn't really do anything to hide my pores... though this isn't too important to me and not exactly a deciding factor;
b) my oily t-zone was oily after approximately 5-6 hours of wear... which means having to touch up at work or before I go out.

So, to make this better... and my dream MMU, I would at least do something to it to control oilyness better :o) Other than that... no qualms at all! Very reasonably priced and truly no parabens. I'm also a big fan of the new mesh sifter it has... it makes for finer powder.

Also, the SPF really does work... as when we went boating this was the only thing I had on my face (and body for that matter) and it really did it's job... since my chest was sunburned, but my face wasn't! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yvesrocher on 6/15/2010 10:12:00 AM more reviews by yvesrocher

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on because it was 50% off and I have to say I am quite pleased. It is a little more pricey than Bare Esc. (which I have not tried yet). Overall it gives descent coverage and a nice glow due to the light shimmering effect. It does have a high spf content (25) which is a plus. I have found to get really good coverage you need to use a concealar brush on the little imperfections but it does a nice job of coverring those up! I dont use it on my undereye circles bc I found it a little to drying for those. I have really dry skin around the eyes. I think this foundation is great for the summer bc it is so lightweight and gives a nice coverage and glow. I tried neutragena's mineral sheers a long time ago and found that to be pretty pleasing as well. When this runs out, I will think about getting it again depending on how the cash flow is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Foundations products