Make Up For Ever Smoky Lash Extra Black Mascara

3.7

313 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/10/2013 7:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara was a huge disappointment from such an excellent brand.
This formula is so HEAVY it pulled the curl out if my lashes. It doesn't lengthen well at all and it clumps like crazy. I am not one to return things, but this mascara left me cold, for $23.00 this is crap. It's clumpy and involves a lot of time to get it half way presentable - for this much money, I want to use it and go.
Some reviewers have said it flakes, I gave not had that issue. It does leave me with sloppy spider leg lashes and for $23...that's shameful. I will not be rebuking this.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I test-drove this mascara yesterday during Halloween, and I have to say that it performed really well. The application was smooth, and it didn't clump or gather. And even with the huge wand, it was very easy to apply. It also didn't flake off, which is a huge plus.



I think the price was a little bit extravagant, but I would repurchase this out I ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2013 8:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Very pretty, but it's just a good basic mascara, and performs the same as drugstore brands.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the first high end mascara I tried, and I loved it. It gave me volume & length without looking clumpy. I don't remember it being overly wet, which is why I liked it so much. I got this as a gift, and although I love it I probably wouldn't buy it for myself again because there are drugstore mascara I love just as much and can't justify the price.. but it is a fantastic mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2013 5:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm very disappointed with this mascara. The most frustrating thing about it was the mess that it created. It was clumpy with only a single layer. The application was very messy, which I partly consider to be a problem with the wand. It also had a slight chemical smell that bothered me. At $23, this was a waste of money. The only good things I can say about the product is that the color is in fact black and once I had finished combing out all the clumps, my lashes were reasonably soft. I would not recommend this product, especially for those who can't dish out $23 on a tube.


on 7/4/2013 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Moste opinions are on the same line and that was also the case for me.
It's an OK mascara, it gives those full smokey lashes that it promises but not on the first coat, you surelly need 2 coats. It didn't flake at first but because it does dry-up very quickly after a month you will get fall down. After 2 months I noticed that it was getting very dry, now after almoste 3 months I opend it, it's good to chuck away. Not only did it flake on my skin but I got those flakes in my eyes, it was horrible with my contacts, I had to take them out (at work might I add), I never had such a hard time with a mascara before.
I find the L'Oreal volume black smoke mascara is very similar for half the price and without the terrible flaking and drying out.


on 5/10/2013 3:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the previous reviewer! i'll give 3 stars for the result i had with 3 layers.. to be honest, I've seen worse mascaras than this one... i don't recommend it though..


on 5/2/2013 8:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

I have fairly long lashes but this mascara requires a lot of layering in order to get the effect that I get with just one coat from other mascaras. It makes my lashes clumpy after one coat, it does not hold a curl and flakes off my lashes because of its really dry formula. Actually, it dried up after a month which is the biggest downside for me since I have used all of my other mascaras for almost 6 months. Regarding the colour I don't find it really that black.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2013 1:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am surprised by all the negative feedback on this mascara! It is amazing and lasts ALL day no flaking for me and I load it on! Curler lashes mascara and VIOLA beautiful long looking lashes!! Believe me it takes a miracle to make these short puny stick straight lashes look BEAUTIFUL! Will buy over and over and over again'


on 3/22/2013 1:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I asked the sales assistant at Sephora for a mascara recommendation - I like my lashes long, dark and thick (i.e. dramatic but not overly overly mascara-ey like thick spider legs if you know what I mean). My lashes are already long and curl easily (but not for eternity) so that isn't essential but is always nice to have some curl and length.
She recommended this one and she was pretty spot on for blackness (the blackest mascara I have ever used. Ah MAZING), thickness (my lashes are awesome thick) and they look long too and curl ok. I love this stuff EXCEPT....
CONS!!! - if I get rained on. or get wet eyes. or cry. or get snowed on. or wear my snowboarding goggles (or I assume any type of glasses with some moisture in the air), I look like I have a set of fake eyelashes stuck on my eyelids and below my eyes and I'm not even kidding you. I look like a drag queen version of the frickin Clockwork Orange guy. Holy crap. I got snowed on and got home and had this and was so embarrassed. It's not just smudge, IT'S LIKE YOU HAVE PAINTED LINES ON EITHER SIDES OF YOUR EYES. Is fine on the normal day/night, but in the snow, wet or whatever, if you get any moisture on your eyelashes at all, the thickness and darkness of the mascara you've applied goes on your frickin FACE! Not just a light smudge, but a 'I play for the NFL and it's glary as anything out today' type smudge.
Also bad is this stuff is hard as hell to remove easily in the shower. You need to use a proper eye make up remover which is annoying for a non-waterproof transferring as hell when it gets wet mascara.
If not for this, if it had better waterproof qualities, it would be THE BEST but for this reason, although I will repurchase, I will not wear mascara on snow days or the like. (PS for your information, I live in Whistler Canada where it doesn't snow a whole lot or really rain a lot during the day in the valley. If you live somewhere else that is rainy or wet a lot while you're out, don't wear this. Wear something else. or wear nothing at all. )

Maybe they make a waterproof version. I will keep looking and will keep using this til I find something awesome. (Le Volume De Chanel you say...?!?


Back to Top