Make Up For Ever • Smoky Lash Extra Black Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(300 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trillium13 on 1/24/2013 11:36:00 PM more reviews by trillium13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in the deluxe sample size from Sephora, and I like it pretty well. It gives my lashes both volume and length, and it's very black. It applies easily, with no clumps. It seems to have a pretty dry formula. The biggest deal breaker for me in a mascara is smudging/flaking, and it doesn't budge. Not even the tiniest bit ends up under my eyes-that's a huge plus. I would probably consider buying it if it weren't for the price-I tend to stick to drugstore for mascaras. If you don't mind paying more though, I'd definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 1/19/2013 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received the mini size of this in the Sephora 500 points gift. I hate it and can't wait to go back to my usual Tarte mascara. The formula is crazy clumpy! I can barely get two coats on without having clumps and my lashes sticking together. I'm not a fan and would never purchase the full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 1/3/2013 12:31:00 AM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to be a negative nancy but I can't really see the hype about this product! For volume and length I believe Tarte's "Lights, Cameras, Lashes" trumps it at the same price point and I like the brush of Tarte's better! Or Bare Mineral's "Flawless Definition Volumizing"! I don't like the formula, I find it difficult to use multiple coats of this product without it looking clumpy. There always seems to be an excess of formula on the brush, and it claims to be curling but I see zero proof of that. I don't see anything outstanding about this product and I feel I can get much better results from other mascara's at the same price point. Honestly to me this reminds me of drug store mascara. Went straight back to sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rockandlove on 1/1/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by rockandlove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The effect of this mascara is absolutely beautiful. It made my lashes appear very full and dramatic. Definitely lives up to its smoky name! However, the product flakes off my lashes after about an hour of wear. I won't be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tootswoots on 12/29/2012 12:06:00 AM more reviews by tootswoots

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mascara but dries out very quickly. Nice full lashes but not clumpy. You can get some serious size with multiple coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lovemyangel1 on 12/27/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by lovemyangel1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a wonderful mascara it really gives your lashs a boost in volume & length if you take your time and applying it and slow but it dries out to fast, wish it was cheaper

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aramura on 12/6/2012 10:02:00 AM more reviews by aramura

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This mascara is one BIG DRAMA! I love it. Been searching for my new HG mascara since they discontinued Chanel Extreme Cils which made really thick and black lashes. This actually makes the same - just putting one layer is enough for deep, very dramatic (!!!) look. The black is SO black! Great replacement for the above mentioned Chanel - makes the same result and I am so happy to find it. Will def. repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isabeljcat on 11/27/2012 5:44:00 AM more reviews by isabeljcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As I'm still looking for my HG mascara, I really wanted to love this mascara when my local Sephora associate swore by it. She was right - it doesn't clump at all when it is new.. but although it provided good coverage it didn't do anything miraculous for my lashes. In fact, I found it a bit thin when new and was happier after a few weeks when it actually began thickening a bit and adhering more to my lashes. Not an awful mascara at all but for the price it is a big "no" as a repurchase for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 miszdeniise on 11/25/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by miszdeniise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara! its cheap compared to the other ones I like (Faux Cils, Eyes to Kill For. Chanel). Idk how to explain this mascara if its thickening, lenghting or whatever but it deff adds drama! I think it really volumizes my lashes and is really dramatic. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 11/16/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC25 Chinese, short / sparse lashes.


Often with mascaras, I feel like I need a booster such as Lancome Cils to thicken up the look of my lashes. As I keep working with this MUFE version from root to tip, I definitely get great volume... and you do have to work quickly, as people have noted the dry formula. I like the look of my lashes just by itself, that I reach for it more than others. Only it does not lengthen, so short of HG status.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Mascara products