Coastal Scents • Pink Kabuki • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.3(57 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 miyouki on 10/13/2009 3:19:00 PM more reviews by miyouki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this brush because I was attracted by the pinkness of it.. It was scratchy, and sheds like crazy.. threw it away afterwards.. irritated my face

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VegasGirlatHeart on 10/6/2009 3:02:00 AM more reviews by VegasGirlatHeart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this just because I wanted a pink kabuki. Didn't need it, but just really wanted a pink kabuki, since pink is my favorite color. However I was holding out to buy the Too Faced pink kabuki...it's so pretty! But one, I couldn't see myself spending over $30 for a brush and two, I couldn't bare to use it once I got it...

So as I was browsing around CS, I saw this cutie. It was $5...so I bought it. It came in a clear plastic package. Nothing special what so ever. But the kabuki itself is cute! The handle is shimmery and the bristles are soft. The only problem I had was that it came with a funky smell. So I washed it before I used it, and it still didn't completely get rid of the smell. I washed it twice before the smell went away. The only way I can describe the smell was..sweaty...?...just yuck.

It's great now and made a great addition to my brush collection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie35 on 9/24/2009 1:43:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

How cute is this little jammy? I see lots of people complaining but I actually like it! I love it's size, it's density, fullness, and texture. My mineral foundation goes on beautifully! I have also used it for blush and bronzer...works for me! Now, if you are looking for a super soft brush this is not for you. I would buy again but mine is lasting seemingly forever! Has not shed, and is in perfect condition still, after tons of use! Good price too :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalalila on 9/24/2009 1:30:00 PM more reviews by lalalalila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Honestly, I only bought this because it was cute and PINK! It isn't a terrible kabuki, but it definitely isn't the best. It's not supersoft either, but but just comfortable enough for use on the face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vmelkic on 8/28/2009 10:51:00 AM more reviews by vmelkic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got mine as a gift for birthday and must say it's really such a cute brush and I love it! It's really soft, blends my foundation very well so it's a good deal for 4.99$. Still, it's a bit too small for my taste. I'm used to bigger kabuki brushes. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mjuarez4683 on 7/22/2009 6:48:00 PM more reviews by mjuarez4683

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is CRAP!! Mine fell apart after 3 weeks of use!! It shed constantly! I liked it at first but it's like it started falling apart shortly after I started to use it! I have had better luck with Kabuki's from the drugstore than this one! I would not waste my money buying one of these EVER again! But, this is the only product I really hated that I have purchased from them...was a waste of bucks though..sad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luvmejoice on 7/18/2009 5:56:00 PM more reviews by luvmejoice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be one of the cutest brushes I have ever seen! When I got I couldn't stop holding it and touching it. Now on the a more objective review.
First of all, this brush is not soft. Don't let anyone trick you into believing that. When you rub it against your hand it feels kind of soft, but on your face it is a bit on the coarse side. Fortunately, it isn't scratchy. I HATE scratchy brushes! They may be soft but if their hairs are not cut in the correct shape they will rip the flesh off your face!
I honestly don't use this brush much because I prefer a heavier coverage with my mineral foundation. This brush gives a sheer to medium coverage which is great if you don't have any flaws to cover.
I am surprised that my brush didn't shed. Ok, maybe 3-4 hairs but that's it
I also like the little plastic tube it came in. I keep it in there when I am not using it so it doesn't fray or lose it's shape.
Overall a good brush, worth buying if you adore pink
UPDATE
This is so sad. I still love it because it's pink. But I don't think I will ever use it again. It's so scratchy after a few washes and I've been extra careful with my brushes. I can't use it anymore, it's painful!
I'm keeping it just because it's pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cicilykong on 5/27/2009 4:28:00 AM more reviews by cicilykong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Compared to the Bare Mineral's brush, this is def. softer. The price is amazing for the quality that you're getting. I just got this brush about 2 weeks ago & I'm still breaking into it. So far there's no shedding & it's definetly not dulling out at all. It's still in great condition. = ) I'd say if you're on a budget but you're looking for a really great applicator kabuki, this is def. your pick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* myluckypenny on 5/22/2009 5:41:00 PM more reviews by myluckypenny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATED: 2-1 = 1 star review:


I speculated the reviews were SCREENED on Coastal Scents' website, and I was RIGHT. Someone from the company wrote me an unfriendly message asking why I gave them such "unfavorable" reviews - and I responded that that was my HONEST opinion. My review still does not show up on their website. I am unimpressed with their professionalism.


" I am not sure nor do I really want to know (I have my own idea) of why you left such un honered comments in reviews. You also state you have made several purchases, No You Did Not, only one.


Best and Cordially on your future, "


- I am not a customer flaming you to get free products in hopes you will rectify the situation. I am just a customer that is unhappy with your product, and it is nothing against Coastal Scents as a whole... until you try to make me feel bad for expressing my opinion.


I find that I am learning more and more as I delve into the world of Make Up, and I am fast finding myself becoming a snob VS. the laid back "as long as it gets the job done" kind of girl when it comes to make up...


Yes, this brush gets the job done - No, I do not like it at all.


CS Youtube and reviews on their site LEAD me to believe it would be a good beginner brush for the price. It applied well, but the brush was scratchy, smelled bad, and cheap looking.


I'm not the ditsy type that goes ga-ga for all things PINK. Sorry, ladies - I think this kabuki SCREAMS CHEAP. I would have got the badger brush instead, but I read over and over that this was the softer of the two... which is sad, because it wasn't that soft.


It was dense, but shedded from the minute I touched it. After two washings, shedding is minimal, but the SMELL... oh, dear GOD - THE SMELL is AWFUL.


A hybrid cross between wet dog and ass, it's not what I want to rub on my face every day. I've washed it numerous times, but the smell intensified, and then went back to the original intensity and hasn't done anything since. I conditioned it to help soften it, but that just made the smell more awkward with a combination of wet dog/ass/fragrance. *sigh*


I don't think it's cheap, and I do feel ripped off because I bought a lot of things through CS that first time. CS has expensive shipping fees, and their products can all be bought through EBay for cheaper than the CS site, thanks to the fact that everything they carry is Chinese made.


You want an AWESOME and cheap kabuki?!


Get the ECOTOOLS retractable kabuki. I love mine. It's synthetic and cruelty free, enviromentally friendly, made from recycled goods, SUPER SOFT and portable! It applies my makeup well, and the hairs are nice and dense for a retractable kabuki! It picks up just the right amount of makeup without wasting product, applies smoothly, and is much more sanitary to use a synthetic brush if you decide to use it with liquid foundations. =D


Don't rely too much on the Coastal Scents reviews on their website... I just left a review on all the products I purchased through that site, and I think they SCREEN all reviews! If they didn't my review would have automatically showed up on the website after I submitted, but it looks like there may be a two day lag. Deception is not acceptable if they do screen reviews though...

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sm1lezx1 on 5/8/2009 6:55:00 PM more reviews by sm1lezx1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is decent..I've never actually owned a kabuki brush to this prior but I can tell that this brush is just not up to par with other brushes. It's a good beginning brush .. however the softness is medium and the denseness is decent. I've lost maybe 2-3 strands of hair when washing and it doesn't shed at all. you get what you pay for...i will be saving & investing into MAC's kabuki brush. I give it for 3 for being decent and for the price.

edit 2 weeks of use--
I believe that Coastal Scents brushes lack in consistency of quality. As some reviewers has mentioned that they experienced extreme shedding, I on the other hand have experienced very minimal shedding. This is my second time washing it and I have lost maybe 5 strands in total, which is barely nothing. I washed it with deep conditioner & I believe that it's gotten softer b/c of it. Also,the bristles aren't evenly cut, so you won't ever get that very very smooth bristle feel on your face. Overall, good brush for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coastal Scents products

More Makeup Brushes products