OPI • You Don't Know Jacques! • Polishes

rated 4.4(294 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amnahp12 on 3/21/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by amnahp12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have never been into nail colors, and always preferred going clear or giving myself french tipped manicures, so imagine my surprise when I realized a whole community existed that loved nail lacquers! So I decided to see what the hype was about and pick up a nice chic nudey nade, but KEPT continually running across this one. It didn't look like anything too special in all the swatches, and I ignored it. Until today, when I went polish hunting and kept finding a bottle of this in my hands as I rummaged. Okay, what the heck, I thought - I'll go ahead and see how it turns out. It'll make a nice accent nail.
Consensus? I love it! It's definitely a very edgy, chic color, that calls attention without being overly bold. First coat was streaky and kind of sheer, but this was easily fixed by globbing on a thicker coat. HOWEVER, I will say that I applied this outside, in temperately warm weather in the shade and minimal wind, and although there is no streakiness, there are a LOT of bubbles [that aren't present on the rest of my nails, which are in another color]. Maybe this could have been rectified with a top coat, which I didn't bother with, but it was enough to mention.
As for color, I am not seeing ANY of the muddy brown that everyone keeps going on about. To/on me, it looks like a dusky, dusty, twilight-y [the time of day, NOT the movie] purple. No brown whatsoever. It also dries considerably darker than it looks in the bottle. Overall a lovely dusty, wintery purple that I imagine would look good on any nail length/shape; needs a top coat [and probably a base coat to prevent staining]. I have never finished a botle of polish in my life, but, not being a polish snob, I would definitely consider this a repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kami8610 on 3/10/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by kami8610

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Its perfect/okay for: Darker skin tones...someone looking for a mocha or taupe brown shade.

It's not good for: my pale skin! Looked like a gross brown color on me. Very bold and not in a flattering way.

Other comments: This was annoying to put on! The formula I got was clumpy and sticky. Would not glide evenly on my nails...each nail looked different than the last...like abstract brown paint.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 2/16/2012 8:41:00 AM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

On me this looks like I dipped my fingers in milk chocolate the gray tone does not really come out on my nails. This nailpolish is a bit streaky and I need about two layers to make it opaque. Great colour for autumn and winter, I like it but I don't love it enough to buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 1/19/2012 10:23:00 AM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So, I was kind of disappointed in the shade, because when I ordered it online it looked like it was a taupish-gray (with more gray than taupe). In reality, it was much more on the taupe side. Went on very well though, and I can't complain too much. It's still a nice shade, just not what I was expecting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dhaunivan on 12/29/2011 2:54:00 PM more reviews by Dhaunivan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably my number one color from OPI. It is just the perfect neutral shade IMO. I guess I could complain that OPI is pricey, but eh, all their stuff is and the bottle lasts ages if your a color changer so it's not really that bad a price point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Noboho on 12/29/2011 11:29:00 AM more reviews by Noboho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color is on me, a mixture of gray and brown. It has winter written all over it. I get very good coverage on my nails with 2-3 coats. As others have mentioned, it can be a tad streaky upon initial application, but eventually the OPI good quality of the product comes through. Be sure to use a fantastically shiny top coat on this, otherwise, it may turn out looking a bit dreary and lifeless. I've taken into account that this is a majorly trendy wintery shade of nail polish and it wears very well, but I won't repurchase. I don't think this color is very sexy, nor is it all that feminine. It's chic, that's for certain, it simply isn't giving my fingers and toes that WOW factor I look for in my polishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovedrunk on 12/11/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by lovedrunk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this today and I absolutely LOVE it. I wanted to try something different that would be good for winter as most of my nail polishes are summery shades. This color is absolutely perfect for winter. It's a dark chocolate brown and with two coats it came out so pretty. It kind of reminds me of the color of chocolate colored UGG boots. It has such a smooth finish as well. Definitely one of my new favorites!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adlrmns on 12/7/2011 2:02:00 PM more reviews by adlrmns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This color is so beautiful, and I fell in love with it instantly, but I wouldn't repurchase because there are a few dupes out there for a fraction of the price. For example Sally Hansen has one called "Slick Slate", and it cost so much more less than any OPI polish does. I love the color, but I found the same one, for a less expensive price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mysteriouslyca on 12/7/2011 1:42:00 PM more reviews by mysteriouslyca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this colour. Got lots of compliments. I had tried to purchase Vintage Boutique by Avon but it is discontinued in Canada and opted for this colour after finding it at Trade Secrets. It is very streaky with 1st coat but colour is richer after 2 and 3 coats.Colour is relatively good at 5th day. Definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsFeli89 on 11/29/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by MsFeli89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color! I went into ULTA looking for an OPI nail polish that was in the basic neutral colors. Like tannish brown. This one was perfect! I think it's lovely for the Fall/Winter time. And matches everything. Will definitley repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products