OPI You Don't Know Jacques!

4.4

296 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/19/2012 10:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's a dark gray/taupe with plum (not purple) undertones. At least to me that's how it looks both in the bottle and on my nails in natural light. I don't see any brown in this at all like some reviewers had described although I could certainly see it looking that way under certain lighting. It almost reminds me of MAC's e/s in satin taupe or urban decay's e/s in straydog in nail polish form minus the shimmer. It's a gloomy fall/winter shade but unusual and unique. I still have a bottle of it from last yr and it's the type of color I get bored with pretty quickly. It needs at least 2-3 coats to get the color to come out. One coat doesn't do it justice. I wore base coat with this the second time around because the first time I didn't, it stained my nails slightly. Worn with a top coat it last (on me) a week and a half with just slight wear and chipping. Overall, a chic, unique and unusual shade but has a tendency to get drab and boring after a while (imo). As always, I love OPI's wide and flat brush as it facilitates ease of application. As for the shade I think next time I will get a shade in the same tone but at least 2 shades lighter.



on 6/17/2012 12:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was one of my 1st OPIs and it certainly didn't disappoint! It's fairly opaque in one coat but I did two, just in case. Dries extremely fast, and the application was easy. As others have mentioned, it does look a bit like poop but it does have enough tinges of purple and grey for it to look chic.

A rich colour for someone who wants a darker colour yet doesn't want the standard dark red or black. It's a unique colour in my book.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This color is absolutely gorgeous!!!!! It's a dark grey/purple/taupe color. Love love love. I am currently wearing this on my nails and it's one of those colors where you just want to stare at your hands all day. Loved the formula; not too goopy nor too thin. Dries quick. I used opi's natural base coat, 2 coats of this polish and then I topped off with opi's top coat. Def would repurchase!


on 3/21/2012 4:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have never been into nail colors, and always preferred going clear or giving myself french tipped manicures, so imagine my surprise when I realized a whole community existed that loved nail lacquers! So I decided to see what the hype was about and pick up a nice chic nudey nade, but KEPT continually running across this one. It didn't look like anything too special in all the swatches, and I ignored it. Until today, when I went polish hunting and kept finding a bottle of this in my hands as I rummaged. Okay, what the heck, I thought - I'll go ahead and see how it turns out. It'll make a nice accent nail.
Consensus? I love it! It's definitely a very edgy, chic color, that calls attention without being overly bold. First coat was streaky and kind of sheer, but this was easily fixed by globbing on a thicker coat. HOWEVER, I will say that I applied this outside, in temperately warm weather in the shade and minimal wind, and although there is no streakiness, there are a LOT of bubbles [that aren't present on the rest of my nails, which are in another color]. Maybe this could have been rectified with a top coat, which I didn't bother with, but it was enough to mention.
As for color, I am not seeing ANY of the muddy brown that everyone keeps going on about. To/on me, it looks like a dusky, dusty, twilight-y [the time of day, NOT the movie] purple. No brown whatsoever. It also dries considerably darker than it looks in the bottle. Overall a lovely dusty, wintery purple that I imagine would look good on any nail length/shape; needs a top coat [and probably a base coat to prevent staining]. I have never finished a botle of polish in my life, but, not being a polish snob, I would definitely consider this a repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2012 1:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Its perfect/okay for: Darker skin tones...someone looking for a mocha or taupe brown shade.

It's not good for: my pale skin! Looked like a gross brown color on me. Very bold and not in a flattering way.

Other comments: This was annoying to put on! The formula I got was clumpy and sticky. Would not glide evenly on my nails...each nail looked different than the last...like abstract brown paint.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2012 8:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

On me this looks like I dipped my fingers in milk chocolate the gray tone does not really come out on my nails. This nailpolish is a bit streaky and I need about two layers to make it opaque. Great colour for autumn and winter, I like it but I don't love it enough to buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2012 10:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So, I was kind of disappointed in the shade, because when I ordered it online it looked like it was a taupish-gray (with more gray than taupe). In reality, it was much more on the taupe side. Went on very well though, and I can't complain too much. It's still a nice shade, just not what I was expecting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2011 2:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is probably my number one color from OPI. It is just the perfect neutral shade IMO. I guess I could complain that OPI is pricey, but eh, all their stuff is and the bottle lasts ages if your a color changer so it's not really that bad a price point.


on 12/29/2011 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This color is on me, a mixture of gray and brown. It has winter written all over it. I get very good coverage on my nails with 2-3 coats. As others have mentioned, it can be a tad streaky upon initial application, but eventually the OPI good quality of the product comes through. Be sure to use a fantastically shiny top coat on this, otherwise, it may turn out looking a bit dreary and lifeless. I've taken into account that this is a majorly trendy wintery shade of nail polish and it wears very well, but I won't repurchase. I don't think this color is very sexy, nor is it all that feminine. It's chic, that's for certain, it simply isn't giving my fingers and toes that WOW factor I look for in my polishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2011 2:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just bought this today and I absolutely LOVE it. I wanted to try something different that would be good for winter as most of my nail polishes are summery shades. This color is absolutely perfect for winter. It's a dark chocolate brown and with two coats it came out so pretty. It kind of reminds me of the color of chocolate colored UGG boots. It has such a smooth finish as well. Definitely one of my new favorites!




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top