Givenchy • Phenomen'eyes Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(299 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 neillxoxoxo on 9/24/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by neillxoxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this mascara! Although I am very dedicated to my Zoom lash, I absolutely love this mascara because of the packaging. This is such a fantastic wand that gets your lashes exactly how you want them- separated, lengthened, just perfect. I also really love the brown tone- not too red, and just black enough. I also recommend the water proof version- Easy to remove, but it really does stay on! Love it, big fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dolledup21 on 9/19/2012 7:48:00 PM more reviews by dolledup21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am a lancome mascara guurl but i heard the rave reviews on givenchy phenomen'eyes and thought i'd switch it up and give it a try. the brush is cool and surprisingly super easy to use! unfortunately, I have noticed a bit of smudging, im hoping the reason is because it takes awhile to dry. It does give a brillant black though!! overall i like it, but lancome is still my hg. I don't think i'll be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 9/3/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really liked this product! Super innovative, but I only gave it four out of five because it is difficult to get used to the wand and the formula is a tad wet for my taste. It is just as black on your lashes as it is in the bottle and the wand allows you to get even your smallest lashes! I personally like wearing it over a volumizing mascara for a little extra length. But it is really beautiful and elegant on its own if you take the time to apply it carefully!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kawanii on 9/3/2012 12:30:00 AM more reviews by kawanii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was a special mascara because of the application method with its wand. That's what attracted me to purchase and it took a lot of practise to get it straight on. But this mascara will smudged on me after half the day. It's special but if it smudges, it is a definite no-no for me in my books. I'll try the waterproof version because maybe it will stand more to being smudge-proof than the original version. If you get this, be prepared to get it wrong the first few times of application. Don't get frustrated and just be patient because it takes practise. Practise makes perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 7/30/2012 6:05:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This bad boy wasn't made for good girls who like subtle, conservative lashes. If the dominatrix/S&M-looking spike ball wand didn't scare you away already, I'm assuming you're looking for the exaggerated, dramatic, sultry lashes.

First, let's talk about the cons and why I only gave it 3 stars. For one thing, this is effing expensive. 30 smacks for a small tube of mascara that is going to start drying in about two weeks. L'Oreal's Telescopic mascara retails for about $10. Secondly, it's weird. Look at it. Givenchy's Phenom Eyes and L'Oreal's Telescopic are currently the only ball wand mascaras on the market. After using regular long wands for so long, it'll take you a while to get used to it and figure out how to twist your hand this way and that. And finally, it does clump. You must take your time in brushing this mascara out. The results are really dependent on your technique. Oh yeah, and be careful not to gauge your eyeball out.

Ball wands are best for coating lashes individually and really getting the tiny lashes. Because they are smaller and have bristles that are better spaced out and facing all directions, you can brush out the lashes to what angle you prefer. The difference between L'Oreal Telescopic and Givenchy is that Givenchy's brush is shorter and hard. L'Oreal's is long and flexible. Also, L'Oreal's bristles on the ball appear to be arranged more in a vertical row whereas Givenchy's are facing all directions. This allows Givenchy's to give a better 360 effect. The way I apply it is I dab the mascara formula on and then go back and brush through it. I do this about 5-7 times to really get the fat lashes when I'm going out at night. If you really take your time (and I mean really must take your time), you can separate the lashes and cash nearly every tiny lash in between for a super Playboy like fake lash look. People always ask me if I have fake lashes on when I wear this.

If you're hesitant about trying it, I suggest you get L'Oreal's first to see how well you work with ball wands. If you like that, then invest in Givenchy. I wasn't kidding when I said you need to take your time. It's a high maintenance mascara. But if you have the balls to master it (pun intended), you'll find that you can't go back to regular wands ever again.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/24/2012 3:22:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been buying this since it first came out, and it's definitely one of my favorite mascaras. When it was first released, I was really intrigued by the ball-shaped wand, and it was getting rave reviews from so many magazines and beauty blogs that I just had to try it, despite the high price tag. It took a few uses to get used to the applicator, but once you get used to it it's not a pain to use at all. What this does that many mascaras don't is give me really fluttery looking lashes. Since this grabs each and every lash on the outer corner and inner corner, it really fans out my lashes and makes them look longer and fuller. It also holds a curl well and is a rich, creamy, pigmented black. I also love that this is totally clump-resistant and that it really separates every lash.
The only reason I can't give this a 5 is because I do have some smearing problems with this. I very rarely have problems with any mascara smudging or smearing, but I do with this one, especially on warmer days. When the bottle is brand new, this never smears under my eyes, but after a few months when this starts to dry out, I do find some black smudges under my eyes at the end of the day.
Regardless, I still love this stuff. It's a great everyday mascara for those of you who like a little drama in their lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SisterRay8 on 7/20/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by SisterRay8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been looking for a mascara like this for a long time. This is my first review so I'll keep it to the point. The spiked ball-type applicator wand is pure genius and is the easiest I have ever used. It gives the ability to finely coat every eyelash no matter how short or fine, the brush finds ones that I didn't even know I had!

The actual formula for Givenchy's Phenomen' Eyes ( I bought black ) is lustrous and creamy and leaves the lashes glossy. It isn't a fibre formula, at least it doesn't feel like one and hence isn't irritating to my eyes as I find some lash extension mascaras. It is long lasting and easy to remove at the end of the day.

So to sum up, I haven't ever come across one better and will definitely be using this from now on and I shall try the brown too. Don't be frightened of the ball applicator, if it's easy enough for me to use I'm sure it will be a doddle for everyone else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SEHavens on 6/5/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by SEHavens

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This is absolutly the BEST mascara EVER for me. I first tried it in France (EPCOT- disney florida). Sephora was there doing makeovers and I did one. The associate introduced this to me in Black Waterproof and I will not buy any other. I have to use almond, or coconut oil to remove, but that only smooths my skin, so no problem. It never flakes or smudges. I was always a Lancome mascara girl...but not anymore. I would recommend this to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lishuoyan0415 on 6/5/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by lishuoyan0415

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I heard a lot about this product before actually trying one. The brush is really cool that every lash can be easily reached. However, it SMUDGE like CRAZY!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweetiesweetie on 5/12/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by sweetiesweetie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm a bit iffy about this product.

I got it as a gift, but I don't think I would spend money on this because I honestly have no idea how to use it...

I use it on my lower lashes and ones near the corners that escape the usual mascara wand. It adds a nice effect, but I have no idea how to apply it over all of my lashes since it comes out looking bad. Eh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Mascara products