Givenchy • Phenomen'eyes Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(296 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kawanii on 9/3/2012 12:30:00 AM more reviews by kawanii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was a special mascara because of the application method with its wand. That's what attracted me to purchase and it took a lot of practise to get it straight on. But this mascara will smudged on me after half the day. It's special but if it smudges, it is a definite no-no for me in my books. I'll try the waterproof version because maybe it will stand more to being smudge-proof than the original version. If you get this, be prepared to get it wrong the first few times of application. Don't get frustrated and just be patient because it takes practise. Practise makes perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 7/30/2012 6:05:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This bad boy wasn't made for good girls who like subtle, conservative lashes. If the dominatrix/S&M-looking spike ball wand didn't scare you away already, I'm assuming you're looking for the exaggerated, dramatic, sultry lashes.

First, let's talk about the cons and why I only gave it 3 stars. For one thing, this is effing expensive. 30 smacks for a small tube of mascara that is going to start drying in about two weeks. L'Oreal's Telescopic mascara retails for about $10. Secondly, it's weird. Look at it. Givenchy's Phenom Eyes and L'Oreal's Telescopic are currently the only ball wand mascaras on the market. After using regular long wands for so long, it'll take you a while to get used to it and figure out how to twist your hand this way and that. And finally, it does clump. You must take your time in brushing this mascara out. The results are really dependent on your technique. Oh yeah, and be careful not to gauge your eyeball out.

Ball wands are best for coating lashes individually and really getting the tiny lashes. Because they are smaller and have bristles that are better spaced out and facing all directions, you can brush out the lashes to what angle you prefer. The difference between L'Oreal Telescopic and Givenchy is that Givenchy's brush is shorter and hard. L'Oreal's is long and flexible. Also, L'Oreal's bristles on the ball appear to be arranged more in a vertical row whereas Givenchy's are facing all directions. This allows Givenchy's to give a better 360 effect. The way I apply it is I dab the mascara formula on and then go back and brush through it. I do this about 5-7 times to really get the fat lashes when I'm going out at night. If you really take your time (and I mean really must take your time), you can separate the lashes and cash nearly every tiny lash in between for a super Playboy like fake lash look. People always ask me if I have fake lashes on when I wear this.

If you're hesitant about trying it, I suggest you get L'Oreal's first to see how well you work with ball wands. If you like that, then invest in Givenchy. I wasn't kidding when I said you need to take your time. It's a high maintenance mascara. But if you have the balls to master it (pun intended), you'll find that you can't go back to regular wands ever again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/24/2012 3:22:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been buying this since it first came out, and it's definitely one of my favorite mascaras. When it was first released, I was really intrigued by the ball-shaped wand, and it was getting rave reviews from so many magazines and beauty blogs that I just had to try it, despite the high price tag. It took a few uses to get used to the applicator, but once you get used to it it's not a pain to use at all. What this does that many mascaras don't is give me really fluttery looking lashes. Since this grabs each and every lash on the outer corner and inner corner, it really fans out my lashes and makes them look longer and fuller. It also holds a curl well and is a rich, creamy, pigmented black. I also love that this is totally clump-resistant and that it really separates every lash.
The only reason I can't give this a 5 is because I do have some smearing problems with this. I very rarely have problems with any mascara smudging or smearing, but I do with this one, especially on warmer days. When the bottle is brand new, this never smears under my eyes, but after a few months when this starts to dry out, I do find some black smudges under my eyes at the end of the day.
Regardless, I still love this stuff. It's a great everyday mascara for those of you who like a little drama in their lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SisterRay8 on 7/20/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by SisterRay8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been looking for a mascara like this for a long time. This is my first review so I'll keep it to the point. The spiked ball-type applicator wand is pure genius and is the easiest I have ever used. It gives the ability to finely coat every eyelash no matter how short or fine, the brush finds ones that I didn't even know I had!

The actual formula for Givenchy's Phenomen' Eyes ( I bought black ) is lustrous and creamy and leaves the lashes glossy. It isn't a fibre formula, at least it doesn't feel like one and hence isn't irritating to my eyes as I find some lash extension mascaras. It is long lasting and easy to remove at the end of the day.

So to sum up, I haven't ever come across one better and will definitely be using this from now on and I shall try the brown too. Don't be frightened of the ball applicator, if it's easy enough for me to use I'm sure it will be a doddle for everyone else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SEHavens on 6/5/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by SEHavens

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This is absolutly the BEST mascara EVER for me. I first tried it in France (EPCOT- disney florida). Sephora was there doing makeovers and I did one. The associate introduced this to me in Black Waterproof and I will not buy any other. I have to use almond, or coconut oil to remove, but that only smooths my skin, so no problem. It never flakes or smudges. I was always a Lancome mascara girl...but not anymore. I would recommend this to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lishuoyan0415 on 6/5/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by lishuoyan0415

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I heard a lot about this product before actually trying one. The brush is really cool that every lash can be easily reached. However, it SMUDGE like CRAZY!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweetiesweetie on 5/12/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by sweetiesweetie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm a bit iffy about this product.

I got it as a gift, but I don't think I would spend money on this because I honestly have no idea how to use it...

I use it on my lower lashes and ones near the corners that escape the usual mascara wand. It adds a nice effect, but I have no idea how to apply it over all of my lashes since it comes out looking bad. Eh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jennylovesjohnny on 5/5/2012 12:42:00 AM more reviews by jennylovesjohnny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product but it fails to deliver. It clumps easily, is difficult to remove and doesn't do anything spectacular to the eyelashes. Worst of all, it takes forever to apply with the wand type applicator. I have kept it because I have used it on some occasions to add extra body to the lashes on the outer corners, but even still, doesn't do anything great. There are much better mascaras for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* azmuslima on 5/3/2012 3:32:00 PM more reviews by azmuslima

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This Givenchy mascara is absolutely exceptional. You may have already seen this particular applicator or Ďwandí Ė itís spherical! Very unusual. Iím kind of Ďantií weird wands, in general, as I have a hard enough time of it just using the normal ones!

Somehow, the round tip of the wand (which looks like some kind of medieval weapon, a kind of spiked cannon ball!) manages to apply mascara precisely to each individual lash without taking ages and ages to build up volume. Thereís no clumping and I donít find that I get mascara all over my lids, either. I thought that the unusual applicator would take a lot of getting used to, but in fact I had developed quite a good technique by the time I was on my second go!

The mascara seems to be pretty hardwearing, though I do get some little specks falling into my eyes at the end of a long day. But itís the effect that I find so incredible Ė my lashes have never looked better after just one coat of something! They look almost as though theyíve had extensions Ė they look longer and darker and slightly thicker, more curved, but with none of the clumpy, clumsy effect of some mascaras. Itís pure sophistication.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarahlouisejones on 4/30/2012 7:28:00 AM more reviews by sarahlouisejones

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

looks cute but beware! seriously, talk about the wrong tool for the job!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Mascara products