Revlon • Colorsilk in Dark Brown • Hair Color

rated 4.3(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 shinyjem on 2/2/2013 6:34:00 PM more reviews by shinyjem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was really worried that I would end up with black hair after reading all the reviews on this colour, but I decided to take the risk & do it anyway & I'm so glad I did. It turned out exactly the colour on the box :) I followed the instructions exactly, applying it to my roots first for 20 mins, then working it through the lengths and leaving that for 5 mins. My hair felt pretty dry when I was rinsing the colour out, but then I towel dried my hair, combed out the knots and applied the conditioner , leaving it about 10 minutes. It was really silky once I rinsed the conditioner out. The only thing I don't like about this colour is the amount of conditioner it comes with- only one application. My hair is just below shoulder length and I had just enough to coat it properly. If my hair was longer I wouldn't have had enough. Over all, this is an excellent colour that performs just as well as Loreal excellence creme, which I was using previously. It's way cheaper than loreal so I will be buying this from now on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SavvyChic on 1/31/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by SavvyChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this for a few months and kept seeing black in the ends of my hair and it wouldn't lighten or fade ever. I had tried leaving it on my roots only to get my hair to match up, but this color didn't darken my root area as much. I had to get some 20 developer and some bleaching powder from a beauty supply store and lighten it to remove it. Later I used the dark brown 4N by John Frieda and it came out more how I had hoped this shade would look. My ends weren't damaged either, just absorbed the black in this shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 voguebeauty on 12/15/2012 12:20:00 AM more reviews by voguebeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had fallen in love with the ombre trend and decided to lighten my dark brown hair. Biggest mistake ever.
My at home bleach job turned out horrid, and it damaged my hair incredibly. For the past two weeks i had been trying to cover up the gross color that i was left with.
It was very brassy, almost orange.
The first time i used this color was a few years ago, it turned my dark brown hair black so i was a bit skeptical about using it. I decided it to give it another shot. Although i wish the color wouldn't have turned out so dark, it got rid of the disgusting color i had, and the dark color has made my hair look a lot less damaged. It looks a very deep, dark brown. A little darker than on the box. Hopefully with a few washes itll lighten up.

Def recommended for a quick fix up on a bad bleach job.
:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elocinmarie on 11/14/2012 10:21:00 AM more reviews by elocinmarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely the best at home hair color there is. I've been every color under the sun and ALWAYS come back to this color. It's so rich and beautiful and covers almost all other box dyes with ease. Not to mention is so inexpensive so money is never an issue. Not only is it cheap, but it leaves my hair in amazing condition verses even the most expensive brands. Most recently, my hair was very bright red and I was afraid of not being able to cover without stripping or bleaching. This did the trick. Of course, there's still red hues due to how bold the red was before but it turned out as a really nice rich, warm brown that only looks reddish in the sunlight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alaras on 10/6/2012 7:46:00 AM more reviews by alaras

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Looking at the reviews, I bought this from Ebay, so it didn't come very cheap, but it's not available in the UK. I thought the L'oreal ones are not really permanent, and this would last longer. It does last a bit longer than L'oreal. But the result of this is matte and a bit dryer. Initially covered the gray hair strands better than L'oreal. But after 3rd wash, it's gone. It didn't smell bad at all, in fact it's much better than L'oreal hairdyes. I kept it for 25 minutes. Despite my base being rather dark (medium brown), it didn't turn pitch black and I doubt it would turn pitch black unless your hair is kind of Espresso dark. There were no gloves in my box. I wouldn't buy this again. L'oreal has a shinier finish and it doesn't feel so dry as it fades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jdaniels3 on 9/15/2012 12:06:00 AM more reviews by jdaniels3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

When I saw this product on the shelf, I was hesitant to buy it at first. It was really cheap compared to other brands. I dyed my hair darker a couple of weeks ago but it was a semipermanent type so I wanted a permanent equivalent. Yes, the packaging and gloves look pretty cheap but that doesn't matter to me. The smell wasn't unbearable but it was more noticeable than the dye I previously used. I left the dye on for 25 minutes as directed. As I was washing the dye out, I noticed the color running was a shade of purpley/black. It worried me because I did not want purple nor black hair. As soon as I dried it, my worries vanished. It is a rich, dark chocolate brown. My hair is shiny and not brassy at all. I am 100% satisfied and will definitely buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 queenofthefluffs on 8/31/2012 2:50:00 PM more reviews by queenofthefluffs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

WARNING! Do not put the product on for the full 25 mins unless you want very, very dark hair that looks black in low lighting with brown undertones in good lighting. I left the dye in for 10 mins and wound up with a deep, rich brown. I love it! My hair is usually not shiny or healthy looking and looks great since I dyed it, and I've already washed and conditioned it once.
I would have given it 5 stars if the color name wasn't misleading, but it is. My profile pic is me after dying my hair, and leaving it in for 10 mins. Can you imagine what it would have looked like after 25 mins? It would have been brown/black.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kloud04 on 6/25/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by kloud04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have always used revlon colorsilk each and every time I dye my hair. It leaves your hair sooo shiny. I have tried many other brands but none have ever done what this does in my opinion. Do not let the cheap packaging of the conditioner fool you. I wish they sold this conditioner on its own because it is really effective stuff. This color DOES however fade over the course of two or three weeks but that is why I like it. It lets my natural highlights show through and does not leave my hair one dimensional and unnatural looking. If you are looking for a haircolor that really holds I would try something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lanabun on 6/4/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by lanabun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking at buying this for months and I am so glad I finally did! My hair began as a dyed warm medium brown with natural dark brown roots and with this I was able to match my root color almost perfectly. It has only been a few hours since I dyed and dried my hair so I expect the color to fade a little in a few weeks, but right now it is a rich brown-black color with a dark brown shine, only slightly darker than my natural color. If my natural color was Selena Gomez, this hair color would be Kim Kardashian.

I suggest using a bowl and brush to apply the color; it is so much easier, more precise, and has better results than using the bottle. Beware that this hair dye does have a strong odor which at first may seem pleasant but lingers in your hair long after you've rinsed it out; rinse well and consider shampooing to avoid smelling like chemicals all day. Also, don't wait too long to wipe up spills or this will seriously stain your skin for a day or two as well as permanently stain your bathroom.

Bottom-line: Beautiful, shiny dark hair. Love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Myoung19 on 3/25/2012 4:04:00 AM more reviews by Myoung19

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is great! Exactly the color I wanted- dark but not quite black. I love it. I went from red to this color and it pulled no red through, its a delicious dark dark brown! And so cheap. Who cares if the conditioner is in a plastic tear bag? It tears open easily with ur fingers, just one use, but it conditions just as good add any other. My hair is not dried out like the Feria brand.
If you want a very dark, rich brown this is for you.
I have med/long straight fine hair and one package was more than enough for me.
Definatly will use again. So far no fading and its not brassy at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products