Unlisted Brand • The Egg Bomb • Conditioner

rated 4.3(89 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 TouchOfSin on 11/22/2012 9:17:00 PM more reviews by TouchOfSin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've come to a conclusion that egg dries out my hair drastically. I've tried combinations with honey, oil, coconut milk... using only the yolk or both the yolk and the white, leaving it from 15-20 mins and my hair ends up feeling coarse, dry and rough in the shower. I have given many chances to this mask, but I always end with the same result.
I'm surprised to see everyone else saw results...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 11/16/2012 2:19:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have done this twice and I have gotten really good results. First time I used three egg yolks, second time, I used two egg yolks, one egg white, 1 tablespoon of honey, and 2 tablespoons of coconut oil. The egg was so cold it solidified the coconut oil so I recommend leaving the egg out at room temperature for a while if you're using coconut oil with it. It's gross, and smells terrible - not a lot makes me gag, but the eggy after-smell is repulsive to me. I can't help but knock a lippy off for the smell and the difficulty in applying it - it is messy, messy, messy. I like coconut oil hair masks, too, but I think this works better, provided you wash it all out very thoroughly. I had to wash my hair twice the second time I did the egg bomb because the hair below my crown was still oily and greasy looking - which was awkward since I've never had that problem before. To me, this seems like a messy, time-consuming, and stinky hair treatment, but while it's high-maintenance, it gets my hair soft, shiny, bouncy, and strong, so it is worth it. I'll be doing it again, for sure. If your hair is dull and flat and blah and nothing seems to help, I would suggest giving this a try. I can't comment on the effects of this on damaged hair, however. I rarely use hot styling tools and I don't dye my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeeupiserenity on 11/12/2012 2:38:00 PM more reviews by makeeupiserenity

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

My hair is brutally damaged and has been breaking off like crazy, from bleaching it multiple times. I've tried almost everything to get it back to healthy but nothing worked, finally i came across protein treatments, i wasn't ready to spend a large amount of money on a high end product that i wasn't sure would work so i decided to try out this egg treatment. I mixed two eggs with 4 tbs of olive oil and let it sit in my hair for about 3 hours, and then washed it out. At first like expected my hair was brittle and rough, but after i applied a moisturizing conditioner and various other products it felt a lot nicer. Still not sure if it did anything i let it air dry. Once it was dry it was like a MIRACLE my hair was so strong and soft I've never felt my hair this healthy before of course the pieced that were fried aren't completely healed but with a few more treatment I'm sure they will be. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has severely damage hair in need of some protein.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AdrianBrodySameHaircutBro on 11/11/2012 9:29:00 AM more reviews by AdrianBrodySameHaircutBro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have shoulder length hair, I dye the roots every month or so, my hair is very oily at the roots and dry on the bottom half cuz of an old bleach I got last spring. Winter is (almost) back and my hair is in poor health : itís dry and harsh, and it breaks easily. Iíve been thinking about buying one of the expensive Kerastase treatment but thought I had nothing to lose by trying the egg bomb first, if not 1-2$ worth of ingredients I already had in my kitchen. I did the following mix : 1 egg yolk, 1 tablespoon of honey, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and 3 drops of lavender oil. My first impression was regarding the smell; you couldnít smell the egg at all! It was a nice olive oil / lavender smell. I applied the egg bomb with a dye brush on dry, unwashed hair. The product was making my hair very, VERY sticky, but I eventually found the trick to brush my hair up while applying the egg bomb so my hair would sit on top of my head once done. Unfortunately, I ran out of product and it was my last egg (!) so Iíve put the egg bomb only on the half end of my hair and neglected the roots. I covered with a plastic cap and let it rest for 2h. The smell changed a bit during the 2nd hour; it was not disgusting but you could smell the yolk a bit. I washed it out with 1 good shampoo (it was surprisingly easy to rince!) and blowdried my hair to see if it would be as harsh as usual... itís not! The ends are smoother! My plan is to double my initial recipe (I may try without honey to see if the mix is easier to apply), soak my hair 2x week and let hair dry. I will do so until Iím satisfied with the results, then keep going 1x week. I will update this review in a few weeks / months depending on the results. Iím putting Kerastase on hold for now. // I gave 4 lippies to see if I'm gonna see a significant improvement in my hair over the next few weeks, and then perhaps increase to 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mjrose on 11/9/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Mjrose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I think this was a good treatment but oddly enough it made my hair curly! I was not expecting that. There was a little bit of lingering egg smell which kind of grossed me out but I definitely think ill try this again. Noticed increased shine and strength.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelmoo on 10/18/2012 11:44:00 PM more reviews by rachelmoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used 2 egg yolks with 2 tablespoons of olive oil for my dry, colored hair and let it do its magic for 35 minutes. After I shampooed and conditioned as usual, I blow dried my hair. Some of my broken strand of hair seemed repaired and well conditioned. My hair felt smooth, soft and volumized (yes!). There is no smell of egg lingering although I used warm water to wash my hair. Highly recommended to do this hair treatment twice per month.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CynthiaAlana on 10/16/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by CynthiaAlana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just egg bombed my hair. Such a good decision. My hair is so shiny it's like it belongs to someone else! Just awesome. I did modify the concoction by adding 1 tablespoon of coconut oil as well. I just love coconut oil for anything and everything. Plus it makes you smell like the beach instead of breakfast.

As someone who uses oil (coconut, olive, almond) in my hair frequently, I was SO surprised at how effortless the egg bomb washed out. I used warm water--just warm enough so I didn't freeze in the shower. It didn't cook the egg. After I rinsed out the mask, I washed my hair with watered down aloe vera shampoo and finished with She Care deep conditioning conditioner (used to swear by it, but it's changed so don't bother).

I also used the egg white (about half) to infuse my hair with much needed protein. Should you choose not to include the egg white, might as well make yourself an egg white omelet while your hair mask sits.

This will be become a once a week ritual for sure.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mymotherhadmetested on 9/11/2012 4:02:00 AM more reviews by mymotherhadmetested

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OK so my hair: long-ish (bra length!) and very, very thick.

I'm naturally blonde but had been dying my hair auburn for about 2 and a half years. I decided I wanted to try a nice light brown shade, and instead of using a box dye like I usually did, I decided to get it done professionally.
BIG MISTAKE. I walked out of the salon with jet black hair.

I hated it, and decided to correct it myself with store-bought bleaches over a period of about 12 weeks. It worked and my hair is back to being a beautiful blonde colour now... but it's a dry, knotted, frizzy mess.

I looked at buying lots of different protein treatments, but they were all so expensive. I decided to just use eggs!

My recipe is really quite simple: four or five eggs, including whites, beaten in a jug and just plastered all over my hair.
I leave it on for an hour or two, then rinse out with cool water. I always follow up with a good conditioner.

For those of you who are saying it doesn't make your hair feel soft: it won't. That's not what it's for. It's for re-constructing, NOT conditioning. Whenever you use a protein treatment, you should always follow up with conditioner.

It's also not a quick fix. If your hair really is damaged enough for you to consider putting eggs on it, you're going to need a few treatments! try it every three or four weeks or so.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meshmmesha772000 on 9/7/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by Meshmmesha772000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This hair mask is really the BOMB , I have used it for more than 14 years so far :) ,I have very long (past my waist ) , thick hair ..It is on the "straight" side but so dry and frizzy so it is a nightmare to manage with this length and thickness ..Yes, It must be used on dry ,unwashed hair , I put an old cheap plastic shower cap on and leave it for about 45 minutes , then wash, shampoo and condition as usual ..Don't be afraid of the smell , honestly it will disappear ..I don't add honey , just some olive oil and two eggs ..I use the whole egg though it makes it a bit runny but I can handle the mess ...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ALa12 on 8/21/2012 4:06:00 AM more reviews by ALa12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first ever review on Makeup Alley but the Egg Bomb was just so incredible I felt I had to spread the word. Basically Ė it really really worked!!

I have fine medium brown hair, and lots of it, that is naturally curly and frizzy. I have to blowdry it and/or straighten it every day itís so bad, which means I really damaged my hair over the years. I have tried everything in the past and spent a lot of money on it too, from Kerastase to Bumble and Bumble to Moroccan Hair Oil, to coconut or almond oils, and whilst itís all helped the situation nothing really made a dramatic difference. It unfortunately got so bad that my long hair grew so tangled and broken I could no longer get a brush through it, and I recently had to cut it to shoulder length. I now want to find a Ďprevention rather than cureí method to avoid every having that bad condition hair again, as my hair is already getting split ends and growing tangled and dry again. If anyone else is in this situation I would get over the weirdness of putting egg yolks in your hair, and try this...

I mixed 2 egg yolks with 1 tbsp of honey, then added to 2 tbsp of coconut oil and 2 tbsp of olive oil. I mixed it all up and applied the gunk to my hair with the help of a spoon, massaging it into my scalp and hair length. I made sure my ends were really coated. Itís quite messy and drippy, if you think itís too runny then add more honey as thatís what makes it stick to your hair. Then I tied it up (didnít have a shower cap but this probably would have been useful!) and left it in there for about an hour. My hair hardened and grew crispy, and I smelt like a coconutty egg..I grew a bit worried at this point. But then I washed it out with lukewarm water, and shampooed and conditioned as normal. I let it air-dry till it was 90% dry then finished it off with a quick blow dry and wow! My hair is the softest, shiniest and yet still volumised and bouncy I have EVER seen it. It was so shiny my hair was literally reflecting light, and so soft I can run my fingers through it with ease. I canít remember ever having hair like this.

The best thing is you know exactly what youíve put in your hair and itís so cheap to make. I would really recommend the coconut oil addition as it smells nice and kind of masks the eggy scent, which I have to admit is a bit strong. Iíve taken note not to apply this too often because of the excess protein, so will wait a few weeks till the next Ďbomb sessioní. I would also definitely do this before a big event if I wanted to have nice soft shiny hair. Thanks to the creators, my only wish is that Iíd tried this earlier!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Conditioner products