Clinique • Anti-Blemish Solutions Clearing Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.2(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 clairenielson on 2/22/2011 3:18:00 AM more reviews by clairenielson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I didn't buy this with the expectation that it would be a miracle worker. I have blemish prone skin - not full-on acne, but I usually have a few annoying red pimples hanging around on my forehead and chin. I recently purchased the Anti-Blemish Solutions 3-step kit from Clinique, including the Cleanser, Toner and Moisturizer, and the only product of the 3 that I will not be repurchasing is the moisturizer.

The moisturizer is nice enough at first. It has a light creamy consistency that smells clinical, absorbs quickly into the skin and does keep the oil at bay for a while. I have oily skin so that was initially a bonus for me. (For people with dry skin, be careful how much/how often you use the anti-blemish solutions range because the packaging does indicate that it has a drying effect on skin). The first time I used the moisturiser was at night, and I woke up the next day with primarily soft skin. However, most moisturizers provide this effect, for a much smaller price. Additionally, other moisturisers i've used before haven't aggravated my existing blemishes, which is what this one did. Not only did it fail help clear up my skin whatsoever, or to help protect my skin from future blemishes, it made my skin worse. A lot worse.

The girl working at Clinique told me that for the first week I may notice my skin releasing more oil than normal, as the range of products will be helping to extract the existing oil from my skin, and that within a couple of weeks it will have cleared up and the products will continue to prevent future break-outs. I took her advice and used the 3-step system for 2 and a half weeks, but on my forehead my pimples were becoming bigger and more painful. While my skin was less oily than normal, these zits were still popping up. I wasn't willing to give up on the whole set, because A) I had spent a lot of money on this kit, and B) I was suspicious that the moisturizer was the cause of these sore new bumps.

So, after 2.5 weeks of enduring my skin changes, I stopped using the moisturizer, replacing it with my usual Body Shop Tea Tree Night-Fade lotion (which has always provided pleasing results compared to other moisturizers for oily skin) however I continued using the Clinique Cleanser and Toner from the Anti-Blemish Solutions range. I like using them because they really clean my skin well, help prevent such excessive oil release and leave my skin with a nice and tight, yet supple and smooth texture, without being over-drying. My skin has reacted positively since removing the moisturizer from my routine. Perhaps this is just how my skin reacted, but I sure didn't like paying so much for a product I will no longer continue to use. While I sing praise for the Cleanser and Toner from this line, I would give the moisturizer a miss. You can get a much more effective one for a smaller price and bypass the risk of increasing the number of blemishes you have. If you don't have a problem with pimples/breakouts, but just have oily skin, this may work well for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 1/25/2011 7:47:00 AM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a big fan of the Clinique acne/anti-blemish solutions line in general, but this product, unfortunately, is the exception! It claims to keep oil at bay and fight imperfections and initially, I was on the fence with this product because it felt very invigorating and oil absorbing when I first applied it. However, this moisturizer which, like others have said, is quite similar in consistency to Elmer's glue, actually has the capacity to become oily on the face within about an hour. Also, I haven't noticed that it had much more of an anti-imperfection fighting property than, say, any other moisturizer targeted for oily skin. Indeed, when tested against other moisturizers targeted for oily/acne-prone skin(such as the ones by Nivea or Biore), I found that it could not compare- or in other words, you can get a cheaper moisturizer which both fights imperfections, feels invigorating and oil-absorbing when applied, but which also leaves the complexion mattified for hours to come.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellyvision on 1/23/2011 1:16:00 PM more reviews by kellyvision

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use this all the time as I suffer from blemishes around my chin area. It worked great along with the cleansing foam and the clarifying lotion. I decided to try a different brand to see if that would be better and my skin took a turn for the worse. I am now back on Clinique and it is clearing up again. I only use the cream on the affected area, not my whole face as I only get spots on my chin. When my skin is bad I use this morning and night. When my skin is clearing up I use it only at night and then my regular moisturiser in the morning as it can be a little drying on the skin. I find it really calms the redness of blemishes quite quickly. It is also a good base for make-up with my foundation sitting well on top. I have bought this many times and will continue to do so as it seems to be the best product for my blemish-prone skin. Believe me, I have tried many anti-blemish products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JunkieXL on 11/24/2010 10:00:00 AM more reviews by JunkieXL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this, together with the Anti-Blemish Solutions Toner, face wash and concealer. I've used a lot of brands that claimed to reduce the appearance of acne but this is one of the very few that's not too agressive for my skin. I wash my face with the Liquid Facial Soap in 'Mild', follow with the Anti-Blemish toner, apply this moisturizer and conceal if needed.
I love the feeling of this moisturizer; it feels light like a lotion, it's easy to apply and it sinks in very quickly. It has no overwhelming scent, just the usual Clinique scent, and I find it to be a good base for my foundation. It keeps shine at bay for several hours (usually, I have to blot my t-zone within a few hours; now it's only twice a day) and it makes my skin feel soft and comfortable. It comes in a tube so you don't have to dig in with your fingers ( a big pro with acne treatments; the less bacteria the better) and I think the price is fair, considering the activity on my skin. Maybe, if you want to buy the whole series at once, it's a bit expensive but it's definitely worth the investment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeGee35 on 10/24/2010 9:08:00 PM more reviews by BeeGee35

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i really like this product. I have acne prone skin ever since having my daughter 3 years ago. it felt like nothing would help. i picked this up 2 weeks ago. i don't really like the rest of the 3 step system products out there so i stick with just this. it took a while for my skin to be able to tolerate consistant use. i have a benzoyl peroxide sensitivity. i started using it at night every other day. then after a week i used it every night.. now i use it every night and every other day. this works really well as a treatment for me. it is also technically a moisturizer and the consistency is of one. thinner than BP spot treatment creams. this is trying to me so all i do is let it sink in, and put cetaphil over it. its been working wonders for me ever since!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maddieo87 on 10/5/2010 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Maddieo87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like this stuff. I break out due to hormones, so topical treatments aren't going to magically make the few pimples I have go away. But this product is great! I put it on overnight, and use my regular 3 step daily moisturiser. Cause I have combination skin, and if I use a anti blemish product all the time it does dry my skin out a bit. It's light on your skin. No oily feel. Makes my pores appear smaller. Smooths my skin as well. I think maybe it's too harsh though.

Edit: After years of using clinique... I've decided to change to natural products. After using them for a few weeks now, my skin is a lot better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovejessa on 9/29/2010 9:47:00 PM more reviews by lovejessa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    

I have used this 3-step for a while and it is by far the best acne treatment I have ever used + its gentle. This moisturizer just feels really good as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makkepo on 9/29/2010 10:00:00 AM more reviews by makkepo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried so many acne line since I hv sensitive combo acne prone skin and this is the best for my skin. Gradually clear up my acne, just a little bit drying but not to a point where it is peeling red and pain full. Can easily be fix w moisturizer. I use all 3 step system but change the toner to no 2 cos the anti blemish toner was too strong for my sensitive skin. Been using it for 1 years Overall I lv it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* neveranaddict on 8/17/2010 5:08:00 AM more reviews by neveranaddict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as part of the 3 step system for Anti-Blemishes. I really like it, as it's very smooth, does not leave skin greasy or irritated, it's great.
But since it's summer I also use ABOVE it another moisturizer from Clinique (Superdefense SPF 25) and I must say they work well together- skin is moisturized but not greasy, pores are smaller.
It's great as a treatment moisturizer because it just restores skin balance after the harsh-er cleanser and toner, just enough to let you add your day or night cream with specific properties.
You should know - all ingredients from a cream are better absorbed if skin is well moisturized.
So I recommend this to be use as a base for your SPF or night cream. It doesn't build up oil in skin, even on its oilier parts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fanojewels on 8/3/2010 2:58:00 PM more reviews by fanojewels

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this. Since using this plus the acne solutions toner, my breakouts have lessened and my skin looks and feels so smooth! I am in my early thirties and still suffer from hormonal breakouts especially during the time of the month. I highly recommend this product for anyone who breakout and has had some previous success with benzoyl peroxide. This formulation can be a little drying at first, so I would recommend just using it once a day in the PM and using the DDMG in the AM.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products