Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Clearing Moisturizer

3.2

53 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PPG-14 Butyl Ether, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Sucrose, Steareth-21, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Acetyl Glucosamine, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Algae Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Glycine, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Hinokitiol, Menthol, Salicylic Acid, Isohexadecane, Caffeine, Steareth--2, Glycerin, Quaternium-22, Butylene Glycol, Polysorbate 80, Phytosphingosine, Pentylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Benzalkonium Chloride


on 7/1/2011 12:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is alright If you use it with the DDMG underneath, like the 3-step system says. It helps a bit wih my redness and makes my skin feel comfortable. Its just okay.



on 3/3/2011 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Did not moisturize! Left my skin dried out and itchy!

I bought this along with the rest of the acne solutions line. My skin is fairly sensitive and combination. Usually, after washing, my face gets tight and dry and is irritated (making it more sensitive). I put on this moisturizer and it stung a little. Now, I know it has acne fighting properties in it. I was excited about that since it's in a moisturizer it will be in contact with my skin longer, the better to work its magic, right? Nope. It didn't moisturize! It dried my skin further and made it itchy. I used it twice (once in the evening before bed, and once in the morning before my makeup) with the same results. Left my skin dry and tight. I took it back and exchanged it for a more hydrating moisturizer.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I didn't buy this with the expectation that it would be a miracle worker. I have blemish prone skin - not full-on acne, but I usually have a few annoying red pimples hanging around on my forehead and chin. I recently purchased the Anti-Blemish Solutions 3-step kit from Clinique, including the Cleanser, Toner and Moisturizer, and the only product of the 3 that I will not be repurchasing is the moisturizer.

The moisturizer is nice enough at first. It has a light creamy consistency that smells clinical, absorbs quickly into the skin and does keep the oil at bay for a while. I have oily skin so that was initially a bonus for me. (For people with dry skin, be careful how much/how often you use the anti-blemish solutions range because the packaging does indicate that it has a drying effect on skin). The first time I used the moisturiser was at night, and I woke up the next day with primarily soft skin. However, most moisturizers provide this effect, for a much smaller price. Additionally, other moisturisers i've used before haven't aggravated my existing blemishes, which is what this one did. Not only did it fail help clear up my skin whatsoever, or to help protect my skin from future blemishes, it made my skin worse. A lot worse.

The girl working at Clinique told me that for the first week I may notice my skin releasing more oil than normal, as the range of products will be helping to extract the existing oil from my skin, and that within a couple of weeks it will have cleared up and the products will continue to prevent future break-outs. I took her advice and used the 3-step system for 2 and a half weeks, but on my forehead my pimples were becoming bigger and more painful. While my skin was less oily than normal, these zits were still popping up. I wasn't willing to give up on the whole set, because A) I had spent a lot of money on this kit, and B) I was suspicious that the moisturizer was the cause of these sore new bumps.

So, after 2.5 weeks of enduring my skin changes, I stopped using the moisturizer, replacing it with my usual Body Shop Tea Tree Night-Fade lotion (which has always provided pleasing results compared to other moisturizers for oily skin) however I continued using the Clinique Cleanser and Toner from the Anti-Blemish Solutions range. I like using them because they really clean my skin well, help prevent such excessive oil release and leave my skin with a nice and tight, yet supple and smooth texture, without being over-drying. My skin has reacted positively since removing the moisturizer from my routine. Perhaps this is just how my skin reacted, but I sure didn't like paying so much for a product I will no longer continue to use. While I sing praise for the Cleanser and Toner from this line, I would give the moisturizer a miss. You can get a much more effective one for a smaller price and bypass the risk of increasing the number of blemishes you have. If you don't have a problem with pimples/breakouts, but just have oily skin, this may work well for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2011 7:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I'm a big fan of the Clinique acne/anti-blemish solutions line in general, but this product, unfortunately, is the exception! It claims to keep oil at bay and fight imperfections and initially, I was on the fence with this product because it felt very invigorating and oil absorbing when I first applied it. However, this moisturizer which, like others have said, is quite similar in consistency to Elmer's glue, actually has the capacity to become oily on the face within about an hour. Also, I haven't noticed that it had much more of an anti-imperfection fighting property than, say, any other moisturizer targeted for oily skin. Indeed, when tested against other moisturizers targeted for oily/acne-prone skin(such as the ones by Nivea or Biore), I found that it could not compare- or in other words, you can get a cheaper moisturizer which both fights imperfections, feels invigorating and oil-absorbing when applied, but which also leaves the complexion mattified for hours to come.


on 1/23/2011 1:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I used to use this all the time as I suffer from blemishes around my chin area. It worked great along with the cleansing foam and the clarifying lotion. I decided to try a different brand to see if that would be better and my skin took a turn for the worse. I am now back on Clinique and it is clearing up again. I only use the cream on the affected area, not my whole face as I only get spots on my chin. When my skin is bad I use this morning and night. When my skin is clearing up I use it only at night and then my regular moisturiser in the morning as it can be a little drying on the skin. I find it really calms the redness of blemishes quite quickly. It is also a good base for make-up with my foundation sitting well on top. I have bought this many times and will continue to do so as it seems to be the best product for my blemish-prone skin. Believe me, I have tried many anti-blemish products!


on 11/24/2010 10:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this, together with the Anti-Blemish Solutions Toner, face wash and concealer. I've used a lot of brands that claimed to reduce the appearance of acne but this is one of the very few that's not too agressive for my skin. I wash my face with the Liquid Facial Soap in 'Mild', follow with the Anti-Blemish toner, apply this moisturizer and conceal if needed.
I love the feeling of this moisturizer; it feels light like a lotion, it's easy to apply and it sinks in very quickly. It has no overwhelming scent, just the usual Clinique scent, and I find it to be a good base for my foundation. It keeps shine at bay for several hours (usually, I have to blot my t-zone within a few hours; now it's only twice a day) and it makes my skin feel soft and comfortable. It comes in a tube so you don't have to dig in with your fingers ( a big pro with acne treatments; the less bacteria the better) and I think the price is fair, considering the activity on my skin. Maybe, if you want to buy the whole series at once, it's a bit expensive but it's definitely worth the investment.


on 10/24/2010 9:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i really like this product. I have acne prone skin ever since having my daughter 3 years ago. it felt like nothing would help. i picked this up 2 weeks ago. i don't really like the rest of the 3 step system products out there so i stick with just this. it took a while for my skin to be able to tolerate consistant use. i have a benzoyl peroxide sensitivity. i started using it at night every other day. then after a week i used it every night.. now i use it every night and every other day. this works really well as a treatment for me. it is also technically a moisturizer and the consistency is of one. thinner than BP spot treatment creams. this is trying to me so all i do is let it sink in, and put cetaphil over it. its been working wonders for me ever since!


on 10/5/2010 8:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like this stuff. I break out due to hormones, so topical treatments aren't going to magically make the few pimples I have go away. But this product is great! I put it on overnight, and use my regular 3 step daily moisturiser. Cause I have combination skin, and if I use a anti blemish product all the time it does dry my skin out a bit. It's light on your skin. No oily feel. Makes my pores appear smaller. Smooths my skin as well. I think maybe it's too harsh though.

Edit: After years of using clinique... I've decided to change to natural products. After using them for a few weeks now, my skin is a lot better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2010 9:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

I have used this 3-step for a while and it is by far the best acne treatment I have ever used + its gentle. This moisturizer just feels really good as well.


on 9/29/2010 10:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried so many acne line since I hv sensitive combo acne prone skin and this is the best for my skin. Gradually clear up my acne, just a little bit drying but not to a point where it is peeling red and pain full. Can easily be fix w moisturizer. I use all 3 step system but change the toner to no 2 cos the anti blemish toner was too strong for my sensitive skin. Been using it for 1 years Overall I lv it


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1276 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
440 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
199 Reviews
Back to Top