La Roche Posay • physiological micellar solution • Cleansers

rated 4.0(46 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 waters2 on 12/6/2011 12:32:00 AM more reviews by waters2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This runny product hurts my eyes, and does not remove eye makeup as quickly as a gel cleansing oil. For the price, the fact that it's a pain to use, and it caused discomfort, I feel it's highly overrated. I did not use this for removing makeup on the face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashestoamour on 11/30/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by ashestoamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my favorite micellar solution. I like to use a micellar solution to clean my face in the morning because it is both fast and gentle. Since I switched to using the Clarisonic at night, my face gets so clean that I don't feel I need to cleanse with water in the morning anymore. This is especially true since it is winter here in the US and lots of washing tends to dry out my skin. I also like that with a quick swipe of a cotton pad I can combine cleansing and toning and get out the door a lot faster.

This micellar water comes in a tall, cylindrical, plastic bottle with a convenient flip-top cap. The cap has a small opening so you don't wind up dumping cleanser all over the place. The packaging is plastic, but it looks relatively sleek on the counter.

This cleanser leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed, without any greasy or filmy after feel like other micellar waters I have tried. It also does a reasonable job of removing makeup, so with a quick swipe I can be off the the gym. The cleanser is slightly scented, but not over powering. I have gotten used to it over time.

There are a few things I don't like about this product. First, the price is the highest of all the cleanisng waters I have tried ($19.95 for 6.7 fl. oz or 200mL). Second, I don't like that it is tested on animals. However, I continue to purchase this product because it works excellently, and far out performs other cleansing waters that I have tried.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wiseowl on 11/23/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by wiseowl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I totally agree with the previous reviewers' comments about its abilities as a makeup remover. However, I use it in the same fashion as Lisa1000--as a morning cleanser. Using it this way, a bottle lasts long enough to make the price easier to swallow. I got my current bottle in July and I still have one third of the bottle left in mid-November. I apply a couple "swigs" to a cosmetic pad and that's enough to cleanse my face, neck, and upper chest. It's vaguely entertaining to see all the dead skin cells it can sweep off, leaving my face with a fresh, clean feeling, but at the same time, no stripping, leaves my face feeling soft--kind of reminds me of Asian softeners, only with true cleansing action. This product does not irritate my mild rosacea. I also use this once and a while as a toner after a long day exposed to loads of pollutants.
The main reason I'm taking off a lippie is the availability of this product, the pricing (though it's a much better price than Bioderma and other micellar water options), and the shipping costs. If you're on a budget, using this as a makeup remover, even if you're a light makeup user like me, the rate of consumption would make it cost-prohibitive. For makeup removal, I use Albolene or even grapeseed or sweet almond oil in a pinch--all much cheaper. However, if you purchase it to use as a morning cleanser(most people just need to get rid of dead skin cells and remove any excess oil in the mornings, rather than aggressive cleansing), this is actually pretty do-able, given the much slower rate of consumption. I tested rinsing my face with water afterwards and no rinsing and my skin seems fine either way(if for psychological reasons you need to rinse after using this, your skin will still feel nice afterwards). Though, after extensive testing, I've found my skin really does not miss the rinsing and I usually skip rinsing--I'm that confident in the micellar water's cleansing powers at this point. To mothers who have to do the morning school rush and often have to compete to get at the bathrooom, the no-rinse-required aspect means you don't have to cleanse near a bathroom sink. I myself have an eight o'clock class and using this as my cleanser means my morning time is freed up a little more. While I'm now in my late thirties, sigh, I would have loved having this product in my teens and twenties. For teenagers and early twenty-somethings, who often prefer a more aggressive cleansing process due to higher oil production, I might suggest using this as a toner--it will sweep away dead skin, but it won't irritate skin, which can often be counter-productive for dealing with oiliness or acne.
On a final note, I really wish micellar waters were more widely available in the US: it's a true multi-generational product.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Overload on 7/29/2011 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Overload

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a fairly good product. I have combination skin and my favourite type of cleanser is a gel cleanser that doesn't foam. However, I wanted to try a La Roche-Posay cleanser and my local store only had this one that was suited for my skintype, so I ended up using this.

It cleans my skin well, has a extremely nice smell and is easy to use, so I really liked it. Unfortunately I started noticing that it breaks me out. I think this has to do with the fact that you don't have to rinse your face with water, because I get quite small little impurities (mainly on my forehead) when I use this cleanser and no real spots/blemishes that I normally get.

So I only use this cleanser if I want to get my foundation off before I cleanse with a facewash, or if I am really lazy or on holiday because this cleanser is so easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimannj on 7/25/2011 8:19:00 AM more reviews by kimannj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product, as it is very gentle and an easy way to cleanse especially if you're a bit lazy like me. Much easier to wipe my face with a cotton pad with this on, than get up and have to properly wash my face over a sink. Part of the reason I purchased this was because I had been using face wipes for those lazy moments, and read they were fairly awful for your skin.

My only criticism and it's a fairly minor one, is that my skin is often oily around the T zone and when I use this product it doesn't seem to remove any of excess oil. But it is brilliant at removing makeup and is so gentle on my skin that this wouldn't stop me from purchasing this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babykitten9 on 7/13/2011 2:37:00 PM more reviews by babykitten9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I incorporated micellar cleansing water into my skincare routine a few weeks ago and have definitely noticed the difference (my skincare routine can be found in my notepad)! Since I started removing my make-up prior to washing my face, my skin has gotten so much better - more radiant and noticably clearer! It's probably not the only reason but I think my skin definitely benefits from it! I'll be buying it over and over again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amypenner on 6/24/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by amypenner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I just recently started using a number of LRP products and this is one of my absolute favorites. I have sensitive acne prone skin, so I try to use gentle products for the sensitivity, but it is crucial that all makeup is removed, so as not to leave any pores blocked. This product fulfills both of my needs, and it feels sooo good on the skin. It is rinse free which is great for late nights when you want to quickly get your makeup off, or traveling. My skin feels healthier and this, combined with the use of Effaclar K has made my skin look better than it has in months.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lammtron on 5/8/2011 2:57:00 AM more reviews by lammtron

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product. Very gentle formula which removes make-up, including mascara, very effectively and good for travel. This is a great alternative to Bioderma Crealine H2O for people with acne who want the reassurance of a product that is non-comedogenic.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VeryVain1985 on 4/13/2011 10:09:00 PM more reviews by VeryVain1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first cleansing water and I'm glad I've discovered this type of product after all the cleansing oils I've tried in the past. This feels so much cleaner than an oil, also I don't have the feeling a cleansing water will clogg my pores, whether I always have doubts about that with cleansing oils. But I do think that cleansing oils removes make up much better and faster than cleansing waters. This LRP solution doesn't really has a smell to it, and it removes my make up pretty well. But I do have to follow up with a gel cleanser afterwards to be sure all the make up and dirt are removed. I don't think this removes waterproof eye make up really well though, you'll definitely need a seperate eye makeup remover.

After this cleansing water I've tried the most famous cleansing water out there, Bioderma Crealine, and I find the Bioderma better than this LRP version. The LRP version leaves a slightly sticky feeling on my skin while the Bioderma doesn't. So if you're going to try cleansing waters, skip this one and jump on the Bioderma bandwagon as well. Also from where I live, the Bioderma is slightly more cheaper than the LRP one, the Bioderma one is around 17 euro's for 500 ml's while the LRP one is around 10 euro's for 200 ml's.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karola5 on 12/7/2010 4:42:00 PM more reviews by karola5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm in love ! It's so effective but gentle at the same time. Great in removing mascara and all eyes stuff. I don't wear foundation so I use it on my eyes area only, I have sensitive eyes and it's perfect, no pain, no stinging, always can't wait till evening to use it. and the cool part? it smells like bublegum ! but it fades quickly, so you won't be bothered. I tell you, because I'm so sensitive to smells that my body lotion need to be unscented, crazy I know... I will repurchase definately.
Get it yourself and enjoy .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Cleansers products