Giorgio Armani • Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup • Foundations

rated 4.1(234 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 12/23/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Buildable, light coverage. Better in wrinkles than most foundations Stays on me well. The #1 is a good match for my N15 skin. (I'm a true neutral. If anything, I lean warm with a bit of ruddiness throughout my face.) THe #2 was too dark. The finish is between a satin and a matte for me, leaning to satin. I like that I can tell when it's running out (with most pumps, I can't tell.)


CONS: You are going to need to stay exfoliated, as this will really show your dry patches, if you have them. Also, if you want a dewy finish at all, you will probably not like this. Will not be enough coverage for most. Price. This has alcohol which has started to affect my sensitive skin. It's either that or fragrance. If I sweat or happen to shed any tears, it burns my skin (must be the heavy alcohol content.) And see "removal tips" for another con.


APPLICATION TIPS: If worried about pores or wanting this to last longer, pat a primer like L'Oreal's Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting base into the pores. But let it "set" for at least a minute before applying the foundation.


REMOVAL TIPS: When I try to take this off with any kind of makeup removal wipes, including MAC's and Equate's (Walmart brand), I get sore red blotches that last a few days. I prefer using jojoba oil right before my Olay Sensitive Skin Cleanser.


ALTERNATES: For a similar finish but cheaper, Covergirl Natureluxe Liquid Silk foundation (not quite as nice as this, though.) I'm between the 310 and the 320 (closer to 310) in that. For H/E and dewy, I absolutely adore MAC's tinted moisturizer, which is the best thing for not making my wrinkles look worse, out of 35 foundations I've tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyfarrahfowler on 10/26/2012 2:46:00 PM more reviews by amyfarrahfowler

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I'm NC40/42 and #4 is the shade that works best for me. With only a few (I think 7??) shades to choose from it may be difficult to find a "perfect match" however it applies sheerly (but can be built) so that makes it easier. I love so many things about Face Fabric. The texture is amazing. It's like a combination of liquid and gel... and when applied it has somewhat of a satiny/powdery feel which I really love. It looks (and feels) so much like real, bare skin but better :) I have combo-oily skin with a t-zone that likes to get oily. Face Fabric doesn't seen to make it worse and I only have to blot twice throughout the day. I have mixed feelings about the packaging. I love it because I can just toss it in my drawer or bag for travel and not have to worry about it. I hate it because there's no pump... meaning I have to think about, and judge, how much product I want to squeeze out. Overall, I really love this foundation, I highly recommend it (if you can find a good shade match) and will repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kikkim on 9/22/2012 4:44:00 AM more reviews by kikkim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This is one of my HG foundation staples for flawless natural looking skin. It gives a nice matt velvet finish without the need for powder on top, it has a smooth mousse like texture which blends really well. I am between a #2 and #3 for this, more a #3 in summer and I am a NC25. I keep coming back to Face Fabric after trying everything else as it is effortless. Great foundation for those who dislike heavy foundations. It offers light coverage for those with slight pigmentation and is perfect for covering pores seamlessly. I tried the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation but found it too shiny for my skin and colour wise the #5.5 had too much pink undertones for my neutral-yellow undertoned skin. Face Fabric lasts about 4-5 hours before you need to blot or powder on top. Do not use a heavy moisturizer underneath as it can pill off, but aside from that, an excellent option for those who want something similar to a tinted moisturizer but with a little more coverage.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iciclerain on 8/23/2012 5:47:00 AM more reviews by iciclerain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like I'm the one of the few who do not like this product. It does glide on and my face feels slilky smooth, but at the same time I also feel my skin could not breathe. I'm not a big fan of the matte look either, but that can be improved when mixed with a highlighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 idilb on 8/16/2012 5:26:00 PM more reviews by idilb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This will be my first review. I wanted it to be for this product because for the first time in my life I've been able to wear foundation everyday. I hate foundation and even tinted moisturizers. They always feel so heavy and somewhat dirty to me. However I've mild rosacea along with seborrheic dermatitis for years. Due to the medications I've been taking, recently I had to use something with SPF on my face everyday. Believe me, I tried some: Laura mercier tinted moisturizer- the oil free one, Omorovicza skin enhancer (which actually is a good bronzer for me), by terry sheer expert and the list goes on. However all of them felt like I had something on my face. I tried using La Roche Anthelios tinted one regularly but it emphasized my mild redness. I needed something that would blur my imperfections without suffocating my skin and which should neutralize my redness. Armani Face Fabric does just that! Look, it doesn't have a great coverage so if you got serious pustules, it will not help. Also if you have dry skin stay away really. But for people like me with oily red skin with little bumps- this stuff is magic. Here is an example. Normally pharmacists realize I have rosacea at a glance. When I have this on, they don't. Because the color (number 2 for me which is an exact match) neutralizes my redness to the point that I have a blusher-on kind of look. The only negative thing I can say about this- well actually there're two: it has fragrance (mild but it's still there) so i might not be able to tolerate it in the long run (I'm 27 with rosacea going on for 3 years- bad luck) and the other downside is that it emphasized flakes (im my case my seborrhea on my nose) pretty bad so i have to be extra careful with moisturizer. Anyway I wanted to write this review because I'm starting a new treatment for my face- a really unique treatment which might really help or break out my skin completely and I wanted to write just how this saved me before it goes downhill. So there you have it:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catlover9_9 on 8/7/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by catlover9_9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

HG foundation! I tried it a couple of years ago when the GA makeup artist did a makeup application for me at Saks, and I've never looked back. Usually I try different foundations when I use one up, but FF has my loyalty now.

It's lightweight, doesn't smell horrible (Bobbi Brown Oil-Free TM, anyone?), has the perfect matte finish that requires no powder, lasts all day, covers just enough... I could go on all day. I use the #1 shade and it's perfect. Apply it over my moisturizer that has a #30 titanium-zinc-based sunblock and I'm good to go all day.

Very good stuff.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tgeib on 8/7/2012 4:25:00 PM more reviews by tgeib

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As someone with freckles I love the light coverage this gives. It is a bit more that a tinted moisturizer but not heavy like a traditional foundation. It gives me the even skin tone without covering up my freckles!
Love, love, love this product!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spoonleg on 8/2/2012 7:28:00 AM more reviews by spoonleg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm going to give this product 4 stars, because even though I have repurchased and continue to use it, it's just not PERFECT.
All the reviews before me have pretty much said it all. This is a lightweight tinted primer that "blurs" and mattifies imperfections better than anything else I've tried. For that purpose, it's excellent. Personally, I was expecting a FOUNDATION. Don't be fooled- this product will give you VERY LITTLE coverage. I imagine that I have more damaged skin than most 30 year olds (uneven tone, acne scarring, large pores) and have tried everything on the market to cover it without looking heavy and made-up all the time. This product fits the bill as a PRIMER, not a foundation. I have fair skin and use #1. As other reviewers mentioned, if you have dry patches, this will magnify that (I made the mistake of wearing it after a chemical peel and it was a disaster) and it does not last all day. I noticed that when I wear it under a full face of makeup, that makeup wears off MUCH faster than if I wear said makeup without FF. I feel like the silicone just melts off in the summertime. Kind of an icky feeling, which I don't like.
Bottom line, for the price, I wish I did not have to still wear ALL of my regular makeup in addition to this product (foundation, concealer, powder.) For $50, I want this to be miraculous and do amazing things to my skin. While it's not a terrible product, it just doesn't live up to my hopes for it. But hey, I'm still using it, aren't I?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 2012makeuplover on 6/17/2012 6:49:00 AM more reviews by 2012makeuplover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

feels smooth like a primer, agree to previous comment this will diffuse any imperfection instead of hide them at all, matte Finish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* golightly on 5/20/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by golightly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product, but it wasn't the finish I was looking for. I tend to prefer slightly more dimensional looking finish, blurring imperfections rather than flattening them out. If you have oily or shiny skin and are hoping for a matte look, this should really deliver. I found it a bit flattening and dull looking -- like badly photoshopped skin. Oil breaks through, or oil production is encouraged, due to the high amounts of drying silicone. Am NC20/25 and used #2.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Foundations products