Giorgio Armani Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup

4.1

238 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ETHYLEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINIUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL +/- MAY CONTAIN, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491/ IRON OXIDES, CI 12085 / RED 36, CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE, MICA


on 2/12/2013 11:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had to edit my post because I absolutely fell in love with this foundation. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was because of its length of wear. The foundation just does not wear for long. However, I have tried other foundations (MAC and Bobbi Bown, as well as Sally Hansen airbrush (for photoshoots)). This foundation suits my skin THE BEST. MAC always makes me appear like a mime. Im either too pasty, too yellow, too red. I cant seem to get MAC right in any lighting even with Matchmaster or SF (liquid or powder). With MAC, I usually will walk out feeling like I just purchased an amazing product only to go out in daylight looking like a cartoon character. I swear I want to love MAC-just cant.

Anyway, back to this foundation. Face Fabric is absolutely natural. I think for people with acne scars, deep scarring, or very dark pigments, this product wont cover or work as well. However, if you have generally ok skin, this product will glide on like silk, feel like silk, and look silky. The technique for coverage is the tool you use. For coverage, I tend to pack it on where I need it the most from the flat side of my brush and then sweep and swirl lightly all over. For removal, I simply go around my face once or twice then wash. With MAC, I have to go over my face at least 5 times to remove it. Face Fabric is truly amazing to remove.

This product is pricey, but after applying it with the armani blender brush, I found I didnt need much product. I would try mixing two colors together for the season, although I am pretty much good with one.

Go ahead and splurge on this product. One thing is for SURE, you wont look like you have makeup on and you surely will not look like a mime.



on 1/23/2013 12:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! It glides on and feels as if it's turning to powder right on your skin. It's wonderful. The color (I use shade 3) seemed at first to be too yellow for my complexion, but since the color is not that opaque, it ends up looking great on my skin. Blends perfectly. When I want a more sheer coverage, I mix in some highlighter or moisturizer and it gives just a slight hint of color. It's expensive but since I use just a bit for light coverage, mine lasts for a long time, I only repurchase every other year or so.


on 1/22/2013 6:54:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For me this works like a primer, it glides on your skin but does not cover imperfections. I wore it yesterday to work on its own with some concealer , and my boss aske me if I was ok , because I looked tired !! Does not work for me at all. I think it would only work on those with perfect skin, and if your lucky enough to be one of them, why bother wearing foundation in the first place ??. So if your still tempted, try it on first before you purchase it, it´s not cheap.


on 1/19/2013 11:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Like it so much! It makes my pores invisible and is the best solution for my very pale (almost white) skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2013 12:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

This is the first foundation that I really love and would repurchase over and over again. The main concerns I have with my skin are the blackheads on my nose and the enlarged pores on my cheeks, and Face Fabric makes them disappear. When it comes to hiding pores, it works better than primers specifically marketed as "pore-refining". I find that Face Fabric applies well with fingers, but using a kabuki/buffing brush hides the pores even better. I'm an NC30 and wear #3, but because the coverage is so sheer you could go up or down a few shades if you wanted to brighten or darken your skintone. Face Fabric gives a semi-matte, soft focus finish that looks like perfect, poreless skin and feels weightless on your face. I do need to use a separate concealer if I have blemishes or if the redness on my cheek is particularly bad. On days where I want a more dewy complexion, I love mixing Face Fabric with Becca's Shimmering Skin Perfector. The only downside to this foundation is that it does accentuate dry flakes slightly, but it's easily fixed by using a heavier moisturizer beforehand. For anyone who has struggled with concealing pores, I highly recommend checking out Face Fabric.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2012 6:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: Buildable, light coverage. Better in wrinkles than most foundations Stays on me well. The #1 is a good match for my N15 skin. (I'm a true neutral. If anything, I lean warm with a bit of ruddiness throughout my face.) THe #2 was too dark. The finish is between a satin and a matte for me, leaning to satin. I like that I can tell when it's running out (with most pumps, I can't tell.)


CONS: You are going to need to stay exfoliated, as this will really show your dry patches, if you have them. Also, if you want a dewy finish at all, you will probably not like this. Will not be enough coverage for most. Price. This has alcohol which has started to affect my sensitive skin. It's either that or fragrance. If I sweat or happen to shed any tears, it burns my skin (must be the heavy alcohol content.) And see "removal tips" for another con.


APPLICATION TIPS: If worried about pores or wanting this to last longer, pat a primer like L'Oreal's Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting base into the pores. But let it "set" for at least a minute before applying the foundation.


REMOVAL TIPS: When I try to take this off with any kind of makeup removal wipes, including MAC's and Equate's (Walmart brand), I get sore red blotches that last a few days. I prefer using jojoba oil right before my Olay Sensitive Skin Cleanser.


ALTERNATES: For a similar finish but cheaper, Covergirl Natureluxe Liquid Silk foundation (not quite as nice as this, though.) I'm between the 310 and the 320 (closer to 310) in that. For H/E and dewy, I absolutely adore MAC's tinted moisturizer, which is the best thing for not making my wrinkles look worse, out of 35 foundations I've tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I'm NC40/42 and #4 is the shade that works best for me. With only a few (I think 7??) shades to choose from it may be difficult to find a "perfect match" however it applies sheerly (but can be built) so that makes it easier. I love so many things about Face Fabric. The texture is amazing. It's like a combination of liquid and gel... and when applied it has somewhat of a satiny/powdery feel which I really love. It looks (and feels) so much like real, bare skin but better :) I have combo-oily skin with a t-zone that likes to get oily. Face Fabric doesn't seen to make it worse and I only have to blot twice throughout the day. I have mixed feelings about the packaging. I love it because I can just toss it in my drawer or bag for travel and not have to worry about it. I hate it because there's no pump... meaning I have to think about, and judge, how much product I want to squeeze out. Overall, I really love this foundation, I highly recommend it (if you can find a good shade match) and will repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2012 4:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is one of my HG foundation staples for flawless natural looking skin. It gives a nice matt velvet finish without the need for powder on top, it has a smooth mousse like texture which blends really well. I am between a #2 and #3 for this, more a #3 in summer and I am a NC25. I keep coming back to Face Fabric after trying everything else as it is effortless. Great foundation for those who dislike heavy foundations. It offers light coverage for those with slight pigmentation and is perfect for covering pores seamlessly. I tried the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation but found it too shiny for my skin and colour wise the #5.5 had too much pink undertones for my neutral-yellow undertoned skin. Face Fabric lasts about 4-5 hours before you need to blot or powder on top. Do not use a heavy moisturizer underneath as it can pill off, but aside from that, an excellent option for those who want something similar to a tinted moisturizer but with a little more coverage.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2012 5:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I feel like I'm the one of the few who do not like this product. It does glide on and my face feels slilky smooth, but at the same time I also feel my skin could not breathe. I'm not a big fan of the matte look either, but that can be improved when mixed with a highlighter.


on 8/7/2012 4:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

HG foundation! I tried it a couple of years ago when the GA makeup artist did a makeup application for me at Saks, and I've never looked back. Usually I try different foundations when I use one up, but FF has my loyalty now.

It's lightweight, doesn't smell horrible (Bobbi Brown Oil-Free TM, anyone?), has the perfect matte finish that requires no powder, lasts all day, covers just enough... I could go on all day. I use the #1 shade and it's perfect. Apply it over my moisturizer that has a #30 titanium-zinc-based sunblock and I'm good to go all day.

Very good stuff.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundation - Tony Moly CC Cream vs. Hera UV BB Mist vs. Armani Maestro vs. Armani Face Fabric by Josephine Chiu



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

50 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
image

Blender brush

55 reviews
Back to Top