Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2207 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sisi402 on 12/16/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Sisi402

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I heard a lot good things about this foundation , so i had to give it a try myself. i found it easy to apply ,i liked the look it gave my skin after applying but i notice that it didnt really cover a lot redness. I also notice that throughout the day that it didnt even seem like i had founcation on which would be a good and bad thing. But since i like having a flawless face .I dont think this foundation was for me.


Pro : - A lot color range
- Looks natural on skin
- easy to apply
- buildable
- good for dry skin

Con: - Price
- light coverage

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evanlami on 12/12/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by evanlami

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've waited a week to write this review because I was hoping my opinion would change. I spent almost $50 on this after it was recommended by a friend. I'd read rave reviews, so I thought it was worth a shot. I am so disappointed. The coverage is laughable, the formula is too runny and I get better results from much cheaper products. I was hoping that this was possibly buildable to a more full coverage but it isn't. The formula feels goopy and heavy and it's very flat when applied. It isn't matte...it's just...flat. It does nothing to cover hyperpigmentation, scars or blemishes. It's goopy yet thin which is honestly something I didn't think was possible. I'm usually quite forgiving with my reviews, but for how much I've heard about how great this product is...it sucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luusk1125 on 12/12/2014 9:01:00 AM more reviews by luusk1125

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This foundation only looks good on camera. It looks and feels worse if try to build it up for more coverage it ends up feel like a mask. It doesn't look natural cakey sometimes patchy and has light to almost medium coverage it doesn't BLUR dark scars/pitted scars nor did it conceal redness. It clings to dry patches and pores look more noticable. After about 2 hours it start to get oily and seperate especially on the t-zone and the rest of my dry face looks cakey and patchy. Made my skin look worse it accenuates ever imperfection and caused tiny bumps and breakouts. Only work on smooth skin with little to no discoloration,imperfection or texture. Not good for textured skin,textured acne scarring,redness or face with peach fuzz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 catarinaarantes on 12/9/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by catarinaarantes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice coverage and looks great on camera... but it is awfull as an natural make up product...it oxidises a lot and needs a lot of maintenance and touch ups..but hey looks great both in photos and television.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 krystalvuxo on 12/8/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by krystalvuxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so I absolutely love this product, it gives me a matte although dewy finish so in the middle, it gives me a great glow and all over coverage.I love the packaging and everything about it, although it is a bit pricey it is probably the best foundation i've ever come across and i've used plenty.

definitely recommend everyone to at least try it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nicole213 on 12/5/2014 1:47:00 AM more reviews by Nicole213

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty average. My face was oily again within 2 hours and I look like I had no foundation on me. Nooooo....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KIRAN94 on 12/2/2014 7:31:00 PM more reviews by KIRAN94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It has an amazing finish when you apply it using the beauty blender.
Looks great on camera. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a staple foundation for the winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elsie09 on 12/1/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by elsie09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is great for taking pictures and very photogenic, but not very natural in real life. It is not cakey, but you can definitely tell that I'm wearing foundation, so it does not look very natural for school/work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ciananovello on 11/24/2014 1:25:00 PM more reviews by ciananovello

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Really nice finish and lasting power but broke me out in cystic acne, which I never have had. My skin is usually very clear and this completely broke it out. Will be returning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fecktopia on 11/24/2014 2:05:00 AM more reviews by fecktopia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm generously giving this a 5 because it does what it promises on my dry, NC25 skin with PIH, melasma and occasional breakouts. I can only truly review based on experience with this on my skin as I haven't applied it to anyone else.

I'm used to full cover due to all my skin issues, but this is a medium coverage which can be built to fullish. It does hide most imperfections while feeling incredibly lightweight and looking natural. The finish is neither dewy nor matte, but more a satin that looks like healthy and even skin. It hides red but I have to conceal more for darker patches of melasma.

It works beautifully with all of my primers, even the hydrating and water based ones, which most silicone foundations don't. This doesn't really feel like silicon on your face at all. It feels fresh and looks fresh, even after a 10hour work day in air con or the humid climate which I live. I usually set it with MUFE HD powder and you can't tell I'm wearing layers of makeup as it looks so flawless. Before this I would avoid anything other than full cover foundation but if you want to look natural, try this with a good concealer like MUFE full cover and blend well. Together they hide all sins.

My only gripe is that I was matched with N120 sand beige which is a bit too light. It looked perfect under the store lights, and honestly with the climate here it is common to oxidise but this doesn't happen for me so I need to find a shade that fits better. With 26 shades to choose from its hopeful you will find a good match. The shade system is not very intuitive though and isn't in light to dark order, so make the effort to test this on your face and check it out under different lights before purchasing, as it is on the pricey side.

Tip 1: if you can't find a perfect shade these mix amazingly well. I often mix 170 caramel into 120 sand beige for a darker, slightly more neutral cover that matches me better. The lightest shade is very very pink, so if you need more pink tones to match your cool skin then mix some in. It's likely you'll already have a good match with the shade range, but if not or you need to alter it between summer/winter or undertones, mixing this formula is super easy.

Tip 2: the SA suggested applying with a sponge, which works well, but I find I get better coverage with a foundation brush. Apply a think layer then build it where needed. I sometimes buff it out with either a sponge or buffing brush to blur pores and ensure perfect coverage and finish. This foundation is so easy to apply and work with. Very user friendly.

Clear packaging helps to gauge usage and the pump makes it hygienic and dispenses a good yet conservative amount. There is no discernable scent. You don't really need much product to cover your entire face and 1 pump is enough for medium coverage. You can sheer it out with moisturiser or primer if you prefer. Build it to natural, fullish cover with an additional layer. It just seems to play nicely with all of my other Base products. It's a very agreeable formula.

Lastly, this photographs amazingly. It is a true HD foundation, which many other like nyx fail to be despite their claims. It lacks SPF and has such a natural finish that even with flash it looks like you have flawless skin with no makeup, just like it does in all lighting conditions.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products