Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2290 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 5/30/2015 8:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the worst foundation ! Broke me out terribly, still recovering from pimples after 2 weeks ...Not for sensitive skin .



on 5/27/2015 11:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have bought this foundation over and over again. It works really well for my skin. I tend to only wear this in the cooler months, because it does not have any SPF. The consistency is very water based making it very smooth and easy to apply.


on 5/26/2015 9:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This foundation speaks for itself. It will photograph beautifully in natural lighting but in real life it's just mediocre. I like that the packaging comes with a pump and that the foundation is easy to blend. The coverage is medium, it takes a lot of product for it to be full coverage. I still get oily and the foundation doesn't have great staying power. I would only use this foundation if I knew I was going to be photographed. In my opinion, not worth it for the price. You're better off finding a full coverage foundation that also photographs well.


on 5/25/2015 6:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I believe this is a pretty good foundation. My reason is it is buildable. Why? If you feel like you want to go on one application for natural look, you can do it. If you want to cover yourself, apply layers of it. It does not clump as long as you moisturize (a good canvas is a must). I saw one comment that says it is very yellow foundation. You must have got the foundation that has a yellow undertone in it (I am an N128 <== Neutral color in HD foundation). The Foundation has a wide variety of colors. They have the Pink Undertone, Yellow undertone, and Neutral undertone groups of foundation. Overall, it is not heavy on the face, and is capable of natural sheer look to heavy cover ups (very buildable foundation).


on 5/20/2015 11:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I get why this could be a good foundation for some people but if you need coverage this isn't good. If you need light coverage to none you may like this but for me it covers nothing I have acne scars and it's not like it's hard to cover because I use to always wear a cheap cover girl foundation, this product just has no coverage and it sucks for dry skin clings to everything . I also got matched for a bad color I think otherwise the foundation is very yellow .


on 5/20/2015 12:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i really found this just ok. it applies very watery. it was .light but coverage. its annoying because i have no idea what shade i bought because theres no indication on the bottle. the one i got was verrry orange though. it was nice and lightweight though.


on 5/18/2015 4:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I'd like to say that I love foundation - especially "medium" to high-end ones. I have oily skin with a dry forehead and had high hopes for this foundation.

Pros:
Packaging/ w/ a pump.
It is very matte.
Doesn't take a lot of product for good coverage.

Cons:
YES, it might be very matte however it is not oil resistant nor does it stay in place (even in combination with their Finishing Powder!). It literally slid off my face after about 3 hours.
It feels cakey and thick.
It looks cakey and thick.
It broke me out despite it being "non-comedogenic".
It deoxidises and turned my pink based shade into an orange one.
The product highlighted my dry patches and made them significantly worse.








1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2015 1:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is a natural finish and sits well on my dry skin, not clinging to patches or anything. It genuinely looks like my skin.

Good option for natural looking, light-medium coverage.

For color help, my shade in MUFE HD Foundation is Sand, N125, and I'm NW25 in MAC Pro Longwear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I really like this foundation although it is very pricey! I think you would be better off spending your money on a better foundation like Estee Lauder Double Wear. I have oily skin and I find that this gives me medium coverage and lasts throughout the day. I find that it is not too dewy nor too matte. I have very acne prone skin and this did not break me out. It is a good foundation but not necessarily one that you need in your collection.


on 5/14/2015 2:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

I am an NC15/20 olive. Fair with strong yellow undertones and olive properties. Neutral.

This is the only match in any foundation that I've tried. I would repurchase on that basis of that alone.

Performance-wise, it's average. Nothing stays on my skin at all, and it does outlast a number of other foundations I've tried. So I give it a 3/5 for longevity, but I've never used a foundation that I've given anything higher to. So it's about as good as it gets for me anyway. Coverage is good, one pump does my whole face.

I like the dewy finish, despite generally being a matte girl. When it starts wearing off, I just look dewier and dewier until I blot, as opposed to everything separating and suddenly turning into an oil slick like many other foundations have for me. I apply it with a Real Techniques Angled Foundation brush and get a good finish, but I think a Beauty Blender might perform a bit better.

The reason this gets tipped into 5 lippies for me is for how well it photographs. A smooth, airbrush-like finish, with enough natural dewiness to NOT look oily, and to not look matte and cakey. It looks amazing in photographs, and I'm really impressed with it.

I wear it over MAC's matte gel. With that primer, I get almost twice as much wear before blotting as any other combination I've tried. Will happily repurchase.


Back to Top