Jergens natural glow express medim/tan

3.6

109 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Glycerin, cetearyl Alcohol, Petrolatum, Paraffinum Liquidum, Dimethicone, ceteareth-20, Isopropyl Isostearate, Magnifera Indica, Tocopherol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl taurate Copolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Isohexadecane, Octyldodecyl Myristate, Troxerutin, Polysorbate 60, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, PEG-100 Stearate, Steareth-2, Xanthan Gum, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Cyclopentasiloxane, methylparaben, Propylparaben, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, DMDM Hydantoin, BHT, Parfum, Erythrulose, Caramel, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Dihydroxyacetone.


on 4/10/2011 7:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of those products that I tried once, and will never try again.


It was recommended to me by a friend who said that it provided a good amount of color in a short amount of time. Unfortunately, I was not able to get that far as the stench was nauseating. It smelled like melting plastic with a dash of baby powder - rather reminiscent of the L'Oreal Sublime Glow line. The more I applied, the more I smelled. I finally had to give up and wash it off. (The smell is still lingering, though.)


So, that's about all I have to say on this particular self-tanner. The only other thing worth mentioning (aside from the ridiculous price of $9.99 for four ounces) is that the texture of this is unsatisfactory. It is a thick cream that feels dry rather than moist, which makes it hard to apply.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

it turned me orange. :/ I had a sunless tanning sample (different product), and used it on my face. I then realized I needed my body to match, when the other product made my face very dark (not what i expected). So I used this...which I had received in a package that came with two jergens daily moisturizers. I woke up orange AND my skin felt sooo dry despite using tons of moisturizer. Ughhh...I was so embarrassed I was late to class and almost missed a quiz. Then there is a guy who I was supposed to talk about dating after class, but was too ashamed of my orange hands so ran away from him.

I hate Jergens. Its cheap for a reason.


on 11/12/2010 3:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this product three days in a row, and the fourth day, I scrub scrub scrub. I have bought probably 3-4 bottles in the past month,because they are so small! 9 dollars at walmart that often adds up for a poor college student that cant afford a tanning membership. It really isnt a bad product, but you need to be careful of the built up. It can get really orangey looking and thick around the ankles. I also find that instead of moisturizing my skin, it feels sucked dry that night. (I apply it after my shower in the morning). I use it because I haven't found anything better...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2010 9:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I needed to even out a real blotchy tan I acquire the previous summer from uneven sunblock application. I bought this and hoped for the best since my wedding was coming up in a few weeks. A few weeks in advance, I applied it every other day to see how the color developed. All went well and I was very happy with the result before and for the wedding.

Several months later I found it in my drawer and decided I wanted some color on my legs. I put it on and the next day it was streak city! Holy crap, good thing it was still pants season. Another month later I gave it another try. However this go around I shook up the product really well and exfoliated my legs. That fixed the streaky problem I had previously and just one application gave a really nice deep tan color.

Each time I use it however, I can't wait to wash my skin because it smells weird, like burnt hair...well not quite that bad....but that usual DHA aroma.


on 7/27/2010 5:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Color showed up on me within 2 applications - way better than the regular Jergens Natural Glow in med/dark, in which I used up the tube in 3 weeks and could barely notice anything. Even though I did exfoliate, I noticed a little streaking on my feet and legs so you have to be really careful about rubbing it in. I agree that if you put it on everyday, it could end up looking orangey, so I alternate with Olay Quench Plus Touch of Sun Body Lotion in med/dark. I'd prefer the tube to be bigger though..

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2010 2:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like this product because I get a realistic looking tan on my legs with one or two applications. I dislike this product because if I use too many applications, it looks "fake". It is best to use this product once or twice and then follow up with Jergen's "regular" self-tanner. I really, really hate the packaging. The first couple of usages are fine, but after that it is a major undertaking to get any product out of its horrible packaging. I have actually cut the bottle in half after I could squeeze no more product out and found the container to still be half full! Really, really expensive product when you realize you are throwing a lot of it away with the lousy packaging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2010 11:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the better self-tanning lotions I've used. I bought it because I really like the Jergens color, but I hate waiting for the lotion to build up into that nice tan. The product applied easily, and it's very moisturizing. However, it made my feet look awful and blotchy. The rest of my body looked amazing and natural, but the feet gave it away. Also, for $10, you don't get very much product. This lasted me less than two weeks, not even applying every day. I like to apply this for three days, then apply the regular Jergens formula until the tan starts to fade, then apply the Express again. I would buy this again, but I do think it's rather pricey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2010 4:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first used this I first made sure to really exfoliate in the shower before applying. Then I applied it, being careful to not use much on my elbows, ankles, knees. After the first application I noticed a difference. I've used it about 4 times now, about every other day and I have a nice, suble tan. My facial skin is very sensitive and acne-prone, so I've not used it on my face. I'm a beginner self-tanner and I think it's very easy to apply. I've never had any streaks or orange issues but I think if you use it to often, you may get some orange-ness. Make sure to wash the palms of your hands after using, but leave on the tops of hands so you don't get the "white glove" effect. The smell is not very pleasant, but I usually spritz some body spray on me and it's not a problem. Besides, I'm not in the habit of getting so close to people that they can smell me. If you're wanting it for a big night out, just use it the night before and smell will not be an issue. Overall, I'm happy with the product, but always on the lookout for a better one!


on 6/12/2010 1:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you want a quick sunkissed look this is a okay product, but I used it twice I noticed that I started to look orange. The less you use it, it seems ok, but the more you use it the more orange you look. I wont purchase again!


on 6/7/2010 1:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this when I needed a quick way to get tan without A) exposing my skin to UVA and UVB rays, and B) spending over thirty bucks for a tanning bed/spray tan. I had about a week and a half until prom, and I was pretty much desperate for a cheap and quick fix. Then my friend told me about Jergens Natural Glow Express, and out of my desperation, I bought one tube for my body and another that was made for the face. And it worked! By prom, I had a tan. Although the lotion did not turn me orange, it turned the palms of my hand a bright gold, even though I had followed directions and washed my hands after applying. Also, another negative side to the product is the smell; it doesn't go away and it made me smell like I had gotten a perm. Other than that I really like this product: it's cheap, safe, and effective. I would totally buy it again!


Back to Top