TheBalm • Sexy Mama • Pressed Powders

rated 4.3(92 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ayevalen on 6/5/2013 8:05:00 AM more reviews by ayevalen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a face powder and honestly I bought this one because I was attracted by the packaging which was really cute. The second reason was it said "oil absorbent" because I have a really really really (so many really's) oily skin.

to be honest, I wasn't expecting so much from this product because usually cute packaging lies about quality. surprisingly, this product exceeded my expectations. It keeps my face matte, it does not cause breakout and it has pretty packaging with a mirror. I also got my friends asking me what i had used that my face became less oily. i always use this powder everyday after I put on my bb cream and it sits on my skin quite long. even though it's quite expensive i would totally repurchase it because it's worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zeyneperkal on 5/28/2013 7:51:00 PM more reviews by zeyneperkal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

this is perfect for setting makeup at the end. when you finish all your makeup, just let it blend all your face. so natural. i will definetely buy again cause i don't like the look of make the powder covers my face. after 8 hours, there was nothing wrong on my face no bad feeling tough

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bunmum2013 on 5/27/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by Bunmum2013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This powder is not as finely milled as I like but is one of the few pale enough for me.

Added- After some use I have found that the translucence of this powder is misrepresented. I am incredibly pale and it makes my face 3 shades darker than my neck and chest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheReviewLady on 4/30/2013 2:23:00 AM more reviews by TheReviewLady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I don't get excited by the packaging. I don't mind the cardboard, but the print and name are silly and I'm not always in the mood for silly. What I like about this product is that it does not contain talc, bismuth oxychloride, or cyclopentasiloxane. I have dermatitis-prone, sensitive, clog-prone skin and I react badly to all those ingredients. This powder sets the makeup around my t-zone and keeps my nose shine-free for at least three hours until I have to blot. Three hours is a lot of shine-free hours. I have a very shiny nose. What else? I love the size, the portability of the product, and what else...? I think the color is really translucent (for me anyway, I'm NC20-25). It is very hard for me to find easily accessible facial make up (powder, foundation, concealer) that does not contain ingredients that irritate my skin, so I hope TheBalm never stops making this powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bellabaluba on 4/27/2013 8:16:00 PM more reviews by bellabaluba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin with oily t-zone. My skin preparation consist of washing my face in the morning, applying Sheer tint moisturiser by Dermalogica and a little bit of Bare Minerals mineral foundation. I usually need a touch-up around 2-3pm, because of my oily t-zone.

This product works fine as a touch-up, it does not get too powdery and melts into the skin without creating more oiliness. I do not use it every day, so I have not experienced that it clogs my pores nor creating break-outs. The only thing that really irritates me is that there is no brush or applier for this powder. I like to keep it in my purse for touch-ups during the day, and this requires me to bring an additional brush (since I do not like to bring my entire make-up purse). Because this is so impractical, I will only give it three lippies. I think I will try and find something else that has a brush or a pad in the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoomusicgrrrl on 4/11/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by zoomusicgrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A good powder - I liked it, though not to the point where I'm desperate to repurchase now that I've run out. I only use powder as a mattifier for my oily lids or as an eyeshadow base, and to set under-eye concealer. (Occasionally, I'll use it to anchor lipstick, too). My point is, though, that I use it predominantly only on/around eyes, as I don't like to powder over my base (I prefer to blot away T-zone oil instead). And for my purposes, it performs quite well. The coverage is good enough that I can dust it onto my eyelids and get away without putting a coloured eyeshadow on top - it just gives me a decent neutral base. However, I find it quite a 'powdery' powder, so can't be too heavy-handed when picking some up onto my brush. It's a little heavier than I'd like under my eyes, though lasts quite well throughout the day. It's definitely a good option for those seeking coverage, rather than a sheer, 'invisible' powder - though, I think this makes it best suited to lighter skin tones, rather than a universal shade.
The packaging is pseudo-Benefit, which I can take or leave. Being cardboard book-style means it gets a little shabby when I tote it around with me, but the magnetic closure stays tight. So it was quite nice not carrying round a plastic-lidded product which I normally ended up cracking!
So, overall, a powder with decent oil-control properties, that didn't oxidise ,and was gentle and non-irritating even around the eye area. Just a bit 'powdery' for my liking, and not giving my skin the lightweight 'invisible' finish it promised to deliver. Therefore, I'd possibly repurchase, but it certainly wouldn't be my first choice!

Ingredients: BORON NITRIDE, CORN STARCH, POLYETHYLENE, SILICA, ISOEICOSANE, ZINC STEARATE, PTFE, STYRENE/DVB CROSSPOLYMER, POLYISOBUTENE, DIMETHYLIMIDAZOLIDINONE RICE STARCH, COTTON POWDER, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE. MAY CONTAIN MICQ, CI 77491, CI77492, CI77499

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ajb1 on 4/5/2013 6:59:00 AM more reviews by ajb1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Other    

This is a good solid powder. I feel it's a little more substantive, less chalky and smoother than its reliable alternative, MAC Blot. Better coverage if that's what you're seeking, though I don't know that it would work for all skin tones as promised. But I am very pale and it does for me. I wouldn't mind if it were SLIGHTLY yellower (still looking for an alternative to Revlon New Compexion Even Out, my discontinued holy grail!). But I've been using it daily, so that says something, and will probably repurchase. The packaging while nicely light and portable is a little too cutesy for my taste and though this sounds prudish I don't like having to explain to my kids what a "sexy mama" is....;) Nor does it make sense to me that a basic powder would be called that...marketing is indeed mysterious!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 conilamb on 3/29/2013 12:55:00 AM more reviews by conilamb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First, I got it from hautelook, so the price it gets even better. (it was less then 10$) I didnt have high hope for this powder and it does surprise me! its pigmented, its smooth, the staying power is awesome.

I use it to set my under eye concealer, love how the finish of my look after applying this powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AJ6488 on 3/16/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by AJ6488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Beautiful, it's absolutely the right word for this product. It's so smooth, very pigmented, definitely translucent as it's advertised and doesn't look dry on skin. A light swipe on the powder is all I need for my entire face. I used to spend big $$$ on all kinds of HE powder products, and had no luck of finding my HG until now.

After buying their Mary-loumanizer and couldn't be happier with it, I decided to listen to the MUA reviewers once again and purchased the sexy mama. I have to say arn't all of you right? This is definitely another WOW product (no HE product I used before had ever wowed me). There are very simple ingredients in the product, and free from harsh chemicals. Good job Thebalm, I've found two of my HG products from you so far, and I hardly found one that I can stick to from any other brands.

Also an personal advise, a little goes a long way. DON'T overuse, overusing any powder can cause a caky face! Powder should be light weight like air, not heavy coverage, just make sure conceal any imperfection before you apply the powder over your face.


Update: I found that by putting a little powder under my eyes really helped to stop my eyeliner and shadow from smudging and fading. Even after a long hour at gym, there was no smudging. Another good surprise!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DemiK on 3/13/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by DemiK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This powder is incredible. I have oily skin on my tzone & this keeps the oil at bay. It keeps my skin matte, but SO SOFT at the same time. I have tried all kinds of powders from bare minerals, elf, urban decay, MAC, NYX, etc. No other powder makes my skin feel this soft & look so great. It doesn't dry your face out & it does not have a white cast in photos. I got this on hautelook for the half the price, which is awesome. Would purchase again in a heartbeat!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Pressed Powders products