No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Green Tea Tea-Bag Toner • Toners

rated 4.4(101 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.95%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Snugglebunny123 on 5/11/2013 6:28:00 AM more reviews by Snugglebunny123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Green tea is really good! It tastes good and not only that, it is good for your skin!

I'm gonna tell my story of green tea.
About a week ago I made a nice warm cup of green tea and as I was about to throw the tea bag away I thought - isn't green tea meant to be good for your skin? So ripped the bag open and put the leaves in a little pot. ( I really reccomennd making this facial warm, it's so relaxing. So I put a tiny bit more water from the kettle in the leaves to make a paste. Then I just put the leaves on my face and left it on for about 20 minuets! After my skin felt soooooooo smooth! It's such a gentle facial and I recommend this to any one with sensitive skin!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherriesandpie on 3/29/2013 9:44:00 AM more reviews by cherriesandpie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm incredibly interested in WHY skin products work. I wanted to know why green tea was good for my skin and why it would work.

In a recent clinical trial green tea has been found to affect the four main causes related to acne production;

(1) increased sebum production

(2) altered keratinization of follicular keratinocytes,

(3) activity of P. acnes, and

(4) inflammation.

Green tea combats all these issues! Meaning it shall create much smaller pores, greatly reduce inflammation, PREVENT the production of acne. It prevents acne as it affects the pore lining; fixing the damaged pore structure; damaged pore structure is how our skin gets clogged up with dirt, dead skin cells and oil. It also kills the P acne bacteria responsible for producing acne (messed up pores and the bacteria are what create acne in the first place). Typically benzolyn peroxide is used to kill P acnes - however many people experience horrific dry skin and skin that looks aged - this is what put me off and why I wanted to research green tea! Green tea has been found to produce none of these extreme affects - found only to have very minor negative affects. BHA is typically used to alter the pores of the skin for those with acne - while I love this product I find it also causes my skin to become flakey. Green tea doesn't! It's also way cheaper than these products!

It also works on acne that is already on the skin; helping healing and lessening inflammation.

Green tea leaves my pores FAR FAR smaller in a couple of uses, it leaves my skin a lot smoother - I haven't been using it long enough to know if it really will do what it has been reported to do but I will update a let you guys know :)!

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babybefree on 3/9/2013 2:02:00 AM more reviews by babybefree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've edited this review a few times after experimenting some and just want to leave this final one instead:

Green tea (plain old Twinings brand) is probably the one skincare product I use almost every day. When I get home and want to be good to my sensitive/breakout-prone skin, I'll take off my makeup and then use a hot green tea bag as a toner all over my face. Then, the most important part- while my face is still damp, I'll open the bag and put a thin layer of the still hot/wet tea leaves over any problem areas- pimples that may be forming or ones I've just popped or old ones that are healing. (thin layer is important because if you put too big a clump on, it won't dry properly and you won't get the best results- you may have to experiment for yourself to see what I mean).

Then I'll go watch tv or go online for a little while being careful (some leaves may fall off but most surprisingly stay on), and in fifteen/twenty minutes the leaves will have dried on your face. I can then brush those off to find much less red/inflamed skin underneath. I'll usually put some more leftover/cold leaves on it throughout the night to keep help bringing any redness/inflammation down. This really works for me, weird as it may sound. It's not all that surprising though since there's research that green tea is good for inflammation and wound healing (look it up!!) among many other things. This is about as organic as it gets.

Pop a pimple or pick at spot? Quick, brew up a hot cup of green tea, use the bag as a toner, and then put a thin clump of some leaves over it for a while. When the leaves are dry and you wipe them off, you should be amazed to see the redness/inflammation/irritation down by a lot. If you have the time, repeat with some leftover leaves.

As far as using it as just a toner- it's good/great but not flawless. It may help combat redness but it can also leave a distinct color to your face that can be visible under makeup along with a film. I've also found that if I try to layer this toner over another layer, it can start leaving those tiny bumps on my forehead, so watch out for that. I don't think this prevents breakouts that come from within (such as from a hormonal balance) but it can definitely combat what you're getting or what you've already got.

Altogether this is wonderful for skin. If you don't like it, you can still use it for tea drinking and it's cheap. I get a box of 50 twinings brand bags from wegmans for probably around 6 bucks and it lasts me several weeks (using 1 or 2 a day). The taste is admittedly pretty bland but I've experimented with more 'exciting' brands/flavors before and this is the one that works best for my skin. The box is totally unassuming (vs. ACNE WASH in your shopping cart or in the bathroom), though of course it does look sort of funny while you're wearing it- but if it works who cares right?

extra tip: For those women who use honey as a mask- I've found that placing those tea leaves over the honey can usually help it stay in place rather than drip down and make a mess (unless the leaves are still too wet!).

I hope this helps! Let me know what you think.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indiebaby on 2/25/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by indiebaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Like many others, I drink a lot of green tea.

Every once and a while I'll put it on my skin. Particularly when my skin is pretty bad, aggravated, sore.... I find green tea really helps to soothe my skin greatly
-


After making a cup of tea and letting it steep , a take a small bowl and put the green tea bag in it. I squeeze out the liquid which for me is golden, slightly green in color. I just use the tea bag on my face, dipping occasionally in the extra tea. I don't break open the bag or anything. Just dab the tea on with the teabag. I do not rinse.

I use organic BignLow green tea. Just the brand/flavor I like. Huge boxes can be found at places like BJs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 2/24/2013 3:45:00 AM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I personally use Lipton Green Tea teabags (caffeinated) and steep them in an 8 oz glass of water for about 3-5 minutes. After steeping i simply apply pat the tea bag on my face and make sure it coats all troublesome areas (forehead, cheeks, chin). A box of tea bags costs around $2-$3 dollars and is a great substitute for a salicylic/witch hazel toner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 birdyb on 2/9/2013 3:54:00 PM more reviews by birdyb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a regular green tea drinker, especially in the summer when we drink almost a gallon of it every day, iced.
I've been reading reviews for a few days and tried spent bags as under-eye compresses this afternoon. Amazing for reducing under eye bags and puffiness.
I have had problems with my eyes ever since a friend died tragically this fall. My stress level has been through the roof, coupled with my grief and the cold weather- I look pretty rough: baggy eyes, dull dry skin. I've tried several eye creams/depuffers and they haven't worked. 7 minutes of cooled green tea bags under each eye and it's amazing how the bags have deflated. I have some cooled tea and bought some reusable cotton pads to use as a compress every morning. I'm so excited- the prospect of spending the rest of my 30s and beyond looking this haggard wasn't very nice.

The price is fantastic, too! $3 something for 100 bags of tea that I'll use anyway. I'm sold!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 1/30/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I consider myself pretty objective in my analysis of products- natural or not, and price has no sway on my judgment.
I have concocted the most delightful skin potion, however.
I logically conclude that the concentration of freshly brewed green tea has more beneficial/antioxidant properties than something that's been processed and diluted and indefinitely sitting on a shelf somewhere... consumables don't get any better after packaging.
So basically I brew a couple ounces of VERY strong organic green tea, let cool, add a little bit of royal jelly with honey, a couple drops of tea tree oil (tea tree oil stinks- if it didn't work I wouldn't use it...Smell dissipates however), a drop or two of lavender essential oil in a small glass bottle and keep in fridge. Feel free to adjust ingredients as necessary. Use as a toner. This particular formula gently tightens my skin and keeps my pores clear.
If I find something that works better for any price, I'll buy it but so far, no luck. I demand results and in some cases buying watered down junk on the shelf doesn't do it for me.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mirrkat on 1/29/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by mirrkat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

What works for many, doesn't always for you. I wanted this to work, but it just tightened and irritated my skin from the moment I applied it. It was worth a try. Though I am not quite sure I see the point in toners anyway. I don't really have luck with them.



EDIT: I bumped it up to 3 stars. I tried the freeze method and it did irritate my face a little, not as much as when it was hot (I believe because my skin is already dry, the heat made it worse) But because it still irritated me, even if it was just a little, I won't continue to use it on my face. I will use it for my eyes as it helped a great deal with puffiness and waking up. So Kudos for the eyes, not so great for my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sam3215 on 1/29/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by Sam3215

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I read that if a product makes your skin feel tight, that causes aging. After the tea drys on my face, it feels very tight! Could my skin be too dry for this tea toner?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beachsexybronze on 1/10/2013 12:56:00 PM more reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Another miracle product!! Green tea is sooo good for puffiness, good health, antioxidents (which is the one of the #1 issues with sagging skin besides the sun and other things), etc. I use these all the time, as a face toner, de-puffer, and drink it!

I usually take about 2 tea bags of pure green tea, and boil water, and let them sit for about 3-4 min, then squeeze just a little water out and put them over my eyes, or just simply "wipe" around my face, neck, eyes, nose, etc..even if there is water dripping,...let it..just hold a papertowel under so it doesn't stain/fall on your clothes. Let the tea water dry on its own over your face, and your face will feel much better and "awake"!

I also use coffee grinds mixed with facial wash and let it sit on my face for about 15 min before washing it off since it also has caffeine in it too. :) LOVE! Green tea is CHEAP, healthy, and beauti-fies!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Toners products