MAC • Paint Pot in Soft Ochre • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(327 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 largloworm on 2/13/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by largloworm

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this and was wondering if it would make any difference at all? I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I have it in Soft Ochre and it's great for my eyes. If I wasn't even wearing shadow I'd wear it. I use a brush and bring it right up under my eyebrow. Opens up my eyes! I am 67 and I have always been into make up! This is a have to have for me. My shadow stays ON and does not crease all day! My shadows always used to crease and look a mess. NOT now!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 startariot on 1/31/2014 5:31:00 PM more reviews by startariot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this based on the good reviews, sad to say I'm so disappointed in this product. It creases after a mere 3-4 hours and my eyelids aren't really that oily.. doesn't really make my eyeshadow pop either. Only good things I can say are that it evens out my skin tone nicely and is easy to apply but that's just about it and not why I bought it.
Definitely not comparable to UD's primer potion, which does not crease on me for at least 12+ hours and brightens any eyeshadow I put on. Another overrated MAC product that turned out to be a huge disappointment.. won't be buying again (or anything else for that matter).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sisterhazel on 1/18/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by Sisterhazel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily eyelids, with a lot of discoloration. I got this specifically for the discoloration problem, and I am thrilled with the results. It evens out the skin around my eyelids, makes the skin look smooth, and doesn't accentuate crepiness. I'm not sure how it performs as a shadow primer - I'll update in a week for that. But for getting rid of the dark red blotchiness that seems to have popped up since turning 40, this is wonderful.

Update: I have been wearing this daily for the last week, and it works nicely as a shadow primer, too. Previously I was wearing Too Faced Shadow Insurance, which I like as a primer, but that doesn't address my discoloration problems. This paint pot is a winner all around.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jadyxo on 1/3/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by jadyxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I freakin' love this!! Before buying this, my eyelids were always so oily and every eyeshadow creased on them. This miracle product mattifies my lids while keeping my eyeshadows in place all day! Love love love.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UWMsGirl on 12/8/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by UWMsGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Soft Ochre as an eye primer. At first when I tried it I found that it was way too drying on my eyelids, but then I read somewhere that this could be fixed by applying a tiny bit of moisturizer first and right after apply the paint pot. It went on so smooth, it worked! I love this as a primer and it really has great staying power. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChichiV on 12/8/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by ChichiV

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I only use this to even out my eyelids before eyeshadow.
I have to put another primer first or else this creases on me..(oily eyelids).

I'm a bit dissappointed because of the rave reviews.

Yes it is an oke product but i'm not in love with it...for me it just did not work out..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 11/22/2013 8:55:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

After trying (and hating!) Painterly, I kept seeing one of my favorite Youtubers (Nikkitutorials) talk about Soft Ochre. I realized it was probably much more suited to my skin tone than Painterly, and after one use I saw that was correct. Soft Ochre neutralizes the redness on my lids and brightens my eyes. It seems to do a pretty good job at covering the darkest parts of my dark circles too, and makes a nice base for concealer.

It's a little dry in texture, but as long as I warm it between my fingers it's just fine. My lids are prone to dry patches as well, so I just make sure that when I'm using this, I moisturize my lids well at night.

Soft Ochre really grabs eyeshadow pigment, and makes the colors truer to pan. I do get a little creasing after 10 or so hours, but that can be avoided with a thin layer of any primer underneath. I wouldn't recommend wearing it alone, it'll crease without a powder on top. Just set it with your regular powder or a nude shadow and you're good to go for a minimal look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greenobsession on 11/15/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by greenobsession

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This product has changed my (eyeshadow) life. Oh my god. For the longest time I have been so frustrated with my oily eyelids and how no matter what I do shadows ALWAYS crease on 'em. I've been eyeing this for a while, and I have taken a liking to matte looks, this looked like a good base for my yellow undertones, I could go on and on...

Basically, UDPP + Soft Ochre is my ultimate combo.

Soft Ochre is my baby. I will repurchase forever and god forbid it gets discontinued.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JLsunshine on 10/28/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by JLsunshine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I love using this as a primer and also to cover dark circles under my eyes. I use this eye shadow as the building base for my eye makeup routine. It has a soft feathery creamy texture and feel and looks as silky soft on my eye lids. It adds a little sparkle of shimmer while keeping my eye shadow color bold and long lasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlylocks on 10/28/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by curlylocks

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My eye area has been showing more discoloration as I've gotten over 40, so after reading reviews, decided to try a paint pot. I was on the fence for a bit, between painterly and soft ochre, but realizing there is some pink in my skin, decided the soft ochre would help cancel that out a little better. Well, it does, and does a decent job as a primer, but here's the best part....I've started using this along the inner corner of my eye, and underneath it towards cheekbone. A little tap of it does wonders to clean up/finish my eye area after all other eye makeup complete. Kind of like a drier concealer. I think I like it more for that use than as an e/s primer! Anyway, it works for my skin tone and will be keeping a pot of it in my staples stash!

UPDATE: 6 months later and I don't miss a day with this stuff. Gives my aging eye area a nice even tone.

Update: It's been two months since my initial review and still really happy with this! I took it on vacation to Cabo where I did a very minimal makeup look (if at all), and this was an essential....cleaned up my lids and gave them a fresh look instead of the 44 year old, discolored eye area. :) I continue to use down into bridge of nose and below and love it!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products