Rimmel • Lasting Finish Enriched w/ Minerals • Liquid

rated 3.8(443 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Leahrm23 on 3/8/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Leahrm23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation because I wanted to find something that was similar to my HG colorstay. Just for reference I am a 280 (or 300 per temptalia's website) Golden Beige in colorstay oily/combination formula. I bought the lasting finish in 200 (I think its Nude). First of all let me say that in Walgreens there were only 5 out of the 11 color choices. Luckily 200 worked for me. Not as good of a match as CS, but good enough. Now, having said that, I gave this product a 3 mainly because of the feel and consistency of it. It is a little thicker than my CS, although it does blend easier. The other problem was that this product feels sticky on my skin and doesnt feel like it ever quite dries. It does dry, but it sure does take a while and I do not like setting my foundation with powder. My CS feels sticky as it is drying, but dries MUCH faster. Another reason was that this didnt give me the amount of coverage that I was looking for. My CS gives much better and better looking coverage. This foundation started to slide off of my face as the day progressed and did not control my oil. It caked and came off on my fingers with the slightest of touch. It also transfers (unlike my CS which is bulletproof!). I did like the smell of this product though! I WILL be sticking with my Colorstay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 2/16/2011 9:52:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to have to break the chain of good reviews here and be honest. I brought this in '202 Nude' which at the time matched me quite well. Went home, applied it with a foundation brush and wore it out for the day. Got home and to my horror realized how orange my face looked! This foundation completely oxidized on me! Absolutely horrible. Not because I didn't match myself properly, because the colour matched right when I applied it initially. I would have given it one lippy, but it did give a good medium coverage, didn't cake and lasted for the whole day. Very hard to blend though, so work fast, or use a damp sponge/brush. Sticking with Revlon Colorstay foundation. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Dana94 on 2/5/2011 5:01:00 AM more reviews by Dana94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I apply this foundation with a sponge and find it extremely hard to blend into my skin. Usually I end up blending in makeup lines quite harshly with my fingers instead. The coverage is natural, however it didn't really do a great job of concealing blemishes so a concealer would most likely be needed as well. This foundation doesn't withhold the high temperatures where I live very well, (definitely not lasting 16 hours as promised, even with a powder to set) although it does last a couple of hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NikkiEBright on 2/4/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by NikkiEBright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Of all the "drugstore" foundations I have tried this is one of the best. It gives me natural medium to full coverage & blends into my skin really well. The price is fantastic & I have 2 shades that match my skin tone (100 for winter & 200 for summer). My only complaint would be that some days I apply it & its flawless, others it can become patchy & oxidize after a few hours - perhaps it is affected by the weather.


*EDIT* I won't be repurchasing this as it has far to many nasties for my liking & Rimmel test on animals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kashinka on 12/31/2010 7:09:00 PM more reviews by Kashinka

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked up a few tubes of this foundation when it was 75% off at CVS and let it sit around for a few months before I tried it. (I think the reason for the discount was that they were clearing out the 16-hour type before they got in the longer-wearing stuff.) I first used it because I was in a hurry and didn't want to spend the time applying my MAC Studio Fix Fluid with the 190 brush, which is the only way to get it to look natural, I've found.


This makeup applies beautifully even with my impatient fingers, and does not look cakey or change color (as SFF does without the brush application). I like the fact that it's in a plastic squeeze tube--more sanitary than a bottle and less wasteful than a pump, which always leaves some liquid you can't quite get at. And it's light enough to throw in a bag without weighing it down.


I have a wide oily T-zone, and I've found, to my surprise, that this foundation does not make me reach for my MAC Blot Powder after a few hours, as SFF does. This is in December, however, so I can't say how it will perform in hotter weather. And the 16-hour claim seems to be accurate, at least on me in the winter. I've put it on at 7:00 a.m. and it still looks good at 10 or 11 p.m.


A few reviewers here have complained that it's runny, but I always shake liquid foundations before I put them on. I've had no issues with its being too thin.


I got shade 103, True Ivory, and it's a perfect match for my NW20 complexion. I can apply it to portions of my face without the demarcation line showing.


This goes straight to the top of my list of foundations, and I will certainly buy it again when my current supply runs out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kemingj on 12/27/2010 7:51:00 AM more reviews by kemingj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

Chose Ivory tone which is my usual foundation color tone, but the actual effect of this product applied on to my face is still too dark for my skin tone.

Turns oily after a while, and the foundation seems to run off after 4-5 hrs rather than the long lasting claim of 16 hrs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toastedlembas on 12/18/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by toastedlembas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

While I was studying abroad last semester I was running out of my usual foundation (Everyday Minerals). I went out and bought this foundation because it was reasonably priced and looked to be a good color for my skin (200, Soft Beige). I'm usually terrible at color matching, but for once I think I did a good job!
For everyday I mix it with my moisturizer and apply with a brush, but for occasions when I want more coverage I use it by itself. Definitely one of my better buys; I might stop using my mineral makeup entirely!

Edit (Nov 2011): I haven't used this as much because the color is a bit dark for me nowadays, but I think an important thing to note is that this is one of the only drugstore liquid foundations that has not broken me out, which is a pretty big achievement. I intend to pick up a lighter shade soon and see how it goes again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 L7412 on 12/10/2010 1:56:00 PM more reviews by L7412

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Overall I would rate this foundation as very good. I don't love it as much as I used to love my MaxFactor one, but since that is discontinued, I am happy enough with this one that I won't be buying another brand anytime soon.


Bottle is great. I like squeeze bottles better than pump as I feel like you can get the most for your money since all the product comes out (sometimes you cant get the last bit in a pump bottle). Also this package is very light (not glass, no extra unecessary caps or parts) so it's great when travelling.


I'm not sure I believe the 16 hours staying power claim. I can start to see wear in my foundation after about 10 hours. But that's good enough for me. And even with the wear, it still looks decent, just not perfect.


I apply the product with my fingers in dabs over my face and then blend it in with a dense mini kabuki. I find I use less product this way and the finish is better. When I first bought it, I just used my fingers...but I found I over-applied and it looked cakey and un-natural.


The product dries to a lighter colour than in the bottle or after immediate application (in my opinion). I like this. At first I thought the shade was too dark for me, but once it completely dried (in like 3 minutes) I noticed it had lightened up a bit.


In the winter, I think this product is very good. When I use it in the hot NYC summer months, it does not control shine very well for me. So I use MAC Skin Finish Naturals in the summer. But if you blot, I think this product is good for summer too.


The price is very good. I got it on sale at CVS.


The few things I don't like about this product are:


1/ FINISH: Depending on how you apply, it can look cakey and powdery. This is why I use a brush so I use as little as I can for even coverage.


2/ OXIDIZED COLOR: Sometimes (and I don't understand why or how) it will oxidize on my skin to an orange tone. I guess it's the chemistry of my skin and other products I might be using. I still can't figure out what it is, but now and then I will look in the mirror after a few hours and wear and see that the foundation colour as darkened a little and gone a bit orange. This happens infrequently. To combat this, I try to always start with a clean, dry face. I wash with water and a tiny bit of cleanser in the morning to remove whatever "sleep gunk" =P might be on my face.


I think this is a product that has more pros than cons. And the pros definitely outweigh the cons! With a little practice at applying and some experimentation, you can get a flawless look that stays on all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkbonanza on 12/2/2010 11:55:00 PM more reviews by pinkbonanza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff! It is my go to long lasting foundation. Compared to the Revlon Color Stay, the Rimmel smells better, is easier to blend, and has a more natural finish. Plus to is soo much cheaper. I like to mix this with other foundations to make them last longer.

Shade: 200 Soft Beige

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mzlisaa on 11/21/2010 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Mzlisaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my Favourite drugstore foundation . Great coverage and such a nice dewy finish. At first I found it a bit cakey but with a good foundation brush and a good blend through, does a great job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Liquid products