Kiss Me • HEROINE MAKE long and curl mascara (black) • Mascara

rated 4.3(152 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ilikejuice on 3/31/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by ilikejuice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this mascara. It is hands down the best lengthening and volumizing mascara I have ever used. I bought this while I was in Japan last year and have been using the same tube for almost a year now. The one I have says lengthening and curling with a curved brush. It holds the curl perfectly on my straight Asian lashes, separates them so you can see each lash, and gives the appearance of false lashes. My eyelashes are SO much longer. It's amazing. The only little downer is that it starts to smudge a bit towards the end of the day especially in hot/humid summer days or when out clubbing/dancing (probably because I do not have double eyelids). I found that extra powder around the eyelids help minimize it, but it isn't foolproof. However, for what it does, it's better than anything I've tried in the States, in Korea, and European brands. This mascara is also available in South Korea and I'm sure in other East Asian countries.

Also, I think it's worth noting there is a newer version of this mascara that is out. It comes in a pink tube with a black cap. I also bought that one but have not tried it yet. I will repost once I do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OrganizedTourist on 3/29/2013 12:19:00 PM more reviews by OrganizedTourist

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I found this mascara through some online research and decided to give it a try. I was slightly scared to use it because I read that it's so hard to take off.

The package I got ended up coming with a small bottle of eye makeup remover from the same company. I figured it was best to use their own eye makeup remover which can probably help to take off the product.

This is probably the best mascara that I've ever used. It helps extend my lashes and lasts all day without smearing or smudging (which is the best part). I no longer have black cat eyes from smeared mascara. This doesn't give you volume though and that was my only disappointment with the product. I will most likely try out their volume and curl mascara next to give it a try.

After using the mascara, I tested out their eye makeup remover which helped a lot with taking off the product. I soaked a cotton pad in the remover and let it sit over my eyelid for a good 10 sec each. Then I use DHC Cleansing Oil to get rid of the rest and it all works out! I had no problems removing it and no problems with left over mascara.

Overall, I was really impressed with this and so glad I found this mascara! It really does make your eyes pop! It's a little pricier but it's totally worth it! I paid around $19USD for one tube.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 larojiblanca on 3/24/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by larojiblanca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The Long and Curl mascara is quite horrible compared to the Frame and Curl one from the Kiss Me Heroine brand. It does not hold a curl at all; my lashes fall flat within minutes of putting on this mascara. The volumising effect is pretty good, but the lengthening is poor. Luckily, it glides on without clumping; and the curved brush is also great for coating each lash and reaching the small ones at the corners of the eye. Like the F&C and many other Japanese mascaras, the formula is super water-proof, oil-proof, flake-free and smudge-proof. You'll need a dual-phase or oil-based remover to get it off. My biggest dislike of this mascara is the smell. What I think was originally meant to be a rose scent actually is an odor that is reminiscent of prunes! It smells disgusting and to make things worse, it lingers for a while so you are constantly catching whiffs of the stale, granny-like scent. The F&C mascara is a much better choice that has everything this one has, but with amazing lengthening effect and no odor!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yoshiii on 3/22/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT June 29, 2013: I just came back from Japan, so I can definitely reassure it has NOT been discontinued, unlike other reviews -- this is a very popular mascara/brand, so you can find this mascara at most drugstore chains there. I found this for the cheapest price at Matsumoto Kiyoshi for only 860 yen! (around $9.20 equivalent). Also saw at Tokyu Hands for about 1020 yen - point being that it's really priced up in the US. I also saw that Heroine makes special waterproof mascara remover that comes comb-shaped, but I didn't buy. Perhaps this works effectively for removing?
------

In the US, you can probably find this product at any Japanese supermarket chain -- Mitsuwa, Nijiya, Marukai; check to see if one is near you. I found mine at Nijiya for $22.

This mascara did a pretty good job lengthening, but nothing more significantly special than drugstore mascaras. Overall, I was a bit disappointed in this mascara considering the reviews and higher price.


It definitely took me a couple more minutes than usual to remove than other mascaras, but it was not that bad. I used Body Shop Chamomile Eye Makeup Remover.


I only give three lippies, bc even though it doesn't flake as much as other mascaras, I don't think it's worth $22. I would rather experiment with another Japanese mascara than repurchase this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cateash on 3/3/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by Cateash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Oh my god this mascara is a nightmare to remove, really a total nightmare, as in I didn't think it would come off and even 1 week after having applied it only once and scrubbing the hell out of my eyes with an oil based makeup remover it still was no gone, its the only time i have been truly freaked out after using a makeup product. THIS DOES NOT COME OFF WITH EVEN AN OIL BASED EYE MAKEUP REMOVER!! It ttally wrecked my lashes and I lost about half of them. Beware!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asf on 2/20/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by asf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My HG mascara. Very lengthening and never ever smudges or flakes. Easily buildable to add volume for evenings/special events. It's the only mascara I've ever repurchased more than once.


It certainly doesn't come off with a regular face wash, but is quite easily removed with eye makeup remover (especially the oil based kind) or a deep cleansing oil.

It's sold at virtually every large Asian market, and Amazon of course.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 solarsaint on 2/16/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by solarsaint

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love this mascara, it stays on forever without smudging, and most importantly to me it holds a curl like no other. I have a sort of awkward situation where on one eye my lashes will curl fine, but on the other side they fall flat within an hour or so. My friend jokes that due to my mixed ethnicity I have one Asian eye and one European eye, lol. The cap is a little difficult to remove and you do need to let the product warm up a bit before you use it or it is a little thick. I usually hit it with my hair dryer or just let it ride in the waistband of my pants while I do the rest of my makeup and that works fine. You do need a fairly heavy duty remover to get this all off, Japanese mascaras are known for their staying power and this stuff means business. I have and will continue to rebuy it though. You can pick it up on Amazon for around $20USD with shipping, which is where I usually get it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shushupopopipi on 1/24/2013 1:14:00 AM more reviews by shushupopopipi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

My Holy Grail mascara. For five years (since I started using it), I have not found a match for its efficacy. It holds curl perfectly, does not smudge or flake, and seems to last forever. A godsend for stubborn lashes with a tendency to droop.

Its obtainability might be a problem for some. As an Australian consumer, I have to look online to buy this Japanese product. I personally go to sasa.com or eBay. Due to its cult-status and immense popularity, it's often sold out.

Its price is fair, but not great. With shipping and handling, one tube costs about $20. I use it liberally, so perhaps it will only last two months. But cheaper (still) than many mascaras.

The packaging is a gaudy hot pink, with cursive font, and a black cap. :( Enough has been said.

It is rather hard to remove, unless a potent waterproof eye makeup remover is used, such as L'Oreal Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover For Eyes, which I have been using forever.

Despite the above "cons" however, I still buy Heroine Make Long and Curl again and again. If it was ever discontinued, I would be absolutely devastated. It is that effective and that much of a necessity to my makeup routine.

I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 1/14/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara! I have straight lashes and issues with smudging. This mascara is just perfect for asian eyes. The brush is nice and small so it is a great size for small eyes and getting to all the little hairs at the corners. It separates your lashes nicely, is buildable, and is gives a nice natural look. Its not THE most volumizing, but it doesn't claim to be so that's ok. This stuff holds a curl like nobody's business and it is completely smudgeproof and waterproof. I wore it for long days in a hot country, skidooing, for 30+ hours (flying back home) and it withstood it all. No flakes and no drooping. It does take a little patience getting it off since it is a waterproof mascara. I recommend soaking a cotton pad with a bi-phase eye makeup remover and holding it on your eye to gently breakdown and remove the mascara. What I love the most about this mascara is that once its on, I don't have to worry about it. No need to check for smudges, flakes or droopy lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hanndabear on 1/2/2013 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Hanndabear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is one of my absolute favorites! I use it religiously on my bottom lashes. I have oily eyelids, and this stuff holds curl like a dream and doesn't smear AT ALL. You can probably go swimming with this on and it won't budge. It's buildable, too, which is fantastic. Just make sure you have a good makeup remover. As I said, this mascara has remarkable staying power--using just soap and water will not take it off!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiss Me products

More Mascara products