Dermalogica • Skin Clearing Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.5(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jesx on 11/28/2010 1:27:00 AM more reviews by jesx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this product for about 2wks now and im finding my skin is breaking out but hoping that its just bringing impurities to the surface as i used to use it a couple of yrs ago and it was great but went to something else as i found it wasnt taking care of black and white heads. but anyway ive come back to it because nothing works for me and i know that the formulas changed now. i love the smell, not artificial and does not harshly dry out my skin, leaves it feeling very clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 celticmoon on 11/12/2010 1:14:00 PM more reviews by celticmoon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I came to use this product after having adult onset acne as a result of cancer treatment - I had chemo and tablets that removed all the oestrogen out of my system and this had a crazy impact on my skin!!!

Although I did have acne before using the product this was nothing compared to what it was like AFTER using it. Recommended by my beauty therapist I tried it with high hopes but found that my whole face became inflamed, sore and red with a multitude of spots that were hard, deep and extremely persistent, lasting for up to six months at times. The spots left scarring that (two years later) I am just getting rid of with a dermal roller! In the end I have to have anti-biotics, a prescription cream and hydro cortisone cream to clear my skin, which had become terribly out of balance. It took me six long months to regain the balance with my confidence at an all time low.

Here is something that just may interest other people who find themselves with adult acne, perhaps due to similar circumstances to myself...?

The one thing that really really worked for me...?

Well, in the end I had to stop using a prescription cream called ADAPALENE (dreadful stuff) and through research at www.acne.org I tried PANOXYL. It was my saviour and although I used Dermalogica moisturizers and Essential Cleansing Solution alongisde it I stuck with the regime described on the above web site. Now I don't have to use the Panoxyl (which incidentally is really cheap as well as effective) unless I get a spot - a rare occurence - and just stick to gentle cleansing with good moisturizing and dermal rolling (fantastic for getting rid of the scarring!)

Now I have glowing clear skin that looks so very different to what it did 2 years ago!!!!!

I really hope this helps someone else...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellochristina on 9/9/2010 7:09:00 PM more reviews by hellochristina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love this product. I had hit the mid 20s acne breakouts, and was horrified. I tried Dermalogica's Clearing Skin Wash, and within a few days, my skin cleared! Didn't dry out my skin, feels great. Although, my skin is SUPER oily, and I do get the early afternoon shine. Still haven't found something to keep the shine completely away. I have recently tried new products to help with my oiliness and my breakouts started again. So I went back to this, and clear again! This wash definitely helps with my breakouts. It is on the pricier side but you really only need a pea sized amount to get the job down. I bought the large bottle and it has lasted me sooooo long. So long that the product is about to expire (the medicated stuff expires).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eringer on 9/6/2010 3:57:00 PM more reviews by eringer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I have made the commitment to stick to Dermalogica products because I was bouncing around too much to so many different lines, always getting overwhelmed and being inconsistent.

Let me say that I don't know how an average woman does not get confused trying to figure out the maze that is skin care, because as someone who is trained in skin care, I even find it so! (I guess that's how they want us though... we buy more that way!)

I love this cleanser. I have oilier, acne prone skin, and it makes me feel fresh and clean, yet doesn't strip my skin at all. I use it in combination with my Clarisonic brush, and it really gets in there. I feel tht it reduces my breakouts. As with all Dermalogica products (esp. their cleansers), you have to use VERY little to get the job done, so even though the price point is high, the bottle will last about 5 months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Julsiepie on 7/9/2010 9:05:00 AM more reviews by Julsiepie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have slightly acne prone combination skin and I have never had an adverse reaction to anything. I used to use the anti-bac skin wash and when it ran out I went to repurchase because it was the only thing that kept the spots at bay. The beauty therapist advised that Dermalogica had merely repackaged and renamed my HG and so I bought this product. After the very first use I noticed that I had a couple of little whiteheads on my chin. I did not think much of it because I thought I had been using the same product as I had before. After a few days, the whiteheads mulitplied and my skin turned a bit red so I got worried and stopped using it. I then woke up the next day and the skin all around my nose, mouth and chim was red, inflamed and covered in whiteheads and blisters. I looked like a monster. I had to go to the doctor and remember sitting in the wating room crying with people blatantly staring at me. The doctor prescribed antihistamines and a cortisone cream. It took about a week to clear up and about a month for the redness to subside. This was about 8 months ago and eversince then I have a hightend sensitivity to certain products, even ones that I have used before. Anything I use on my face now has to be spot tested before purchase as Im just petrified of going through that again.

People have different reactions to different products, this product seems to have worked fine for many people but I would not want what happened to me to happen to anyone else, so if you are thinking of purchasing get a sample first and be on the look out for reactions!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songtothesiren on 7/5/2010 9:09:00 PM more reviews by songtothesiren

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've noticed a difference in my skin when I use this cleanser. It really does prevent blemishes, but you have to use it consistently. Whenever I stop using this, my skin breaks out even more. I don't find this drying at all, and my skin can be quite sensitive... the key is to not use so much - a pea sized amount is probably enough for the most of us. I lather it up in my hands before I use it, to get the foam going. My skin feels so clean after I use this, but not stripped which is always important to me. Will most likely repurchase and definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 butterflyboots on 4/20/2010 4:57:00 AM more reviews by butterflyboots

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used samples of this wash and the oil control lotion only 3 times before it ruined my skin :( it has completely dried it out to the point that it's flaking and I had oily skin to begin with. I have never reacted badly to a product before in my life but this has made me red, raw and flaky :( I have broken out in all these little whiteheads too :( still trying to help my skin to recover.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tonyawyatt on 4/12/2010 11:18:00 AM more reviews by tonyawyatt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cleanser. I bought it in the big bottle with the pump and you literally, only need a pea size amount. This bottle will probably last me the whole year. So even the hefty price tag isn't so awful if you actually use up the product. It has a slight tea tree scent, a clear gel, makes your skin feel very clean but not stripped. I have normal/dry skin and I was afraid this would dry me out and I'd have to only use it once a day or every other day, but it's fine as my only cleanser - I use it twice a day. I use the facial brush with this to really get the cleanser to work onto my face and though I don't know if this heals existing blemishes, I think it's great at keeping them away and maintaining consistantly clear skin. At night I pre-cleanse with an oil or just wash twice with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dreamlandlover on 3/30/2010 8:54:00 PM more reviews by dreamlandlover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing. I don't know why other people say it dries their skin out, as I've never had that problem, and my skin is dry - maybe you're using too much - you only need a pea sized amount, lather it up in your hands, and cleanse. I actually like the slightly medicinal/natural smell of this cleanser, and it foams really well. I think this is good for sensitive skin, because it contains only .5 percent salicylic acid, yet it is still very effective. I think it's the blend of so many natural extracts that really make this cleanser special, it really gets rid of bacteria. I can't recommend this enough, for around $40 canadian, I think it's definitely worth it. Also, it's not just for blemish-prone skin, I use it occasionally as a chemical exfoliant- it doesn't make my skin dry, or red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jackyc on 3/28/2010 5:33:00 AM more reviews by jackyc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

There's nothing special with this acne wash. I use Retin-A Micro for topical to treat acne and because of that, I have very sensitive skin. This cleanser is too much to be used everyday. I used it every night for the first week and my skin got really red and dried out. So I began using it once every other night, which works fine now. It leaves my skin feeling clean, but also very tight. I still have the mild acne. I still have oily skin. This cleanser works fine, but for the price, it's nothing special. I'd rather buy my Kiehl's Blue Herbal Cleanser -- which is cheaper and works better (in my opinion).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products