Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(336 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 CaveofWonders on 1/21/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by CaveofWonders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far this is the only foundation from the drugstore i've tried that keeps my skin matte. I have very oily skin and whatever foundation i wear will usually be shiny within a few hours. This foundation doesn't do that. It keeps me matte all day. On that note i don't think it would be good for dry skin. On dry skin it could probably be patchy or something. The dry consistency is what keeps my oil at bay and looks quite flawless on my skin. This foundation is also quick to dry as you're blending. I recommend using a flat top brush with this to get best results. Also i have medium skin with yellow undertones so i got the color sand which fits me well but is just one shade lighter than my skin color. The coverage of this foundation on me feels like full coverage because i really don't need much coverage anyway but i've read some reviews that don't think its full coverage. So i really don't know but i think its medium coverage. Overall though I very much like this foundation and will keep repurchasing as this is my 2nd time buying it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wacole1069 on 1/20/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by Wacole1069

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Amazing Foundation!! I normally use LancĂ´me tient idole ultra 24 hour foundation and this foundation is very compatible in wear as the lancome. It gives a beautiful full coverage in my opinion,it is very buildable and is easy to apply. The texture is somewhat thick but creamy. It rubs in nicely and you can easily add to it as long as your skin is well moisturizer. I come home at the end of a 12 hour day and it looks just as good as when I left. I do use a primer and powder to set it. I got the color neutral 220 and it is not perfect but it is really close and it offers everything else I'm looking for in a foundation for $11!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 1/9/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was a total surprise to me....a drugstore foundation with a great color match for me, a semi matte finish, and lasts all day!

I have NC15 skin with neutral/warm undertones and the Buff color is actually a really close match to my skin color. This foundation applies easily (but you have to be fast as it can set quickly).

The coverage is medium but since I wear over sunscreen the coverage is a little sheerer than if I wore on bare skin. I do apply an extra layer of this under my eyes as I have darkness there and, because I do this, I don't need to use concealer. I love the way this looks after it has set, semi matte but not flat.

I have dry skin on my cheeks and really oily nose and chin, and although I do get oil breakthrough, it doesn't really interfere with the staying power of this foundation. It really does last on me, and gives less of a cakey look than Revlon Colorstay. I like the finish better than Colorstay also.

For the price this is a really good foundation that I don't hesitate to recommend. I still prefer Shiseido's Sun Protection Foundation for longevity, finish and SPF, but this Almay foundation comes in a close second.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxPikadoodlexxx on 1/4/2014 4:19:00 AM more reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was strange. I wasn't impressed. The packaging was nice and I liked that it was a medium to full coverage but that's about it. This foundation dries so quickly there is no time to blend. The first time I used it I applied it to half of my face with my fingers with decent but nowhere near satisfactory results. On the other side I used my usual buffing brush with horribe results. If I ran over an area with the brush where the foundation had started to dry it would completely slide off. I had to apply more foundation to recover the area and then the areas where the first and second application met I it looked thick, waxy and uneven. I also tried applying this with a stripple brush but had the same problem I had with the buffing brush.I did find that the foundation lasted a good 12 hours but it looked very heavy and sunk into my smile lines. Adding powder made it worse. I may experiment more with this in the future but for now I'd have to say this is a flop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roarhissmeow on 12/30/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by roarhissmeow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using solely this foundation for the last few years. It gives a medium coverage, has staying power, and doesn't irritate my acne-prone skin. I use the "Buff" shade - it is a really good match for my skin because it has a yellow tone to it that matches my complexion. It can be a little hard to clean all of it off at night, I generally will wash my face first and then use the Clarisonic Mia to get the remaining makeup off completely. It's a really great find for a drugstore foundation, and I hope they don't discontinue it anytime soon because I think it would be hard to find such a great match for my skin as the "Buff" shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Notaglamourpuss1 on 12/29/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by Notaglamourpuss1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this but somehow just didn't. First, I was annoyed that despite it's claims of 16 hours of wear, it faded after 5. Second, the texture is like thick latex paint. When I had to gently scratch at an itch on my cheek, the product ended up underneath my fingernails. This was even after putting just a thin coat. Plus, you have to rush to blend it as it dries rather quickly. Pass on this .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elliemarangella on 12/19/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by elliemarangella

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I personally love this foundation. I bought it a couple weeks ago when I went to the drugstore to pick up mascara & for some reason, this caught my eye. I had nothing to lose so I decided to try it. I dont remember how much it was...but I'm gonna say somewhere around $10. I took it home & I completely forgot I had it until yesterday, when I ran out of my wet n wild coverall cream (also an amazing foundation! But I think I like this one more) so I got my sponge out & applied it like I normally would. It looked really thick but I had no trouble applying nor did I feel like I was wearing a mask.
THIS FOUNDATION WORKED SO MUCH BETTER THAN I EXPECTED! I don't have very much active acne, maybe two or three pimples, but I do have quite a bit of acne hyperpogmentation scars on the sides of my cheeks leftover from when I was on accutane. They're pretty dark so they're usually very tricky to cover & I always feel like I'm applying way more foundation than I really need to. But TLC covered them up beautifully! My skin almost looks flawless with this on. Airbrushed. Even after a long afternoon at a hectic job as a waitress at a busy restaurant this stayed on just as beautifully as when I applied it. It didn't oxidize at all or exaggerate any dry patches I get around my mouth & nose in the winter. I wouldn't say Its difficult to remove however I do always use a makeup remover before I cleanse my face so that isn't an issue for me. Love love love & I will repurchase as my regular foundation from now on.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Erinmh on 12/8/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Erinmh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I loved this product when I first got it. It is a truly long lasting foundation and it's actually incredibly hard to take off with just face wash so you definitely need a good makeup remover for this. However after about 3 weeks of use I noticed the foundation looks extremely cakey after not even 1 hour. I have combination skin and it clings to all of my dry patches and makes them look very patchy. It also settles into any and all of my fine lines, which is ridiculous because I really don't have any... Applying one layer is a very sheer coverage, almost like you're wearing nothing at all. I usually apply 2 layers, but when I do so it feels really sticky. No matter what I do I can't prevent this foundation from looking cakey and gross on my skin. Such a bummer as I had high hopes for this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 justmigrating on 12/5/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by justmigrating

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Good color match for my pale skin. No smell. Didn't irritate my rosacea.

Cons: Sticky and difficult to spread. Didn't cover my redness. Coverage not buildable. Dried out my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Calliopi on 11/27/2013 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Calliopi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the most long wearing, natural looking foundation I've tried. It's also my most repurchased foundation. When I want my complexion to look perfect and stay perfect all day, I reach for this foundation. I wear the color Ivory which is a perfect match. With the Cover girl Clean SS foundation my shade is Ivory as well for reference. Almay TLC foundation can be hard to wash off, but I guess that's the point right? Love this stuff.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products