SukÝ • SukiColor - Tinted Active Moisturizer • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.6(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 cora-lu on 12/29/2008 4:00:00 AM more reviews by cora-lu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

So, i love the idea of natural products, and i love some stuff from Suki (e.g. the carrot serum), but it seems that i have a slight allergy to both their tinted moisturiser, and to the brightening cream. I have tried them a few times, hoping that i was mistaken, but no - it _is_ them. And my suspicion is that the white willow (willow bark) is doing this to me. "This" being little red spots (not pimples, just red patches on skin), especially around my eyes (even though i don't put that much around the eyes), and my eyes get slightly puffy. So - be careful, even if the product is natural, organic, and pack-full of good ingredients, it might still not agree with your skin.

(I believe i remember i had a similar problem with the aspirin mask, that's why my suspicion goes to the willow bark, so - i suppose - no brightening for me :-).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ventanabluesky on 10/25/2008 7:10:00 PM more reviews by ventanabluesky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the idea of a liquid mineral make up, so I bought the natural shade. Although it does seem to be a bit lighter upon application than it does in the jar, I still needed to mix it with a bit of the Suki concealer (in flax) to get a match to my skin color. As others have mentioned, the pump on this product is quite tricky, and no matter how lightly you try to press, you always end up with the same amount of product--too much. Upon application and for about an hour after, my skin looked beautiful--not flawless, but it definitely evened my skin tone and made me look like a more radiant version of myself. However, with my oily skin, it didn't wear well at all, and after about an hour this stuff started pooling up and my face just looked like a nasty oil slick. This might be a great product if your skin tends toward normal or dry, but with my oily skin, it seems sticking with dry MMU foundation is a better choice.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lotusindigo on 8/10/2008 4:37:00 PM more reviews by lotusindigo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a big fan of this tinted moisturizer, and all the Suki products in general. It smells wonderful, goes on smoothly, evens out skin tone and, as an added bonus, seems to do a lot to keep acne from popping up during the day between morning/evening skincare routines. I will say that there is a learning curve, however. I am asian with medium skin, yellow/olive undertones. The tinted moisturizer in Natural was recommended for my skintone. To begin with, I tried it by itself and it turned out looking too dark and too pink on me. To be sure, I couldn't imagine that this was supposed to work for skintones fair to medium if it was too dark for my medium toned skin! I tried mixing it in with the velvet facial cream also from Suki, and it looked better, but still too dark/pink. I mixed in even MORE of the facial cream with the tinted moisturizer, and it finally came out looking right... looking VERY right! My skin looked luminous and flawless. My issue is, I can't imagine that the spf 15 would still be effective if I had to dilute the tinted moisturizer with so much of another moisturizer to get the right shade. I suppose that could be fixed by mixing with a moisturizer that contains spf as well. Also, because it's diluted so much, I think the concealing effects of the suki tinted moisturizer are lessened by mixing. This isn't such an issue for me because I usually don't have much to conceal... others might find that this is a problem, however. I also had an issue with the pump bottle. It dispenses way too much product with one pump. I especially end up with a lot to use because I mix it in with a moisturizer. I usually use the excess on my neck, which is fine... but I would have preferred to be able to save money by using a smaller amount of product, and the dispenser does not allow for that, no matter how gently I try to push on the pump. Altogether, it's a great product, however... and I will buy again. Hopefully not too soon, because it's the most that I've ever spent on a foundation, but it's worth it if you know how to use it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sararoes on 6/22/2008 6:23:00 PM more reviews by sararoes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! I haven't had any weird breakout issues because of it and my skin is no less oily at the end of the day than when I use a powder mineral foundation (chromatherapy). It is fairly pricey and I can see not being able to use it in the winter because I get pasty white and this stuff can be a touch dark. But it does a nice job of diffusing my hyperpigmentation from acne and provides sunscreen, treats with willow bark, moisturizes and covers. It pretty much rocks :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crmeyers on 5/27/2008 8:26:00 PM more reviews by crmeyers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Casper the Ghost here reviewing the Suki tinted moisturizer in Natural. Clearly, it is too dark for me. BUT, somehow it works. I really don't get it. I use a small amount and blend well and it just disappears. I haven't found ANY foundation that would not cause me to break out in a rash for at least 5 years. Periodically, I will go to makeup counters and try samples but they NEVER work. Most recently, I tried a well reviewed Cover Girl unscented one. Didn't work. I figured that foundation was just rash fertilizer for me and I had given up on it. I don't know how, but this foundation is the only one that doesn't give me a rash. If you are looking for a full coverage foundation, this probably isn't for you. SInce I am used to wearing nothing but a bit of concealer (which was necessary since I was always concealing a rash of bumps everywhere) this is the perfect texture and consistency for me. Funny thing is, that now that I am using all Suki products on my face, I really don't need a foundation anymore. I now have almost completely perfect skin. It is just so weird to say that.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klyde on 4/24/2008 6:43:00 PM more reviews by klyde

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This stuff IS dark, but it goes on a bit lighter. I bought this in Natural and went back and forth and back and forth again on whether or not I thought it was great. Sometimes I thought it made my skin look smooth and the color was good; and other times I thought it looked like any other liquid foundation on me (I think I look better in powders because I don't have smooth texture so liquids tend to "pool" in uneven areas). Sometimes it seemed to completely disappear so it did not seem worth $42. I often thought I just really wanted to like it because it has all the trappings for me: they support charities, they do not use animal testing or ingredients that use animal testing, they use recyclable materials, it smells fresh, the color selection is not overwhelming (it's just the opposite) to name a few. And I thought I might really want to like it because I made a big $$ investment in it. So there it is. I'm still undecided. I ended up returning mine to Whole Foods because it was so thick that I could not get the pump to work. I even shook it and put it upside down for a while, but nothing came out. I was able to try it by scraping some out. I think if you like liquid foundation, this is a nice one. It dried to a matte finish and it has SPF 15.

UPDATE: I tried this again for some reason, and now I love it and use it all the time. Without thinning it, I put it on my forehead, nose, and cheek area. My skintone is darker there and if I try to lighten it, it looks pastey. So the "dark" tone of this works great in these areas. I have lots of tiny acne scars that can look like orange peel and this light foundation covers those up better than anything else. It dries and stays fairly matte, feels great, smells great. If I get oily, I put a little cornstarch over it. I can't get the pump to work with this bottle either (like the first), so I just unscrew the whole cap every time I use it. And I prefer glass to plastic, so I don't mind. I may return to powder when the weather warms up again, but I have been using this for several months and it is a superior foundation/tinted moisturizer.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maderine on 1/31/2008 6:06:00 PM more reviews by Maderine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, let me address the color issue right away: this stuff is DARK. I am super-fair and freckled, and to hear a color the depth of this one called "natural" seems laughable to my fish-belly-white self. The Suki website suggests mixing it with one's regular moisturizer to lighten the shade a bit. I myself suggest that SUKI START MAKING A RANGE OF COLORS! HELLO! Ahem. But anyway, I have come to love this ridiculously-colored tinted moisturizer, although I do have to mix it with the brightening cream in order to look not-stupid. I love the light wash of color, moisturization, and lasting nature of this product. It applies easily and smells very soft and natural, as do all Suki products. It's hella expensive. I'm not sure it's totally worth it yet--though it's gotten off to a really good start with me. EDIT 6/19/08: This has turned out to be an absolutely smashing summer color for me. I love it! It's totally worth $42, no question about it. I'm going to hold off on raising my rating to 5 lippies until I see if it breaks me out or not... EDIT 8/6/08: No breakouts! It's a 5!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tmd on 1/6/2008 4:16:00 PM more reviews by tmd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

So far, I use the entire skin care series and it has done WONDERS for my skin. The products literally salvaged my skin - it used to be uneven, I would break out from everything, my pores were huge, and my skin's surface always had a strange shine. With Suki, I no longer have any of the problems.

Now to cut to the chase, I ordered Suki Tinted Moisturizer because I needed an alternative to Jane Iredale, Everyday Minerals, Bare Minerals, and all of the other crud on the market. I must say that I love the consitency, packaging, and coverage of this product. The only issue that I have with this product is that the "Natural" color is a bit to pink for my Asian skin. I am a fair-skinned Indian with yellow undertones so the foundation doesn't exactly match.

Now that I've found NVEY Eco - it's goodbye Suki makeup! They really need to make some new colors...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sonya79 on 12/13/2007 4:25:00 PM more reviews by sonya79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this by far the most divine foundation/tinted mosituriser i have ever used.
i use this despite having makeup option for one reason only-- i want stunning natural luminous skin-- i get it with this.
coverage is excellent with the added benfit of salicylic acid-- cl;arifies the skin with each use.
protects the skin with spf 15 equivalent sunscreen with no reaction on my skin.
the coverage on marks is excellent -- what i have left which is disappearing very quickly. no build up or irritation to the skin-- oily skin will love this and dry skin will improve -- i know cos i have manic skin.

the drawback is the colour selection-- only 2- natural and bronze-- i solved the problem by buying both and mixing it to get the colour best suits me-- at the mo because it is winter 2 pumps of natural and 1 pump of bronze-- yipee-- perfect colour for me!!!

the puff that they recommend is ideal for spreading the foundation-- i usually dampen it with a spray of the suki toner for a sheer coverage-- like i said ladies minimal makeup after using the skincare--:)

i am lovong my skin with this---once again-- suki wins hands down for me!!!

whats the bad bit--it can be a bit pricey-- i dont mind it if i get to keep the skin i have!!! hence the 4-- for the price

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 victoriavef on 12/10/2007 12:49:00 PM more reviews by victoriavef

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I heard about suki coming out with suki color i was so happy. I thought that this would help out so much( i've been using EM, foundations). So, when it came out, i bought it...the neutral color. I thought that it would help out with my red marks left from my acne, nope. I do like the fact that my skin look glows after i put it on. but the color is too dark, i mix with suki velvet cream and only one pump of the tinted moisturizer...too bad..i wanted to love it, but the color just kills it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More SukÝ products

More Tinted Moisturizer products