Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.9(53 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShiverWithAntici on 11/3/2011 4:27:00 AM more reviews by ShiverWithAntici

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a fan of Badger products, really respect the company, and yes, find the packaging to be charming and adorable, but I just don't like their sunscreen. I originally purchased this solely because of the safety rating from the EWG. I have only tried the unscented version and used it regularly for a few months. That was a little over a year ago. I took a break from this product, then returned to it a few days ago and I'm very dissatisfied. I guess I was more broken out a year ago anyway and/or not paying as close attention to my skin as I am now, but after using this these past few days, I developed several pimples, including one very large, painful eruption on my neck. Now, to be fair, my breakouts could POSSIBLY be due to me changing around my other skincare products a bit recently, including my having stopped using my previous toner for a few weeks (which was probably helping to PREVENT my breakouts). But these breakouts just seem too sudden, so I think it was due to the sunscreen (I did a little research and found that one of the ingredients, cocoa butter, is highly comedogenic). Even if I hadn't broken out, the other reviews are spot on: this product is a misery to apply, doesn't blend well (it takes forever to make it look semi-decent and not completely ghostlike), feels so heavy and greasy (even on the days when my face is especially dry), it separates, and is just generally unpleasant to use. I really would not recommend this product to anyone, especially those with acne-prone skin.


**Update: I need to learn not to review products before trying a few other comparable ones. Compared to Beyond Coastal and Desert Essence mineral sunblocks, this product isn't bad AT ALL. This blends in much more easily than the others and doesn't leave as much of a blotchy white cast on my face (maybe the difference is the titanium dioxide in the two others that I tried and/or something about their formulations). I'm still not certain that this is what broke me out, so until I find something better, I'm going to use this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 frobot on 7/28/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by frobot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the absolute worst sunscreen I have ever used. No matter how much I tried, it would not blend into the skin at all! Spent a while vigorously trying to rub it into my face / make it a little less conspicuous, but I had to give up and take all of it off with a paper towel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 noire on 6/7/2011 2:48:00 PM more reviews by noire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product! I had the non-scented version. It went on heavy, but I could tolerate that and it gave me much less breakout than the chemical sunscreens. The biggest problem was that the product had too many balls. It was really difficult to apply. In the end, I had to throw it away after more than 6 months of purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 5/23/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I respect what Badger is trying to do, but they seriously need to work on their formula. The oil is totally separated from the zinc oxide paste. Every time I try to apply it, I end up with an armful of heavy oil, and no actual sunscreen! I have tried it a few times (different bottles) and it ALWAYS does this. I'm giving up. Even if I can get a bit out that is white (not liquid oil), it is so heavy and greasy. Not a problem to occasionally wear on arms & legs, but would never, ever let this stuff go near my face. I can't imagine. It is a horrible break out waiting to happen. The smell is also so strong of oils and shea/cocoa butters it makes me sick after a while. I also cannot imagine wearing this in humid summer heat. And given how oily it is, I think it must rub right off! One thing is good though - they use coated zinc oxide that is NOT nano size, and there are not harmful preservatives. I can feel confident what I am putting on my skin is good for me. I'll finish the bottle, but then I'll look elsewhere for a natural zinc oxide sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CarolynKeene on 5/10/2011 6:26:00 PM more reviews by CarolynKeene

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Considering that this is a physical sunscreen, I found Badger easy to apply and blend, and the white cast faded after a few minutes. Here's what I didn't like: greasier than I expected and way too greasy to use on my face some of the ingredients could lead to clogged pores/acne (olive oil and cocoa butter) something in this made my face feel hot and irritated within minutes of application--maybe the lavender oil? the "Lightly Scented" version has a pretty strong olive oil fragrance (do I want to smell like a bottle of Napoleon's?). I'm using this for my arms and legs only, and won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 maykim on 4/25/2011 10:46:00 AM more reviews by maykim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I had to be honest for the packaging quality on this product. I used it less than a week maybe 3 days AND this one gave me the ginarmous cystic pimple that is still trying to get even bigger. The area this is giving me cystic one is even dry zone for me which is above the laugh line. I have NOT gotten anything like this for years.

I do believe it must be the silicon they say they use to coat the zinc oxide.

So if you are over 30 (or even a teen), please please prepare yourself for a breakout..:((

I almost forgot to mention the horrible horrible ghostly and creepy white cast BADGER 30 does leave, not matter how much you rub. I am thinking if I rub even more I will be taking off all the sunscreen benefits.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eddiecatt on 3/14/2011 4:58:00 PM more reviews by eddiecatt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I took this on my Caribbean vacation recently and found it worked just okay--I did not burn, but I still ended up with a dark tan and lots o' freckles. And I reapplied quite conscientiously (except maybe for one day)! Other than that, even though I got the unscented formula I still found the cocoa butter smell a little overwhelming, especially after lunch. I really appreciate Badger's commitment to natural ingredients and eco-friendly products, but this is a very sticky product that is definitely not for everyday use on the face when moving around a city rather than on the beach! I tried mixing it with my moisturizer to see if it would blend in better--it did eventually disappear into my skin, but not after lots of rubbing and even so it felt greasy and I couldn't wait to wash my face at the end of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geekyn00b on 3/2/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by geekyn00b

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Note edit below.
Been wearing it daily for month and it's been wonderful for cold, bright, and dry city winter weather. I *love* this because it makes me give my face a long, slow and firm massage first thing in the morning. :) Great way to wake up and there's no getting around it -- If I try to quick-swipe it on, it feels very scratchy.

I mix a tiny dab of this in my palm with 1/2 a tsp of Everyday Shea and apply after cleansing, but before I get dressed or have breakfast. That gives it time to settle in.

This tube has no fruit-stuff in it (unless olive oil and seabuckthorne berry count), so maybe that's the reason I'm not seeing some of the problems mentioned here. No white streaks, burning, separation. I'll definitely be wanting something with less oil in the summer, but it's perfect right now.

ETA - this is the 1st natural ss I've used, so I'm not comparing it to my experience with any other brand.

EDIT: two months later and I just can't use this anymore. :( It's too thick for the office and now that the weather's wetter (say it 5 times), this turns to grease and white streaks on my face. I love the feel of this and will keep it for dry and cold, but won't be repurchasing and will continue the hunt for another natural ss that isn't $$.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enotkatya1 on 2/6/2011 3:20:00 PM more reviews by enotkatya1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It is safe sunscreen and according to reviews it is safe. But I don't like it on my face at all. I am like ghost and I got pimples :( Will not buy again, the price is quite a high and the quality is not so good. I believe there is physical sunscreens on the market and they are better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 enixon on 7/22/2010 3:37:00 PM more reviews by enixon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This keeps me from burning and I enjoy both the lightly scented and unscented varieties. The white doesn't rub off on my clothes as often as Burt's Bees did and I'm actually reassured by the traces of white when I don't do a good enough blending job.

Also very moisturizing, which my feet have really appreciated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products