DERMAdoctor • Ain't Misbehavin' cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(49 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Josiehack on 6/29/2010 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Josiehack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have stubborn bumps on my cheeks and chin which have recenlty developed since relocating across the country. I have tried everything and everything is either too harsh or not enough. But I tried this on a whim and so far I am really happy. I have been using this for a couple of days and my bumps are slowly fading and my complexion looks a lot better. Hopefully this products continues to work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelaenparis on 4/19/2010 2:33:00 PM more reviews by angelaenparis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have always suffered from acne starting in my early teens, it seemed to clear up in my 20s but since entering my 30s I have been suffering from cystic acne, especially in the chin area. It seemed like I always had a huge cyst on my face somewhere and once I got it to clear up another one would form. I had been using proactive for years with moderate success but it was no longer doing the job. I would break out especially bad around my period. After one especially bad breakout I wandered into Sephora and asked the SA if she had any recommendations for cystic, hormonal acne. She recommended Dermadoctor. I have been using the cleanser along with the Ain't Misbehavin serum with great results. Just a word of advice though - don't make the mistake I did and use this along with a benzoyl peroxide treatment. - which is what I did when I first started using the product. Benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid mixed together made my face break out like crazy - I thought maybe it was purging but once I eliminated the benzoyl peroxide from my routine my skin cleared up immediately. The best part of this cleanser is that it fades acne scars. I have been using this product for about 6 weeks and most of my scars are gone!! I am almost to the point where I don't have to wear foundation now. The smell of the cleanser isn't that great and it doesn't take off makeup by itself very well (I use Shu Uemera's cleansing oil first) but for the first time in years I have nearly perfectly clear skin!!! I highly recommend especially for hormonal acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 queenbofstyle on 4/1/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by queenbofstyle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Having blackheads that won't go away, and having heard that AHA and BHA are better for blackheads than Salicylic Acid, I decided to try this product. I have been using it for over a month now, and the tube is still more than half full. It may be a little spendy, but you get a HUGE amount that lasts forever, making it comparable in the long term to Neutrogena and others.
When I first started using it, there was the slight tingle that others have mentioned, but after a few uses it stopped.
For the first week there was no change at all, and I almost took it back until I noticed that it was really helping with oilyness. My skin does not get oily anywhere near so fast since I started using this product, and I find it worth the price for that! And my pores have been SLOWLY getting noticeably clearer. Neutrogena NEVER worked this well!
Right now I only use it at night after I take off my makeup, but I may switch to using it twice a day, and I will update my review accordingly. For right now, it is REALLY worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DariaJ on 1/22/2010 11:05:00 AM more reviews by DariaJ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have had blackheads and pimples since 13. There was nothing I could do about them and I felt ugly because of them. As I aged, my skin got worse not better. I used Proactive for a while but it never did anything about the blackheads and it stopped working for the pimples after about 6 mos.

I have been using this product since the summer and I can honestly say it's the first time since puberty that I have had clear skin. Not only do I not break out (even during periods) BUT my blackheads are visibly reduced. There is no other product that I have used that does this. It also makes the blemishes left by pimples lighter and fade faster.

I receive compliments now even though I have uneven skin and a few blemishes from the few pimples that have formed and dried up. My skin is also softer. I also use the sulfur mask once a week and have recently added the microdermabrasion/glycolic scrub twice a week. These products are not for sensitive skin. I have experienced the burning but nothing that has caused me more than momentary discomfort.

If you have been fighting with your skin for a while, this product is worth a try. As far as the creaminess, non-sudsing aspect, you do need another cleanser for removing makeup. And I don't suggest using this twice a day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ooohlalalulu on 10/10/2009 2:39:00 AM more reviews by ooohlalalulu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

FYI - I'm 21, combination skin with a fairly oily T-zone and light acne.

I'm one of those people who have tried just about every type of cleanser, toner, mattifyer, etc to get my skin to stop looking like a teenager's. Most recently, I've used and ultimately thrown out Proactive because it works for a few weeks by drying out your skin, which actually just causes your skin to produce more sebum (oil). I also tried the silver and purple Clean & Clear kit, but it just never seemed to do anything at all for my face. Nothing from Clinique's acne line works either. I've even tried a prescription cleanser called Cleania that smelled absolutely foul and bleached all my towels (not to mention my face!).

SO, when I decided to give this a try, I wasn't expecting much, but have been very pleasantly surprised. I've used it for about 2 months now, and I can confidently say that it is definitely an effective acne control product.I did try another AHA/BHA product at some point, which didn't work, so there's something else in this that does the magic! This unfortunately, does not remove all your makeup, but that's fine because it does a great job of reducing my acne to very rare and barely visible small ones, whereas I used to get fairly large and painful ones that were definitely noticeable. So, it gets a 4 since I can't say my face is 100% blemish free, but it's a HUGE improvement from before this product! My t-zone is still oily, but not as much as before.

I also do have to mention that I also started using a VICHY Normaderm spot treatment a few weeks after starting Dermadoctor for the occasional pimple, but since my overall skin does breakout less, I do think Dermadoctor is doing a pretty decent job.

For $25 at Sephora for a very generous 7oz tube, it's worth the money since it'll last you a while. However, it gets a star off since it doesn't remove makeup very well, so you'll need another cleanser for that.

Bottom line: If you have struggled with combination, oily, or acne prone skin, then definitely give this cleanser a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Noboho on 7/18/2009 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Noboho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a mediocre acne cleanser at best. There are much better ones on the market. I did not enjoy the creamy consistency of this. It also didn't lather well, and during the actual cleansing process, I didn't feel like my skin was getting clean. It managed to prevent any more pimples from forming but didn't do very much for already existing ones. Also this did nothing to control my oiliness. I found I was shiny again within an hour of using this! I also disliked the giant tube packaging. It's too big for a tube product. I always ended up squeezing out more cleanser than I intended to. Some sort of a pump bottle would be far more effective. This is the only DERMAdoctor product I've used and a Sephora SA told me it would be really great for me. AARGH! I now consult Makeupalley before purchasing and making an investment in ANY beauty or skincare product. I have since started using another cleanser but because I hate feeling like I've wasted money, I now use this as a makeup remover. I just put some of this on a cotton ball and sweep it away. This actually is a very good makeup remover. Had this not been a good double for a makeup remover, this cleanser would have been a complete and utter waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 6/1/2009 2:37:00 AM more reviews by rallu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wish i could give it 0 stars. It feels like an oily cream that BURNS my face and doesn't remove any makeup. I don't know why it is called a cleanser...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 klb1223 on 3/23/2009 11:53:00 AM more reviews by klb1223

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm writing what I like to call a pre-review because I have some thoughts on this product and want to share. I have just purchased and have used for 3 days at the writing of this review. So far so good but there are some things I want to comment on.

My history is fair skin, tans easily, combination, hyperpigmentation from pregnancy and thyroid, some clogged pores in t-zone. Not too sensitive and can get some hormonal breakouts.

I was looking for a way to rid myself of the clogged pores/blackheads without having to make an appointment with my dermatologist. I ran across this cleanser and I'm pretty familiar with the brand so I thought I would try it. It has several things to combat clogged pores (or acne if that is your problem) that include salicylic acid, glycolic and lactic acids. Also, after looking at the ingredients, it did not contain any harsh cleansers although it does have parabens if that is an issue for you. It comes in a plastic tube with a flip top which makes it easy to dispense. I spent $25 for a large tube and I only use a very small amount so I think it may be a good value.

First off, I do not consider this a cleanser. It is a cream consistency and I have no problem with cream cleansers that don't foam. that doesn't bother me. However, this product is more like a wash off treatment than anything else. I would not recommend using this at night to remove makeup. leave that to makeup remover or an effective cleanser. Do not get this near your eyes.

The cream have a very medicinal smell and the first time I used it my face stung like crazy. This only happened the first time. This may be too harsh for those of you with very sensitive skin. Like any potent aha or bha product you may have to build up a tolerance. You could try mixing it with a gentle cleanser like Cetaphil in the beginning.

I only use this in the morning as I think any more often would be too much of a good thing. I would recommend that you do not over use any other exfoliating products while you are using this or alternate with this. Over-exfoliation of your skin can cause more damage than good. Too much can actually cause breakouts rather than prevent them.

It may sound like I don't like this but I actually do like it so far. I just think that the title of cleanser may be very misleading for some people. I'll update if I see any remarkable results or negative reactions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carmsf on 1/7/2009 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Carmsf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first started using this cleanser, I noticed how smooth and even toned my skin was. I thought to myself, wow, after all these years, I finally found an acne cleanser that works so well. And no breakouts either. Before this, I used Proactiv, skincare regimens from my dermatologist, G.M. Collin puractiv and MANY MANY others along the way, and NONE of them compares to the glow I get from this cleanser. BUT this is very tricky. Since most acne cleansers are harsh in order to combat the bacteria that clogs pores and forms acne, this cleanser is no exception. Like other reviewers, I did get the burn in the beginning, and even perhaps now, IF you don't follow with the correct toner and or moisturizer with it. I had to find this out the HARD way, a half year battle. Maybe my skin is sensitve, but I found that this cleanser doesn't work too well with skin renewing and anti-aging lotions since the gly. acid exfoliates your skin already, leaving new skin to resurface. So when you apply the lotions mentioned above, there isn't really much to renew, breaking the skin barrier. I found the Calm, Cool and Corrected (which has really bad reviews here, unfortunately) in the same line to be highly compatible with this cleanser. And although the CCC doesn't leave a velvety smooth feeling in the morning like some other moisturizers (Jan Marini's TFG for example), it doesn't break me out and still moisturizes, leaving my skin looking and feeling fresh!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mizztree on 1/2/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by mizztree

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I typically dislike cream cleansers that don't foam up because for some reason, they just leave me feeling less satisfied. That being said, I think this one is pretty good.

I found my skin was more soft with waaay fewer blackheads.

This stuff is pretty harsh as my boyfriend used it and said his face was on fire (I really barely feel a tingle but that's a lot for me to feel too).

EDIT: I got cystic acne while using this stuff. I'm staying far far away from Salicylic Acid from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DERMAdoctor products

More Cleansers products