Dermalogica • Gentle Cream Exfoliant • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(184 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 zetka on 6/13/2013 8:54:00 AM more reviews by zetka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Got a 22 ml sample size on ebay for 10£, which lasted for almost 2 months of regular use 1-2 times per week. I was impressed with my skin texture after first application, it was bright, smooth, fresh looking, pore size reduced. But then it just stopped to work for me. I have expected from this product to fade my acne scarring and pigmentation, but found that lactic acid is not strong enough on my skin, however could be good in long term use. But i could not wait, i needed "immediate results" product. And i FOUND it. It's COLLIN Resultime Clarifying Absorbing Mask with AHA. 50 ml for around 20£, which is cheaper than Dermalogica Gentle Cream exfoliant and IT WORKS. I get angry spots around my chin, when it seems benzoyl peroxide treatment does not work as i need it to, i use Collin mask with AHA, i leave it for 30 min, rinse, and immediately see that spots reduced, not angry looking any more, reduced in size. The next morning i can feel my skin is smooth and bump free, my make up goes on smoothly and it is much easier to cover those almost gone spots, i repeat with mask the same evening applying only on my chin, and the next morning pigmentation for at least 50% faded. I purchased my first tube in March and still half left. Great value, WOW results, absolute must have for me, also used by professionals. I highly recommend to try this mask if you find lactic acid is not working on your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MrsNoir on 4/6/2013 12:09:00 AM more reviews by MrsNoir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

After using this exfoliator, I find that my skin is ultra smooth and soft, and from that, my skin care soaks in better, and my foundation sits on my face so much better!
I love that I'm not scratching the surface of my skin with this exfoliator, and I am absolutely hooked!
I use this mask twice per week - I would use it every day if I could! - and I find that it doesn't irritate my slightly sesitive skin. It actually makes it look much brighter (not lighter) after use too, which is and added bonus!
LOVE it, and will continue to purchase.
EDIT: Last week after purchasing a brand new tube of this product from my local Dermalogica counter, I quickly raced home to use it.
From the minute that I put it onto my cheek area, it started burning. The rest of my face felt a little bit tingly, but my cheeks were über burn-y...eeep!
I washed it off after about 8 minutes - goodness knows why I left it for so long...and when I revealed my 'new' skin, it was very red indeed.
It looked great the next day, and my makeup went on really well, but I could feel it burning throughout the day which was really uncomfortable. That feeling and the redness took a week to go away, but I am still left with some dry patches on my cheeks from where it was red and burned.
I won't be using this for the next month as my skin needs to completely repair itself, and I must say, I am quite scared to use it again at all!!!
Might have to do a test patch just in case...
Watch this space...I'll post once I use it again and let you know the results! Fingers crossed!

*UPDATE:
So I've used this exfoliant about three or four times since the 'incident', and have found it to be much better. My skin has not reacted badly to it, although I have also been very careful not to leave it on for too long - we're talking 7-10 mins tops.
Afterward, my skin is left feeling lovely and smooth, and also looks a lot more even and bright which is just what it needs!
I would recommend this product, but not without a warning!!! If it starts to tingle, it's time to wash it off, no matter how short of a time it has been on!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tcsw on 2/25/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by tcsw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have very dry skin with flaky areas around my mouth, nose and T-zone. Traditional exfoliators only cause more flakes as they are only removing loose flakes and lifting the edges and this somehow manages to smooth out the skin without the abrasive action.
Plus you don't end up with a red face afterwards. The skin on your face is so delicate it makes sense not to sandpaper it down with grainy creams if possible, especially if you already have dry skin and patches of Psoriasis.

I tried many samples before deciding to buy as it is expensive but you only need to use it once or twice a week.
Yes it will not suit everyone but try the sample before you buy (they always advise this and are very generous with them)

It does not make sense to spend that amount of money and complain that it doesn't do anything for you and to discourage other users. It works really well for my skin type.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KaileneDanae on 2/12/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by KaileneDanae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this! The lady at Ulta recommended it to me, and although I choked a bit at the price, the sides of my nose get really flaky during the winter, so I wanted some relief.

Two weeks later (and about six treatments) later, I had absolutely no results. Yes, I was happy I didn't break out or anything, but it did nothing for my dry skin. Luckily, they're really good about returns at Ulta, so I was able to get my money back. I'm still on the hunt for a good exfoliant though........

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mikeswife on 2/8/2013 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Mikeswife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think Dermalogica and I are just incompatible, as this is another of their products that I've tried and can't see what the big deal is.

This is an exfoliators that you apply it to your skin and let it sit for awhile before washing it off. I thought it smelled bad and did an average to below-average job combating dryness or the flakes that always pop up around my nose during winter. I had better luck with Clarins for a wash-off exfoliator, and NeoStrata for a cream leave-on. Between this stuff and the bad experience I had with their Super Rich moisturizer, I think Dermalogica is just not the line for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashlyn13 on 2/4/2013 6:17:00 AM more reviews by Ashlyn13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This does wonders for my congested and sometimes flaky skin. I loathe grainy exfoliants and feel they do more harm than good on my face. I started using this twice a week, putting a thin layer on my face and leaving it on for about 20-30 mins. I find it does reduce the size of pimples (you know those red, inflamed spots). This also fades acne scars and pigmentation, but you have to give it time to work

I've tapered off usage to once per week because I have started using La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo and I'm afraid to irritate my skin too much. My only issue with this is the price as it is expensive for the amount you get.

You should try this out if grainy scrubs or brushes do not work for you or if you have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 12/7/2012 7:10:00 PM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Impressed. I received quite a few samples of this and loved it. Have purchased a full size now.

Its a very mild exfoliant mask, my skin looked brighter and feel smoother after using it. I have very sensitive skin around my eyes and have to be very careful to avoid that area. The first time using this, my skin is alittle wet and the product got near my eye area. My eyelids are irritated for a week. I have to be careful not to use any aha based product near my eye area because the same thing happen after using a aha based cleanser. Now I'll dry my face before applying it and I have not problem.

The only downsize is Dermalogica products are so expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 inkaww on 11/6/2012 4:18:00 AM more reviews by inkaww

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was really excited to try this after my dermatologist recommended it and after I read the reviews here. I just can't notice an improvement. I like the idea that it doesn't have anything to rub your skin but then again I just don't see the results I wanted. I'm disappointed and would've expected something better especially with a product this expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kokosboll on 10/19/2012 9:58:00 AM more reviews by kokosboll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like a lot of other people I got a sample of this product after Lisa Eldridge raved about it in one of her skincare videos. She described her skin as being a lot like mine, as in very prone to congestion. I also get dehydrated skin easily (eg oily even though it's dry), and have a lot of hyperpigmentation from acne on my cheeks. Add to that a fierce aversion to scrubby scrubs and it's probably no surprise I love this stuff.
I use it at night about once a week, a very thin layer for 10 minutes, wash it off and put on loads of coconut oil and moisturiser, go to sleep and wake up looking like a princess.
This exfoliator makes my skin smooth, my congestion at bay, helps to fade hyperpigmentation and evens out my dry/oily skin.
Caution: do NOT use a thick/ish layer, don't leave it on for more than 8-10 mins the first few times, do NOT use it any more than 1-2 times/week, be sure to wipe off any stray dots around your eyes/mouth and use a lot of moisturiser or/and a moisturising mask afterwards. I disobeyed these rules after a few weeks of trying it and my face turned orange (you know, I wanted to "increase the effect" by using more and leaving it on for longer. Bad idea. BAD idea.)

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxhna on 9/23/2012 9:30:00 AM more reviews by xxhna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product after realizing, my skin wasn't as smooth as I wanted it to be. I tried a few samples and loved it. I apply it in the shower and leave it on for ten minutes till I'm done washing or as I'm doing work. It stays put and doesn't drip. My skin is fairly sensitive but this doesn't break me out. I use it about 2x a week. I noticed that if I skip, I have clogs showing up randomly. The only con would be the strange smell. Other than that, I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Treatments (Face) products