Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant

4.1

187 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Diatomaceous Earth, Butylene Glycol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Papain, Bromelain, Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Cetearyl Alcohol, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Magnesium Silicate, Lactic Acid, Sulfur, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract, Citrus Medica Limonium (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Polysorbate 80, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl PCA, Phenoxyethanol, Linalool, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


on 8/19/2013 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received this product as part of a Dry Skin skincare system and thought "Great! A gentle exfoliator for my dry, sensitive skin".

Boy was I wrong.

As per the application instructions, I left it on for the recommended 10-15 minutes (I opted for 10 minutes, just to be safe) and then rinsed it off with warm water. It took this product less than 30 seconds for my face to break out into a hideous red, angry looking allergic rash and also gave me a burning sensation.

I would not recommend this product to anyone with sensitive skin as I think that a lot of the ingredients are rather harsh and abrasive, although it states that they aren't.

I seem to be one of many who have experienced this result after application and rinse-off of this "Gentle" Cream Exfoliant. I think a visit to a dermatologist will be in order very soon! :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is probably my favorite product by Dermalogica. Having worked with the line as an esthetician, I have tried a number of their products, but I find most of them too harsh and irritating for my skin type. I also find physcial scrubs to be not only useless, but way too traumatizing to the skin. I find chemical exfoliants to be much more effective, as they actually penetrate the pores and exfoliate them from inside out. This is a very gentle, yet effective exfoliant in my opinion. It contains some enzymes, AHAs and BHAs, which work together to clear away dead skin. I use this 2-3 times a week at night time and definitely notice a smoother and healthier complexion when I wake up in the morning. When I first apply this, it feels a bit tingy, which is prefectly normal. My skin is dry and even though I'm always trying different products, I always have this little gem on stand-by. For those with dryer skin, make sure to apply a heavier moisturizer afterwards it will not only help to replenish the skin, but you will find that your moisturzier will be so much more effective because it can penetrate deeper without all that dead skin on top. I have recommended this product to my clients with sensitive skin and have seen good results with it.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2013 5:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This chemical exfoliant works by breaking down excess sebum and dead or flaky skin with a combination of lactic acid and fruit-derived AHAs (alpha hydroxy acids, commonly found in citrus fruits and grapes, to name a few). The benefit is an incredibly thorough but surprisingly gentle exfoliating action which also stimulates the production of collagen deep within the skin.

It comes in a squeezy tube which is made from an unspecified recyclable plastic. The cap, however, is not recyclable. The smell is is mild and fairly pleasant - somewhere between soft and fruity, and mildly chemical (which is unsurprising since it is a chemical exfoliant - the clue's in the name). You are advised apply it thinly for 10-15 minutes once to twice per week.

I have been using this twice weekly for 15 minutes for about 6 weeks, and I absolutely love it. The first thing I noticed after my very first application was how I had far fewer blackheads - it was like they had just vanished. My partner then tried it and found the same thing. Over the next 5 or so days my skin did purge a little - I suppose it must have dissolved some plugs and the rest of the backlog was released - so I had a small breakout. But it cleared up quickly, and afterwards my skin was clearer than it had been prior to the breakout.

This exfoliant doesn't just leave your pores unclogged if you use it regularly. It also improves the texture and elasticity. I'm 27 and have been extremely lucky with my skin - there are barely no signs of ageing at all, but after using this exfoliant my skin still somehow looks younger. If I get a spot, they clear up within 24 hours of application and I have found overall that since using this I actually get far, far less spots than ever before. My partner has also found this exfoliant particularly helpful with stubble irritation and he's noticed fewer ingrown hairs.

Excellent product, will forever repurchase. The only thing wrong with it is the ridiculously extortionate price tag.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2013 8:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Got a 22 ml sample size on ebay for 10£, which lasted for almost 2 months of regular use 1-2 times per week. I was impressed with my skin texture after first application, it was bright, smooth, fresh looking, pore size reduced. But then it just stopped to work for me. I have expected from this product to fade my acne scarring and pigmentation, but found that lactic acid is not strong enough on my skin, however could be good in long term use. But i could not wait, i needed "immediate results" product. And i FOUND it. It's COLLIN Resultime Clarifying Absorbing Mask with AHA. 50 ml for around 20£, which is cheaper than Dermalogica Gentle Cream exfoliant and IT WORKS. I get angry spots around my chin, when it seems benzoyl peroxide treatment does not work as i need it to, i use Collin mask with AHA, i leave it for 30 min, rinse, and immediately see that spots reduced, not angry looking any more, reduced in size. The next morning i can feel my skin is smooth and bump free, my make up goes on smoothly and it is much easier to cover those almost gone spots, i repeat with mask the same evening applying only on my chin, and the next morning pigmentation for at least 50% faded. I purchased my first tube in March and still half left. Great value, WOW results, absolute must have for me, also used by professionals. I highly recommend to try this mask if you find lactic acid is not working on your skin.


on 4/6/2013 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

After using this exfoliator, I find that my skin is ultra smooth and soft, and from that, my skin care soaks in better, and my foundation sits on my face so much better!
I love that I'm not scratching the surface of my skin with this exfoliator, and I am absolutely hooked!
I use this mask twice per week - I would use it every day if I could! - and I find that it doesn't irritate my slightly sesitive skin. It actually makes it look much brighter (not lighter) after use too, which is and added bonus!
LOVE it, and will continue to purchase.
EDIT: Last week after purchasing a brand new tube of this product from my local Dermalogica counter, I quickly raced home to use it.
From the minute that I put it onto my cheek area, it started burning. The rest of my face felt a little bit tingly, but my cheeks were über burn-y...eeep!
I washed it off after about 8 minutes - goodness knows why I left it for so long...and when I revealed my 'new' skin, it was very red indeed.
It looked great the next day, and my makeup went on really well, but I could feel it burning throughout the day which was really uncomfortable. That feeling and the redness took a week to go away, but I am still left with some dry patches on my cheeks from where it was red and burned.
I won't be using this for the next month as my skin needs to completely repair itself, and I must say, I am quite scared to use it again at all!!!
Might have to do a test patch just in case...
Watch this space...I'll post once I use it again and let you know the results! Fingers crossed!

*UPDATE:
So I've used this exfoliant about three or four times since the 'incident', and have found it to be much better. My skin has not reacted badly to it, although I have also been very careful not to leave it on for too long - we're talking 7-10 mins tops.
Afterward, my skin is left feeling lovely and smooth, and also looks a lot more even and bright which is just what it needs!
I would recommend this product, but not without a warning!!! If it starts to tingle, it's time to wash it off, no matter how short of a time it has been on!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have very dry skin with flaky areas around my mouth, nose and T-zone. Traditional exfoliators only cause more flakes as they are only removing loose flakes and lifting the edges and this somehow manages to smooth out the skin without the abrasive action.
Plus you don't end up with a red face afterwards. The skin on your face is so delicate it makes sense not to sandpaper it down with grainy creams if possible, especially if you already have dry skin and patches of Psoriasis.

I tried many samples before deciding to buy as it is expensive but you only need to use it once or twice a week.
Yes it will not suit everyone but try the sample before you buy (they always advise this and are very generous with them)

It does not make sense to spend that amount of money and complain that it doesn't do anything for you and to discourage other users. It works really well for my skin type.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2013 7:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to love this! The lady at Ulta recommended it to me, and although I choked a bit at the price, the sides of my nose get really flaky during the winter, so I wanted some relief.

Two weeks later (and about six treatments) later, I had absolutely no results. Yes, I was happy I didn't break out or anything, but it did nothing for my dry skin. Luckily, they're really good about returns at Ulta, so I was able to get my money back. I'm still on the hunt for a good exfoliant though........

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2013 12:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think Dermalogica and I are just incompatible, as this is another of their products that I've tried and can't see what the big deal is.

This is an exfoliators that you apply it to your skin and let it sit for awhile before washing it off. I thought it smelled bad and did an average to below-average job combating dryness or the flakes that always pop up around my nose during winter. I had better luck with Clarins for a wash-off exfoliator, and NeoStrata for a cream leave-on. Between this stuff and the bad experience I had with their Super Rich moisturizer, I think Dermalogica is just not the line for me.


on 2/4/2013 6:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This does wonders for my congested and sometimes flaky skin. I loathe grainy exfoliants and feel they do more harm than good on my face. I started using this twice a week, putting a thin layer on my face and leaving it on for about 20-30 mins. I find it does reduce the size of pimples (you know those red, inflamed spots). This also fades acne scars and pigmentation, but you have to give it time to work

I've tapered off usage to once per week because I have started using La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo and I'm afraid to irritate my skin too much. My only issue with this is the price as it is expensive for the amount you get.

You should try this out if grainy scrubs or brushes do not work for you or if you have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2012 7:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Impressed. I received quite a few samples of this and loved it. Have purchased a full size now.

Its a very mild exfoliant mask, my skin looked brighter and feel smoother after using it. I have very sensitive skin around my eyes and have to be very careful to avoid that area. The first time using this, my skin is alittle wet and the product got near my eye area. My eyelids are irritated for a week. I have to be careful not to use any aha based product near my eye area because the same thing happen after using a aha based cleanser. Now I'll dry my face before applying it and I have not problem.

The only downsize is Dermalogica products are so expensive.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
532 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top