Dermalogica • Gentle Cream Exfoliant • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(181 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 KaileneDanae on 2/12/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by KaileneDanae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this! The lady at Ulta recommended it to me, and although I choked a bit at the price, the sides of my nose get really flaky during the winter, so I wanted some relief.

Two weeks later (and about six treatments) later, I had absolutely no results. Yes, I was happy I didn't break out or anything, but it did nothing for my dry skin. Luckily, they're really good about returns at Ulta, so I was able to get my money back. I'm still on the hunt for a good exfoliant though........

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mikeswife on 2/8/2013 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Mikeswife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think Dermalogica and I are just incompatible, as this is another of their products that I've tried and can't see what the big deal is.

This is an exfoliators that you apply it to your skin and let it sit for awhile before washing it off. I thought it smelled bad and did an average to below-average job combating dryness or the flakes that always pop up around my nose during winter. I had better luck with Clarins for a wash-off exfoliator, and NeoStrata for a cream leave-on. Between this stuff and the bad experience I had with their Super Rich moisturizer, I think Dermalogica is just not the line for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashlyn13 on 2/4/2013 6:17:00 AM more reviews by Ashlyn13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This does wonders for my congested and sometimes flaky skin. I loathe grainy exfoliants and feel they do more harm than good on my face. I started using this twice a week, putting a thin layer on my face and leaving it on for about 20-30 mins. I find it does reduce the size of pimples (you know those red, inflamed spots). This also fades acne scars and pigmentation, but you have to give it time to work

I've tapered off usage to once per week because I have started using La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo and I'm afraid to irritate my skin too much. My only issue with this is the price as it is expensive for the amount you get.

You should try this out if grainy scrubs or brushes do not work for you or if you have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 12/7/2012 7:10:00 PM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Impressed. I received quite a few samples of this and loved it. Have purchased a full size now.

Its a very mild exfoliant mask, my skin looked brighter and feel smoother after using it. I have very sensitive skin around my eyes and have to be very careful to avoid that area. The first time using this, my skin is alittle wet and the product got near my eye area. My eyelids are irritated for a week. I have to be careful not to use any aha based product near my eye area because the same thing happen after using a aha based cleanser. Now I'll dry my face before applying it and I have not problem.

The only downsize is Dermalogica products are so expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 inkaww on 11/6/2012 4:18:00 AM more reviews by inkaww

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was really excited to try this after my dermatologist recommended it and after I read the reviews here. I just can't notice an improvement. I like the idea that it doesn't have anything to rub your skin but then again I just don't see the results I wanted. I'm disappointed and would've expected something better especially with a product this expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kokosboll on 10/19/2012 9:58:00 AM more reviews by kokosboll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like a lot of other people I got a sample of this product after Lisa Eldridge raved about it in one of her skincare videos. She described her skin as being a lot like mine, as in very prone to congestion. I also get dehydrated skin easily (eg oily even though it's dry), and have a lot of hyperpigmentation from acne on my cheeks. Add to that a fierce aversion to scrubby scrubs and it's probably no surprise I love this stuff.
I use it at night about once a week, a very thin layer for 10 minutes, wash it off and put on loads of coconut oil and moisturiser, go to sleep and wake up looking like a princess.
This exfoliator makes my skin smooth, my congestion at bay, helps to fade hyperpigmentation and evens out my dry/oily skin.
Caution: do NOT use a thick/ish layer, don't leave it on for more than 8-10 mins the first few times, do NOT use it any more than 1-2 times/week, be sure to wipe off any stray dots around your eyes/mouth and use a lot of moisturiser or/and a moisturising mask afterwards. I disobeyed these rules after a few weeks of trying it and my face turned orange (you know, I wanted to "increase the effect" by using more and leaving it on for longer. Bad idea. BAD idea.)

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxhna on 9/23/2012 9:30:00 AM more reviews by xxhna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product after realizing, my skin wasn't as smooth as I wanted it to be. I tried a few samples and loved it. I apply it in the shower and leave it on for ten minutes till I'm done washing or as I'm doing work. It stays put and doesn't drip. My skin is fairly sensitive but this doesn't break me out. I use it about 2x a week. I noticed that if I skip, I have clogs showing up randomly. The only con would be the strange smell. Other than that, I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 9/22/2012 1:12:00 PM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

After Lisa Eldridge recommended this in one of her videos, I had to get it. But Iīm a little disappointed. It doesnīt have much of an effect on my skin, except making it a bit softer right after using it. Itīs gentle and doesnīt upset it, and it isnīt perfumed. I appreciate that. But I donīt see a difference in my skin. Wonīt buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mia_8030 on 9/5/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by Mia_8030

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a decent sized sample of the Gentle Cleansing Cream in a Dermalogica skin care kit. I am a bit on the combo - oily side, but needed some TLC for dry and irritated skin. I chose Dermalogica because there is a spa that carries the line on the main floor of the building I work in. I guess you can say I tried out the brand due to laziness : )

The Gentle Cleansing Cream has a strange, chemical like smell (not at all like the herbaceous freshness of other Dermalogica products). It went on like a thicker lotion and I was happy that it did not take much out of the sample tube to coat my face evenly. I did not feel a sting as I applied and allowed the product to sit, but later that evening some areas of my face felt a wee bit tender. After application, I mix a bit of an alcohol free toner with moisturizer and pat the finishing touches of my skincare ritual into my face. My face is brighter after using the Gentle Exfoliating Cream and it has helped a bit with clogged pores and spots. I am happy that I can use this a few times a week. It is quite gentle and effective. Not at all harsh like other AHA or BHA products. *glares at PC and Neostrata*

I have gotten 4 applications of of the sample sized tube and will get one more use before I am out. The product price is $50 Canadian. Will I purchase? YES! Is the price terrible? Not too bad when compared to Neostrata 10-2 AHA/BHA toner (level...whatever the strongest one is) at $30 per (very small) bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rakelpetersen on 8/27/2012 5:33:00 AM more reviews by rakelpetersen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love this produckt! cant say anything but- It works! I use it 1-2 a week and it takes all my dry flaky skin away.. and ti last a looooong time, its pricey BUT i will last you a long long time..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Treatments (Face) products