Clinique Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK

4.4

205 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

isododecane, cyclopentasilosane, polyethylene, barium sulfate, trimethylsiloxysillicate, disteardimonium hectorite, propylene carbonate, lecithin, phenyl trimethicone, ethylehexylglycerin, hydrogenated polyisobutene, methicone. May contain: mica, iron oxides, carmine, titanium dioxide, yellow 5 lake, ultramarines, manganese violet, chromium oxide greens, bismuth oxychloride, ferric ferrocyanide, blue 1 lake, chromium hydroxide green.


on 10/6/2012 2:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was really hoping that this would end my search for the perfect gel eyeliner but I was wrong. It wasn't horrible, but I will not be repurchasing. I liked that it lasted all day, it even hung on through a nap. It also didn't transfer on my eyelids or under-eyes. It is very creamy and did not seem to dry up in the pot (the reason why I don't stick to mac's blacktrack, it gets drier and drier in the pot and eventually tugs when I apply it). I did not like that because it was so creamy it would kind of streak when I applied it, so I would have to put on one "coat" then another to fill in the streaks. The main reason why I don't like it is because it looks more like a muted or washed out black and I like my eyeliner to be really black. As for the brush, its okay in a pinch. I used it just to try it out and it worked, but it made a thicker line and I prefer my own brushes.



on 10/3/2012 6:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I looove this eyeliner. I ran out a few years ago and being the curious makeup addict that I am (and most of us here seem to be!) I tried other raved-about brands - BB, MUFE, MAC - and they didn't compare. This was darker, smoother, and longer-lasting. I remember once I was crying to my friend and she interrupted her consoling of me to comment on how amazing my eyeliner was that it hadn't budged at all! Lol. I need to repurchase this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2012 12:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It didn't last as long as Mac gel eyeliner. I needed an eyeliner that would last for about 8-10 hours since I usually work for that long and do not have any time to reapply my make up or fix any smudges. This gel liner definitely smudge in the inner corner of my eyes and down below my lash line even though I only line on top. The brush it came with is useless. I guess it doesn't work on oily lids. I've tried it with 3 different eye primer and it still smudges (nars, too faced shadow insurance, and urban decay. Guess I'm going back to Mac or possibly try out Bobbi Brown next.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is not a bad eyeliner. The SA told me that it wouldn't fade off - she tried it on my hand and that baby wouldn't budge! She also said it could be used on the waterline. I'm not sure about that though. Anyway, here are my observations:

- It's a bit clumpy and dries easily which can make it difficult to apply. I actually prefer more liquid liners such as the Laura Mercier one which is a powder cake that you have to wet, though that one has other problems. I've reviewed that as well.

- The brush is useless, don't even bother. For one thing, it's too short.

- Now, as far as lasting effect is concerned, it didn't last as long as it did on my hand, probably because my eyelids are super greasy. And when it starts smudging, it looks horrific because it's quite heavily pigmented.

If you don't have oily lids and can keep your fingers off your eyes, it's not a bad product and will last forever. It's good for thick lines and dramatic looks. I now use it to intensify my pencil eyeliner for a deeper and longer-lasting line.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2012 5:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this eyeliner but the little flat brush it comes with is pointless. I apply it using an angled eyeliner brush and it glides on easily. If you are inexperienced at applying liquid eyeliner you may find this a little easier to apply due to the slightly thicker consistency.

It dries quickly, lasts all day, and is easy to remove with waterbased eye make-up remover. A little goes a long way and there is a decent amount in the pot. One of the best value for money products clinique offer.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This was my first HE liner I've ever tried and it's the best liner I've had so far. The price isnt so bad compared to the Bobbi Brown Long Wear Gel Liner, it isn't so expensive ($16 in Canada, $15 in the US). You get a lot of product for that price and it last for months ( I've had mine since March and it's the end of June and I still have a lot of product left!). The only downside with this product is the staying power. Without a primer, this liner would only last a few hours and then it would start to fade. With a primer, it lasts all day. All day. So overall it is a great product and I will buy it again


on 6/19/2012 1:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Bobbi Brown's gel liners for 5 years now. It was the only brand eyeliner I would ever use simply because it was so great! The longevity and color selection were amazing! I used Granite Ink for reference since I like a softer black that's not too harsh.
However I kind of got bored and wanted to try something new. I decided to try Clinique's cream liner and I love it. It is definitely comparable to Bobbi Brown's. The color selection isn't as varied, but Clinique has your standard colors. The lasting power is just as great, as is the pigmentation (last for 12 hrs on me with minimal creasing). Now that I have Clinique's cream liner, I think it might very well be creamier than BB's and does not dry out as fast.


Oh I should also point out that with BB you pay ~$23 for 3g and for Clinique you pay $15 for 5g. At least in the US anyway.

So this will be lasting me a while.

It's a good, solid eyeliner. I would just buy this over any drugstore brand. Because $15 for 5g of fantastic product is better than say, $7-9 for mediocre eyeliner (Maybelline's eye studio? Yeah that stuff is crap).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2012 12:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG eyeliner; never ever will I stop using this. It soo pigmented and is a true rich black! It stays put all day, doesn't budge when it's dry. Let me tell you, before I even bought this I initially wanted to buy MAC's fluidline instead, but then after doing some research, everyone complained about how the MAC dried up after time. I've had my Clinique for some time now and it hasn't dried at all since I first got it. Also, the MAC one is more pricier and has less product than the Clinique! So go with the Clinique, in the end you'll be glad you did! I use mine everyday and I plan on repurchasing this until they stop making this!


on 6/13/2012 6:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Very rich pigmentation (a deeper black than my Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner). Very smooth and creamy consistency, applies like butta', which also makes it good for smudgy, smoky eye looks.


Cons: Takes a while to dry and set due to the creaminess. I am used to the drier consistency of my Bobbi Brown eyeliner, so I found it a bit annoying if I happened to accidentally smudge a line. (Again, however, this makes it good for certain looks). Also, this doesn't last past a few hours on me. Granted, I have very oily lids, but the smudging is just ridiculous on me, and I end up with panda eyes too quickly.


I wanted to love this, as the color payoff is amazing, but I'll stick to Bobbi Brown's long-wear gel eyeliner as it mostly lasts the whole day for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2012 9:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this years ago and although its a little stiff it's still going strong. It comes with a tiny brush - a nice gesture. But this applies way better with an actual liner brush. The formula is creamy and very pigmented. I find this easy to apply whether it be a thick winged look or a bit of definition for an everyday look. The best part about this product is that it is budge-proof! It won't smudge or melt away. It beats quite a few "waterproof" gel liners for staying power, even though I don't think it claims to be waterproof. I like the packaging for this product. Just a simple pot with a screw on lid. I will easily be able to use up the last little bit.
Summary: great staying power, very pigmented
There is nothing I don't like about this. This is worth the few extra bucks. Definitely repurchase!


Back to Top