Joico • Moisture Recovery • Shampoo

rated 4.1(72 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlameDancer on 7/12/2012 7:54:00 AM more reviews by FlameDancer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy Grail At Last!!!


My hair was over processed to the point where I had dry, kinky, crunchy straw at the end of each strand, making me look about 20 years older than I am, at least. If you've ever futzed with bleach, color removers, or just way too much hair dye and heat processing, you know what I'm talking about. I tried more protein, and that made it worse, so I started a regimen of clarifying shampoo, followed by Aussie 3 Minute Miracle or Neutrogena's Triple Moisture mask, and it improved, but not by very much. Having a terrible texture makes your color look terrible on top of everything else, so I was using yet more hair dye in some attempt to look even normal. Vicious cycle.


Then I found this shampoo and the mask. Holy Grail status. These products do also contain protein (like all the Joico products), so I wasn't sure if I'd just make my problem worse, but I was at my wit's end. This gamble paid off, because after one treatment, there is NO MORE crunchy straw holding on for dear life to the ends of my hair. The combo softened and moisturized my hair like nothing else, and left it clean and lightweight.


A few notes:

Texture:

They really paid attention to market research with the whole texture and feel of this stuff. It's a pale, creamy pearlescent blue color, and it's got a soft, creamy lather that feels like you're washing your hair with silky chenille foam. leaves your hair feeling clean and soft.


Smell:

Smells like a mermaid. Salty ocean air, seaweed, and maybe a hint of cucumber and musk. A subtle smell, and not ozonic or chemical like a typical Cool Water scent, but neither fruity, floral, or sweet like most of the hair and body products out now. Doesn't particularly linger.


Result:

Silky smooth. It feels stronger and the frizz is GONE, but my hair's not weighed down at all. I add a serum to weigh it down, actually, because at its current length, the ends need a little weight. Because the texture is so much better, my color looks a lot better, too. It doesn't have mirror shine or anything, but its natural sheen has come back -- this line has just basically turned the clock back on my hair by about 10 years.


I'm in love with this stuff. It's worth every penny, and performs better than anything I've used at any price, from Kerestase to Aussie. I'm ready to become a loyalist to this line.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xac83 on 6/17/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by xac83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Bottom line .... if you bleach/lighten your hair from a level 4 to blonde .. you need this shampoo, this is my hg for a gental not too moisturizing but just enought to keep my hair very healthy. anothher amazing joico product i cant live without

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tscheer1103 on 6/10/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by tscheer1103

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This Shampoo is great, it leaves my hair so soft. I have dry damaged hair from dying it blonde, and this is the only shampoo that i have used that doesn't leave my hair dry. The smell is also nice and stayed in my hair all day. Sometimes you can find this and the matching conditioner at places like marshals or tj maxx at a much cheaper price, which is defiantly a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hnrenfro on 2/29/2012 11:55:00 PM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ive recently been comming across reviews on makeupally that are VERY surprizing to me, my aunt has been Hairdresser/Beautician for 40years so i always go to beauty stores where you HAVE to show ur cosmetology lisence to buy the hair products. i was MORTIFYED yesterday when i was at ulta looking at Joicos liters and regular sized items even tho they are the same color bottles there old product. ON THE BOTTLES OF JOICO I BUY WITH MY AUNT THERE IS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS a JOICO recycles and green earth emblem PRINTED ON THE FRONT OF THE BOTTLE NEXT TO THE molectular protien levels. this emblem was NOT ON THE BOTTLES at ulta or even some stores in the mall THAT MEANS THAT PRODUCT IS OVER 2YEARS OLD!!!!! please becareful when buying professional products even if you think ur gettting good things for your hair you have no idea how old it is. the new revitaluxe treatment is the only new joico item that ive seen that doesnt have the little recycle earth emblem printed on the front. on to the review I LOVE this shampoo keeps my hair moisturized and i use in conjunction with my all time fav shampoo by redken the real control shampoo smells amazing( that is the only redken product i consistantly buy because it doesnt make my hair fall out in the shower) Also i use Kenra moisturizing conditioner for YEARS i know exactly what it looks and smells like if its OLD it will look pearly foamy creammy white and smell HEAVLY LIKE COCONUTS the REAL KENRA moisturizing conditioner is a veryyy creamy light yellowish color NOT WHITE and it melts into your hair you can tell the difference. and the smell is light coconutt but not as strong as others. i also see these PIRATED hair products at target omg -____- i cant belive ppl are getting away with ripping off these namebrands ive used alot of salon products so i know what there supposed to look and smell. i saw pureology hydrate at target.... i open it up and its a CLEAR SHAMPOO!!!!!!!!!!!! ARE YOU SERIOUSLY KIDDING ME>?>??? pureology hydrate is PURPLE!!! ! i KNOW THAT FOR A FACT and smells like herbs this shamppoo smelled like strawberrys but it was CLEARLY in a pureology labled bottle and looked just like the ones at ulta .... i cant belive how companys get away with this. so KEEP IN MIND WHEN YOU SEE ALOT OF GOOD REVIEWS for a good product you know and love then you see the few bad ones they probably got a damaged/old expired product. or it just didnt work for there hair type. just remember consider the source (: have a great day loves hope i helped ( BTW the joico bottles have had this recylce plant logo on the bottles of shampoo/conditioner/treatments for 2years now so if urs DOESNT HAVE IT its old product, it will show a picture little emblem of a windmiell and it says joico.com gogreen next to the protien weights) i will post a picture in the joicomoisture shampoo window thingy for you guys (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 metisroyalty on 2/20/2012 3:54:00 AM more reviews by metisroyalty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is thick, wavy and dry from the seemingly endless winter months. I had been using Head & Shoulders for the past 6 months due to awful dandruff which I attributed to our town's very hard water. I happened to see a litre sale in a salon store with the Joico products on sale for $34.99 - $43.99 for the shampoo and conditioner sets, so I decided I would pick up a set to give my hair better treatment. The Moisture Recovery set came up to $36 with tax which is reasonable for the amount of product. Regular price of the litre sets are anywhere from $50 - $100
First of all, I loved the smell. It smells fresh and light, something I prefer to overpowering floral or perfumed scents. The woman in the store suggested I use Moisture Recovery as my hair would definitely benefit from what the product offers to do. Once I got home I tried the shampoo and I immediately felt my purchase was worth it. The first wash, there is little to no lathering, but once you rinse and repeat, there is a lot of foam and gentle cleaning. It rinsed clean from my hair. I find that the pump distributes a very precise amount, but I think two applications are necessary with this shampoo. All in all I think I made a wise choice in buying this particular type from Joico. I am enjoying soft and smooth hair that smells great and looks healthier already.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 crazytlccool on 1/19/2012 9:00:00 PM more reviews by crazytlccool

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got the huge bottle of this...boy was it a mistake! Just for reference, I have thick poofy hair with lots of natural waves. I need a shampoo that is non-volume, even anti-volume if you can believe it haha! Despite people's complaints that this shampoo weighed down their hair, I figured that's what I needed anyway. Get the stuff, use it in the shower, and I can feel right away as I am washing that it feels like I am ADDING gunk to my hair if anything! It doesn't even suds until the second time washing. As my hair drys, it looks greasy and weight down/flat at the top...the rest of my hair has these annoying fly aways. I used it for the week, needing to wash my hair everyday instead of every other day, and it didn't get any better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Syrie on 1/15/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by Syrie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've never written a shampoo review because I am usually so underwhelmed by shampoos in general...usually, for me, they're either too drying (in the case of most sulfate ones) or they don't really cleanse (in the case of sulfate-free ones). This is by far the only shampoo that's ever worked so well for me that I would feel compelled to write a review.

For one, I LOVE the scent. Clean, ocean-y (and I am a sucker for those mid-90s "ocean" type scents like Escape)--this reminds me most of that. I love the smell--which is NOT overwhelming, just nice. (so many hair products are really overwhelmingly scented, even when the scent is pleasant--Garnier Fructis, are you listening????)

Second, my hair has been just awesome since I started using this. For reference, I have damaged, dry, fine hair that I am repairing from heavy highlights/ bleach. I have a ton of hair, but it's very fine--a lot of things just weigh it down & make it look tacky and greasy.

Third, I use this in conjunction with Joico K-Pak Intense Hydrator (which is also INCREDIBLE!!!!) and about once a week (sometimes 2X, I am nursing my formerly bleached hair back to health) I follow this shampoo with K-Pak classic deep-penetrating reconstructor, followed by the intense hydrator.

My hair hasn't felt so great--and so light (I can't stress that enough!!! not weighed down by -cones) in years! THanks Joico...your products and research are awesome. You really treat hair as something as sensitive as skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* camilla8 on 11/23/2011 10:52:00 AM more reviews by camilla8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first started using this shampoo/cond I didn't think it was anything fantastic, but it certainly did nothing bad. I took a break from it for a long while, then found it in my cabinet and decided to finish it. For some reason now I'm loving it, it makes my hair smell so good (nice scent all day long) and I generally have good hair days when I use this. Doesn't dry my hair at all and does help maintain moisture. Will repurchase, I'm almost out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 8/18/2011 7:26:00 AM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE Sept 13, 2011: Ok, the lack of hair loss has continued. Not always, but a lot more than ever before. I'm talking 0 to less than 10 strands in the drain (how is that even possible!?). Also, rinse and repeat or forget using it at all.


PROS: Originally I thought this was a pretty basic shampoo with no special qualities, except that this I lose a TON less hair in the shower. I don't have damaged hair and my hair has never broken off/fallen out, but in the shower, a lot just naturally comes out, all the loose hairs just get dislodged. I thought the less hair loss was maybe the Vitamin D that I started a month before I used this but read that Vitamin D usually takes effect in 3 months. Also, I didn't notice less hair loss till the first wash with this stuff. Worth mentioning no matter what the cause was. Now I lose little to almost NO hair in the shower. Since then I've discovered this shampoo actually works really well, provided that you follow the instructions: later, rinse, REPEAT. You must repeat. I was afraid of dryness but the shampoo is gentle, so much that with one lather/rinse only my hair would be left dry because it was not properly cleaned, so I started doing it twice with much better results. I also don't really "wash" my hair with it, I mostly concentrate on my scalp. The second wash makes HUGE body wash like foam and feels like overkill, it works.


CONS: Not sure if it really moisturizes hair, but it just doesn't leave it feeling raw or super dry. And since I need to lather, rinse, and repeat I will use it up faster.


OVERALL: I'm sticking with it. I might actually buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jntshu on 7/29/2011 11:57:00 PM more reviews by jntshu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

packaging: functional, no complaints. a pump would have been MORE convenient but meh.
price: alright for a salon shampoo, however drugstore shampoos do the same job.
product: i expected this to nourish and salvage my dry, damaged hair however the result i got was only mediocre. it did no damage but considering joico's reputation and better drugstore shampoos that i've tried, this one isn't a big winner :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products