Joico • Moisture Recovery • Shampoo

rated 4.1(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 1/3/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is ok. I used to work for the company that distributed this in my city so I'm very familiar with Joico and what their products are. This shampoo smells good, and does a decent job of cleaning, but that's about it. Overall, I find that I need 2 shampoos to get a lather, and then it doesn't really moisturize as much as I need it to. The biggest CON for me is that it isn't safe for colored hair. Which I have. So I'll be moving on when this bottle is done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lls4f on 12/13/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by lls4f

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is worth every penny! My hair is wavy and dry and fuzzy/frizzy on its own when I use drugstore shampoos on it. This product makes my hair shiny, silky, and bouncy. It smells divine (I often skip perfume because I love the way my hair smells so much that I don't want to cover it up!), lathers well for a sulfate free product, and feels wonderful when you rinse out. After shampooing, my hair feels soft and silky. I follow it up with the Moisture Recovery conditioner or the K Pak Intense Hydrator (use that one about once a week)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ironwoman01 on 11/3/2012 6:33:00 PM more reviews by ironwoman01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love joico products! I use this in conjunction with the conditioner and it seriously transforms my hair everytime I use it. I have coarse, damaged, color treated hair that's dry, so moisture is very important for it. I always notice a difference after I use these two products. Scent is clean and not overpowering. I think this shampoo by itself is average, but paired with the conditioner makes it a fantastic combo. Ever since I started used joico products, I get so much more compliments on my hair. It definitely doesn't look as dry and it feels a lot smoother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lsquires12 on 10/17/2012 2:30:00 PM more reviews by lsquires12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG, finally a shampoo I can picture myself repurchasing! I have dry, coarse hair with damage from heat styling, and I have tried Kerastase, AG, Biolage, Redken, Wen, and Dove (my favorite on this list, believe it or not), to name a few. None have been moisturizing enough to repair or prevent damage and split ends, and most have made my hair feel weighed down. This shampoo, along with the conditioner, has noticeably improved the health of my hair. My stylist, who lives and breathes Kerastase, commented on how much healthier my hair was when I got it cut last week. Equally awesome, it doesn't leave my hair feeling heavy or coated, but rather light and manageable. It lathers nicely and has a light, fresh scent. Overall great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 8/21/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this today and I loved it. I had tried the Kenra moisturizing shampoo/conditioner and it left my hair feeling dry and damaged. I gave it to my mom and she loved it. Anyway went and got this in the liter duo and loved the smell and the way it left my hair....soft, shiny, manageable not frizzy or flat. It's wonderful!!! I recommend it! My hair is normal but tends to get dry when I use my hot tools often like flat iron, curling wand etc. A+++++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlameDancer on 7/12/2012 7:54:00 AM more reviews by FlameDancer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy Grail At Last!!!


My hair was over processed to the point where I had dry, kinky, crunchy straw at the end of each strand, making me look about 20 years older than I am, at least. If you've ever futzed with bleach, color removers, or just way too much hair dye and heat processing, you know what I'm talking about. I tried more protein, and that made it worse, so I started a regimen of clarifying shampoo, followed by Aussie 3 Minute Miracle or Neutrogena's Triple Moisture mask, and it improved, but not by very much. Having a terrible texture makes your color look terrible on top of everything else, so I was using yet more hair dye in some attempt to look even normal. Vicious cycle.


Then I found this shampoo and the mask. Holy Grail status. These products do also contain protein (like all the Joico products), so I wasn't sure if I'd just make my problem worse, but I was at my wit's end. This gamble paid off, because after one treatment, there is NO MORE crunchy straw holding on for dear life to the ends of my hair. The combo softened and moisturized my hair like nothing else, and left it clean and lightweight.


A few notes:

Texture:

They really paid attention to market research with the whole texture and feel of this stuff. It's a pale, creamy pearlescent blue color, and it's got a soft, creamy lather that feels like you're washing your hair with silky chenille foam. leaves your hair feeling clean and soft.


Smell:

Smells like a mermaid. Salty ocean air, seaweed, and maybe a hint of cucumber and musk. A subtle smell, and not ozonic or chemical like a typical Cool Water scent, but neither fruity, floral, or sweet like most of the hair and body products out now. Doesn't particularly linger.


Result:

Silky smooth. It feels stronger and the frizz is GONE, but my hair's not weighed down at all. I add a serum to weigh it down, actually, because at its current length, the ends need a little weight. Because the texture is so much better, my color looks a lot better, too. It doesn't have mirror shine or anything, but its natural sheen has come back -- this line has just basically turned the clock back on my hair by about 10 years.


I'm in love with this stuff. It's worth every penny, and performs better than anything I've used at any price, from Kerestase to Aussie. I'm ready to become a loyalist to this line.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xac83 on 6/17/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by xac83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Bottom line .... if you bleach/lighten your hair from a level 4 to blonde .. you need this shampoo, this is my hg for a gental not too moisturizing but just enought to keep my hair very healthy. anothher amazing joico product i cant live without

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tscheer1103 on 6/10/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by tscheer1103

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This Shampoo is great, it leaves my hair so soft. I have dry damaged hair from dying it blonde, and this is the only shampoo that i have used that doesn't leave my hair dry. The smell is also nice and stayed in my hair all day. Sometimes you can find this and the matching conditioner at places like marshals or tj maxx at a much cheaper price, which is defiantly a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hnrenfro on 2/29/2012 11:55:00 PM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ive recently been comming across reviews on makeupally that are VERY surprizing to me, my aunt has been Hairdresser/Beautician for 40years so i always go to beauty stores where you HAVE to show ur cosmetology lisence to buy the hair products. i was MORTIFYED yesterday when i was at ulta looking at Joicos liters and regular sized items even tho they are the same color bottles there old product. ON THE BOTTLES OF JOICO I BUY WITH MY AUNT THERE IS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS a JOICO recycles and green earth emblem PRINTED ON THE FRONT OF THE BOTTLE NEXT TO THE molectular protien levels. this emblem was NOT ON THE BOTTLES at ulta or even some stores in the mall THAT MEANS THAT PRODUCT IS OVER 2YEARS OLD!!!!! please becareful when buying professional products even if you think ur gettting good things for your hair you have no idea how old it is. the new revitaluxe treatment is the only new joico item that ive seen that doesnt have the little recycle earth emblem printed on the front. on to the review I LOVE this shampoo keeps my hair moisturized and i use in conjunction with my all time fav shampoo by redken the real control shampoo smells amazing( that is the only redken product i consistantly buy because it doesnt make my hair fall out in the shower) Also i use Kenra moisturizing conditioner for YEARS i know exactly what it looks and smells like if its OLD it will look pearly foamy creammy white and smell HEAVLY LIKE COCONUTS the REAL KENRA moisturizing conditioner is a veryyy creamy light yellowish color NOT WHITE and it melts into your hair you can tell the difference. and the smell is light coconutt but not as strong as others. i also see these PIRATED hair products at target omg -____- i cant belive ppl are getting away with ripping off these namebrands ive used alot of salon products so i know what there supposed to look and smell. i saw pureology hydrate at target.... i open it up and its a CLEAR SHAMPOO!!!!!!!!!!!! ARE YOU SERIOUSLY KIDDING ME>?>??? pureology hydrate is PURPLE!!! ! i KNOW THAT FOR A FACT and smells like herbs this shamppoo smelled like strawberrys but it was CLEARLY in a pureology labled bottle and looked just like the ones at ulta .... i cant belive how companys get away with this. so KEEP IN MIND WHEN YOU SEE ALOT OF GOOD REVIEWS for a good product you know and love then you see the few bad ones they probably got a damaged/old expired product. or it just didnt work for there hair type. just remember consider the source (: have a great day loves hope i helped ( BTW the joico bottles have had this recylce plant logo on the bottles of shampoo/conditioner/treatments for 2years now so if urs DOESNT HAVE IT its old product, it will show a picture little emblem of a windmiell and it says joico.com gogreen next to the protien weights) i will post a picture in the joicomoisture shampoo window thingy for you guys (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 metisroyalty on 2/20/2012 3:54:00 AM more reviews by metisroyalty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is thick, wavy and dry from the seemingly endless winter months. I had been using Head & Shoulders for the past 6 months due to awful dandruff which I attributed to our town's very hard water. I happened to see a litre sale in a salon store with the Joico products on sale for $34.99 - $43.99 for the shampoo and conditioner sets, so I decided I would pick up a set to give my hair better treatment. The Moisture Recovery set came up to $36 with tax which is reasonable for the amount of product. Regular price of the litre sets are anywhere from $50 - $100
First of all, I loved the smell. It smells fresh and light, something I prefer to overpowering floral or perfumed scents. The woman in the store suggested I use Moisture Recovery as my hair would definitely benefit from what the product offers to do. Once I got home I tried the shampoo and I immediately felt my purchase was worth it. The first wash, there is little to no lathering, but once you rinse and repeat, there is a lot of foam and gentle cleaning. It rinsed clean from my hair. I find that the pump distributes a very precise amount, but I think two applications are necessary with this shampoo. All in all I think I made a wise choice in buying this particular type from Joico. I am enjoying soft and smooth hair that smells great and looks healthier already.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products