MAC • 4 Sweetie Cakes Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.9(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 eisdamme on 4/27/2006 1:19:00 PM more reviews by eisdamme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was definitely a victim of the hype, and purchased this quad as soon as I could get my hands on it. The reviews definitely put me off, and I expected to be seriously underwhelmed when I finally recieved it. But. I'm actually really pleased with this. I'm very pale, a little lighter than NW15/NC15 (though I can wear both) -- so I think this is why the colours show up so well on me. It's definitely not as bright as it looks in the adverts, but against pale skin there's quite a contrast. I didn't get a chalky feel from any of the shadows, and I find myself reaching for this as much as I hoped I would. I'm glad I got a backup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sushiiflower on 4/23/2006 5:52:00 PM more reviews by sushiiflower

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered this quad right when Sweetie Cake came out on the website. There were no reviews for this product as yet -- and to be honest, if I had read the reviews before the purchase, I probably would have passed on this quad, as it does not seem to be a favorite amongt the majority. Now that I have the quad in my possession, I am glad I did not pass up on the chance to own this quad. It is not as bright as I thought it would be compared to the promo pictures. And perhaps you can find sister colors to match the colors in this quad, but I love muted colors and this quad was almost perfect for me.


Here is a break down of what I thought:



Almond Icing (frost) If I didn't know better, I would say this is a dead ringer for vex eyeshadow! I really like this as a highlight color.



Gateaux (frost) Not a unique color, but very frosty pale pink! I was not a fan of this color as it didn't work that well on my skin. It kind of looked a bit ashy and frosty pale whitish color, not the like the pink in the pan. I did use this in the crease and inner eye area and it did brighten up the area but I could not use this on my lid. Way too frosty for my GGG/C40 skintone. I think this would look better on PPP's or similar. I would not purchase this color if it was sold separately.



Sugar Blue (velvet) I am surprised a lot of people are calling this chalky! To me, it is a very muted blue color, if you are looking for bright, skip this. I love the muted blue and it works SO well with Demi-Sweet! I love this color in my inner lid and demi-sweet on the outer. It looks very sweet, soft and feminine. I love it! I use my 222 brush to apply this and I haven't had any problems with it so far.



Demi-Sweet (satin) This is a really hard color to describe. It's almost similar to trax, but much more wearable on my skin. It's very soft and not bright at all. This color was the reason I wanted this quad.



Overall, I like this quad & I think it's a nice investment for subtle colors. I think the colors in this quad are more cool toned than warm and for that reason I suspect this may not work for a lot of skin tones. Lucky for me, despite my GGG skin, I am more cool toned than warm. So definitely try before you buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 irememberaurora on 4/22/2006 1:40:00 PM more reviews by irememberaurora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

ADORE this quad! All of the colors are beautiful, once you get the hang of them. My only semi-complaint was that Sugar Blue could've been a tad brighter. Now that I'm used to the color, I can make it work and love it, but at first it looked like mud!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spuds9092 on 4/21/2006 10:37:00 AM more reviews by spuds9092

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

This palette doesn't look like anything when you see it in print but when I saw it in person it looks a lot prettier. I don't wear a ton of purples because my eyes are deep set and most purples look like I have a black eye, but this one doesn't. All of the colors are very wearable and my favorite is Almond Icing (hopefully they will have this color in their regular line-up.) I'm not going to repeat what the others wrote but take a look at it, you won't be dissappointed buying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lilo1013 on 4/18/2006 3:54:00 AM more reviews by Lilo1013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is quad is certainly a far stretch from my usual dark hues such as my #1 favorite inventive quad. So when i saw this at the store, i thought... nah... i'll end up returning it. Well, after visiting a few other MAC counters later (about 5 in 2 days!), i finally broke down and purchased the darned thing! i adore Demi-Sweet. and i own ALOT of purple eyeshadow. I love the texture of all four eyeshadows. Despite talks about Sugar Blue being chalky, i used a primer (paints) and the blue showed up as beautifully as possible! I use the blue in the inner corners and Demi Sweet on the outer and blend it with Almond Icing and it looks pretty awesome! Its easy to make this quad work and look flawless. i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hiyashinsu on 4/18/2006 3:15:00 AM more reviews by hiyashinsu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I wouldn't like these colors, until I actually wore them. They're all beautiful, and you can do lots of different looks. The grey one, Almond Icing, looks like Vex in the pot, but surprise! It doesn't look ugly when applied! Sorry, but IMO, Vex is the ugliest e/s on the planet, and it makes most people I've seen it on look dead. Almond Icing is everything Vex should have been. The pink shade, Gateaux, is really nothing spectacular, just another MAC pink. The blue shade, Sugar Blue, is pretty unique. It's a baby blue, with pink frost. I usually can't work blues, but this one has just a bit of green to it, so I think that helps. The dark plummy color is Demi-Sweet. It's a crease color, pretty nice, but I haven't used it that much so far. All in all, these are fantastic colors, and I wish that Almond Icing and Sugar Blue were permanent colors, because they're lovely and unique. MAC could use more colors like that. If this weren't LE, I'd buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laundale on 4/17/2006 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Laundale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Easter in a palette! This was my first thought upon purchasing this Quad. I wore it on Easter and to work the next day. It is simply beautiful. The colors are smooth, well-pigmented for its design and concept, but I think some of the previous color comparisions are not correct. First of all - DemiSweet is nothing like Nocturnelle or Trax, those both being darker and their formula not nearly as smooth and soft. If I had to pick a dupe, it would be Shale or Flirty Number. Gateux is also very smooth and wearable, similar to Pink Freeze, without as much frost. Sugar Blue is beautiful in the pan, and also pretty on, albeit, without the red sparkle you see in pan. I couldn't pick a dupe, and certainly wouldn't recommend Aquadisiac, which is lighter and frostier. Almond Icing is also great, definiately resembles Vex but is prettier and flashes pink, a great duo-chrome. All in all, this is a great purchase and well worth your money. Get it while you still can, I am considering a backup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 honey_lust on 4/17/2006 11:40:00 AM more reviews by honey_lust

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

After looking at so many disappointing swatches for the Sweetie Cake quad, I was iffy about purchasing it. Went to the MAC counter on the release date, quickly swatched it, looked pretty enough and thought "to hell with it" and just bought it.
The first time I tried it out I was sooo pleased. I really love this quad, all the colours look great together and majority of them are easy to blend (I've only tried Sugar Blue once and had a hard time :P). Sure, they may be similar to other eyeshadows, but lucky for me I didn't have any of them so this was really a great buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amby069 on 4/14/2006 1:48:00 PM more reviews by amby069

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I'm not impressed with this quad. Its just ehhhh.. I actually did a color swatch of some older colors next to the quad colors and this is what I came up with.
The lightest color Almond Icing is almost exactly like vex (I prefer vex to be honest)
The pink color Gateaux is a version of Phloof or pink freeze.
The aqua color Sugar Blue is GOD AWEFUL! Chalky!!! the only color I can compare it to would be Aquadisiac, but without the Lustre, but not NEARLY as pretty!
The Dark purple Demi Sweet is the only half decent color in the quad but it looks like Nocturnalle and/or Trax when applied to the skin.
If you have any of the above colors I wouldn;t bother with this palette and even if you dont have them I would suggest going to the Pro store and making a palette with these other colors instead. Mine is going back to MAC.
UPDATE: So I tried to give this palette another shot, and I still hate it! Still stand by what I said, so many better duplicates that are already in the MAC line. TOTALLY disagree that Demi sweet looks like Shale or Flirty Number which have more of a GRAY toned purple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MAConlyplease on 4/13/2006 10:15:00 PM more reviews by MAConlyplease

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My only complaint is the Sugar Blue. It's too sheer IMO and just...ehh. I don't know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products