Sukí Suki Pure Facial Moisture - Balancing

3.8

45 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

organic jojoba (simmondsia chinensis), sunflower (helianthus annus), grapeseed (vitis vinifera), rice germ (oryza sativa), borage seed (borago officinalis) & hazelnut (corylus americano) oils, 100% natural non-gmo vitamin e (tocopherol), organic calendula (calendula officinalis), lavender (lavandula angustifolia), chamomile (anthemis nobilis), echinacea (echinacea purpurea) & rose (rosa canina) extracts, aroma (pure premium steam distilled essential oil)


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My oily, very acne-prone skin seems to do well with straight jojoba oil (less redness, better tone, and reduced oiliness), so I thought that this would work even better, since it is jojoba-oil based. No such luck. No matter how little I applied (I followed the directions and gently patted a drop or two over my face while it was still slightly damp from Suki toner), this stuff turned my face into an oil slick that was a breeding ground for big nasty cystic pimples. Plus, as others have mentioned, the scent is quite strong. Straight jojoba oil not only works better to normalize oil, but smells better, and is WAY cheaper. Save your money on this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/14/2008 10:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this product for nearly a week now and I am not seeing any major results. I'm not sure how long this product will take for me to actually see results. None of my pimples are actually going away but I'm pretty sure this does not cause any major breakouts so far. I've started developing 2 or 3 blackheads on my cheeks and chin. I am going to try finishing this product and see if my overall complexion will improve. I really want to love this product.


on 10/1/2008 10:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i absolutely love this product!! like others, i was very skeptical at first since it is oil based and i have been dealing with breakouts...i was amazed at the difference within using this product for only a few days. my skin feels nourished and relaxed. definately a keeper :)


on 9/4/2008 6:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like a lot of other reviewers of this product, I was very hesitant to apply oil to my already oily, acne-prone skin. Suki's Anti-inflammatory starter kit was recommended to me on the Gorgeously Green website and almost everyone who posted recommended her products for acne-prone skin, so I decided to give the kit a try.

For some reason, I took to the serum and used the tiny vial within 2 days. I immediately ran out and bought the full-sized bottle. It soaked into my skin beautifully, I didn't wake up greasy (I only use it as a night moisturizer since I use moisturizer with sunscreen during the day), and I swear the smell of the serum helped me sleep better at night :) My skin was also radiant when I woke up in the morning (yes, I did use the Lemongrass cleanser and toner in conjunction with the serum). I (carefully) pump one or two drops, rub it in my hands and then spread it all over my face right after I use the toner. Excellent!

What I love about this is it DOESN'T break me out and EVERYTHING breaks me out! This is so light and wonderful! A little goes a long way and sometimes if I squirt out too much, I just put it on my cuticles or elbows, but I find I don't have to use huge globs of it to cover my face. Sometimes for daytime I use it around my eyes and I admit I do it just to be able to smell it :)

I am in love with Suki's whole line and will continue to use this. My only complaint is I don't like the pump feature for the serum because I find it leaks, and I am always afraid I will glob out too much product, but she just re-did the packaging and now it is in a dropper, so maybe that will be better. :)

UPDATE: I still love this, but I started using it in the summer when my skin needed less moisture at night. Now that it is cooling off, I need a little more, so I have combined it with the Suki Balancing Day Lotion (formerly Velvet Facial Cream) and it works great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A nice product, but one suited for someone younger than me :(


on 6/28/2008 10:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have been using three different Suki products for about two months now: the lemongrass cleanser, chamomile facial serum, and the white willow facial toner. I am really starting to love this line:) My skin definitely has improved: tone – more even, texture – no more dry patches, fewer breakouts.
This is a jojoba oil based serum (check out the great MUA reviews for jojoba oil!!). Don’t be scared of the oil… different oils react in different ways with the skin… they are not all pore clogging. In general, animal oils are far more clogging than plant oils, but there are websites that will tell you exactly how comedogenic a specific ingredient is (here are a couple: http://www.zerozits.com/Articles/acnedetect.htm, http://www.dermaxime.com/acne-comedogenic-ingredients.htm). It will not make you oily, or cause breakouts.
Ideally, you should apply this serum right after using one of Suki’s toners, while your skin is still damp. At first, the container looked painfully small, but now that I know I only need a few drops for my entire face, it should last much longer than expected. I have normal skin with the occasional dry patch. I can get away with not using a night moisturizer, but my face feels much better when I do. For me, this is a great alternative to traditional night moisturizers, which can sometimes be too heavy. I wake up with perfectly balanced skin – no tightness at all. It is just moisturizing enough. You could also add a few drops of this to your regular moisturizer.
The complete ingredient list: organic jojoba oil infused with organic chamomile, echinacea, borage, evening primrose, & rose hips, rice germ, hazelnut, borage, calendula & lavender oils, natural vitamin a, blue chamomile & echinacea oils, organic mixed tocopherols & pure, premium, steam distilled essential oils.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2008 8:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is amazing for moisturizing your skin. Great for dry winter months or to use as a night serum. I know at first it's a bit scary to think about putting something oily on your skin, because you think it's going to make you break out. Not the case with this product. It's perfect to use at night, but I also use it during the day. When I get out of the shower after washing my face, I use a toner first, and when my skin is still damp, I apply this serum. I pump two drops into the palm of my hand, rub them together, and apply all over my face. It smells so wonderful and relaxing, so I always inhale deeply with my hands covering my face to really take in the wonderful aroma!

It does take awhile for this product to absorb into your skin, so if I'm using it in the morning, I'll blowdry and style my hair, get dressed, and then apply my foundation and makeup.

Suki is a great company with wonderful products....you don't need all the chemicals and toxins that are in other products. Let your skin adjust to a life of natural beauty products...it will thank you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2008 8:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I originally created this review several months ago. I felt that I needed to update as my opinions on it have completely changed.

Initially, I only used this for a couple of days and the smell really scared me. I have such sensitive skin that I thought the overpowering smell would irritate my skin. I used it for the two days and decided that organic jojoba oil worked just as good, if not better and for a fraction of the price. I ended up sending the product back a few days later and went back to using plain organic jojoba oil. I still had the sample that came in the oily skin sample kit that I purchased initially. After several more weeks of using organic jojoba oil in place of the Suki moisture serum, I felt my skin was good enough to go back and try the serum again. Then, I was religious about using it day and night. Lo and behold, my skin is perfection! I think that initially my skin was going through a transition phase since I was introducting all of the Suki products at the same time. It is kind of funny that I bought the serum, returned the serum and then bought it again! But, now I love it and have already repurchased.


on 3/15/2008 10:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For those with dry, inflamed skin, mix a few drops with your regular moisturizer. My face feels dreamy after sleeping in it. Even my husband can tell the difference in the softness of my skin. I personally LOVE the smell. It smells the same Liz Earle's super concentrate, but is less than half the price.


on 3/15/2008 1:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Suki's stuff. They really are gentle, soothing, medicinal... If you have a sensitive face, you can tell the difference. This serum is based on jojoba oil (MUA taught me the benefits of jojoba oil!). I have a hard time using straight jojoba b/c it seems too heavy, but Suki's serums sink in better. My skincare-freak friend told me that my pores look more refined. I do believe that the jojoba tricks my skin into producing less oil, which means pores don't enlarge and there is less chance for cystic or nodular acne (gland explosions under the skin surface). I don't get blackheads from this (even though I'm prone), but remember that your whole regimen has to work together. So maybe this works for me b/c my other products help prevent blackheads. EDIT: Sorry Suki! I'm using vaseline! sin of all sins. the jojoba just didn't block my exfoliated skin from the London wind. Also, the jojoba made my chin break out. Loving the suki concealer though, I mix with sunscreen and put it all over my face! The concealer has some jojoba.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top