Yves Rocher Voile d'Ambre

3.9

40 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/19/2007 7:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If you LOVE ambre, this is for you. Its only ambre, nothing more, and its strong and overwhelming. If you like smelling like an old lady with too much perfume, buy it..
The lippies are for the nice bottle only.



on 8/16/2007 9:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't like this fragrance at all. I loved it on my collegue at work but when I got it myself I was totally different. Smelled like old lady, and really cheap too. Like all Yves perfumes I'm afraid. I bought it but I sold it on Ebay right away cause I didn't like it at all.


on 6/27/2007 10:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm not sure what attracted me to this fragrance, perhaps it's the slighly vanilla note or the 'incence' note. Whatever it is, I do like it and it's become my summertime fragrance.


on 2/10/2007 2:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got a sample in a swap and thought it was great, but wasn't sure about it, so got the Vd'A mini from YR. It's lovely, I'm glad I got the mini, but it's just too soft on me. When I think of amber, I think of a big, bold, non-floral, like Dragonfly Blue's Amber, which is all of that and excellent on me. I hate to knock Vd'A, but it's just so timid on me! It ends up kind of sugary, but in a good way, which is strange because I usually strongly dislike the sugar note. Upon application, its notes start out vegetable like - extremely soft though, and this phase lasts a few minutes. Then it starts to shine, and like other reviews of it, stays "close to the skin" on me.



I do see how Vd'A can easily be a HG and fav though. I love laying it with its body lotion, which is much better on me. I have a feeling this can be an excellent layering frag to, and I might see how it works out with my Fragonard Vanille, Floris White Rose, Dragonfly Blue Amber, and maybe some other stuff!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2007 9:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a beautiful woody-ambery-oriental. When I spray it on I get a bitter note (must be the tangerine in the top notes) that soon disappears leaving a nice, cosy, warm scent on my skin. The patchouli makes it earthy and keeps it from becoming too sweet. I'm surprised some reviewers find it powdery or fruity, as I don't get that impression at all. The fragrance has very good lasting power too - about 6 hours or so on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Impressive first wave, warm, floral, and somewhat spicy. But once it dries down it becomes too soapy and powdery, like so many other new perfumes that attempt to be oriental, but can't quite make it. Yet this is rather notable for an Yves Rocher fragrance. There's something about it I like, something promising and earthy, but unfortunately the scent remains unfinished and in many ways typical. Nice try though…. The bottle is painfully beautiful. It deserves a better fragrance.


on 11/9/2006 12:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm not sure what others smell in this fragrance. To me, it's a heady mixture of powder and floral. It's neither warm nor sweet. After reading the prior great reviews here I had to visit YR and try it out for myself. It was quite a disappointment.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Voile D'Ambre is a beautiful sweet vanilla scent. The amber is bright and sunny and doesn't turn sour on me (it does 50% of the time). In the drydown I smell creamy rich madagascar vanilla. This is a gorgeous sweet scent. I put this on before bed for sweet dreams... Very impressive for Yves Rocher.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2006 1:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this one, especially the dry down, the vanilla comes out and it's very nice and warm without being too sweet.


on 9/22/2006 2:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Voile d'Ambre is the first Yves Rocher fragrance that I actually like. It seems that it belongs to a different league. I have tried many of YR fragrances and they all smelled like plastic to me.
This one is very different.

First let me say that the bottle is gorgeous! Makes you want to take it in your hand and spray.

Voila d'Ambre is warm, sweet (but not sugar-sweet) and smooth, with a butter'y feeling.

I love the smell of incense, amber and woods with the vanilla in the background.

I must add that upon drydown I get a little dry powdery feeling, that keeps close to the skin, like an awesome body lotion or a sheer veil.


After buying a small mini, I had to get myself a full bottle. Pretty cheap too, if you buy when it's marked down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1372 Reviews
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
43 Reviews


Top Rated Yves Rocher Products

Back to Top