Maybelline • Dream Mousse Blush in Coffee Cake • Blush

rated 3.6(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleGnome on 1/30/2007 4:16:00 PM more reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It's an ok sheer blush in a natural, earthy "flushing" tone with a lot of shimmer to it; I am just not really a fan of cream-type blushes or stains because I don't like how they streak your foundation or cause unevenness.
I just can't get the kind of definition and control with this type of blush that I can from a powder. The color is nice, although sheer. I keep this in my purse for on-the-go makeup or touchups, and for that purpose, it suits me.
However, CG's is much better for that, lasts longer, is cheaper, looks better.
Won't repurchase. Plusses: doesn't make skin oily. Glowy. Minuses: cap keeps coming off in my purse/makeup bag and making a mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spunky456 on 6/27/2006 9:05:00 PM more reviews by spunky456

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mousse after being very happy with my other purchase, soft plum. The colour of this blush looks innocent enough in the jar. Once I got it on my face, I got a nasty surprise - it turned a BAD orange. Just looked ridiculous. Didn't even look bronzey, which, in my opinion isn't what a "coffee" colour is supposed to look like either. I'm NC20, maybe someone who's warmer can pull this off. Texture is great, just like the other one I have, but I'm very disappointed with the colour and would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wheaty7 on 3/21/2006 8:20:00 PM more reviews by wheaty7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the only color I got. This one is kind of orangey-brown on me, but not muddy. It's beautiful with some shimmer, but not too much. The color and finish is very natual except the shimmer. but it is beautiful and glowy overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shilo on 3/4/2006 10:48:00 AM more reviews by shilo

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Same for me too. Did nothing for my medium skintone but showed shiny, hi lighting on my cheeks. Tried it as a shadow and that was ok for everyday. Still love the texture and Cloud Wine is the best for medium skin tones. Wish they would come out with more deeply pigmented for medium skintones!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clover4433 on 2/8/2006 6:07:00 PM more reviews by clover4433

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this line of blush in cloud wine, and it's much nicer. Coffee cake just looks orange on me. It also seemed to get brighter and darker on me throughout the day. Not flattering. I have the type of skin tone where usually anything works, so I was disappointed to see how "off" the color looked. Maybe in the summer it would work better, but not for winter days. I would not buy this shade again.

UPDATE: Maybe I was just having an "off" week when I was using this because after I took a break from it, I re-tried it and like it. You have to pair it with other neutral MU tones, or it does look funny, but I like it better now. Not as good as Cloud Wine, but it will look great in the summer when my skin gets tan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renemy on 1/27/2006 11:34:00 PM more reviews by renemy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a MAC C3; fair asian and very warm. The color is nice - this gives me a peachy glowy effect on the cheeks. However, it's a little too sparkly to look natural-glowy. I like how you just need a tiny dab of product - very economical. This pot will last you forever, especially if you have the number of blushes that so many of us do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mastak8a on 1/27/2006 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Mastak8a

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This blush is so-so. The color didn't really show on me. It's more of a murky color, and the packaging is horrid. I don't like dipping my finger into a pot. With this said, I did like the Peach Satin shade I bought.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsSingALot on 1/13/2006 12:26:00 PM more reviews by MsSingALot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great netural shade for me on the days I don't want to wear pink. Also very
consistent with the glow quality. Love it when they go on sale, 50% off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gruveechik on 12/31/2005 10:09:00 AM more reviews by gruveechik

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: although i'm off cream/mousse blushes now that i've bought my fab Anabelle brush - i still rate this mousse blush as being excellent - even though i won't use it anymore. i've found that i have to blend in some foundation with the mousse blush to keep it streak free - but that's just me. Here's my original post:Initially loved Cloud Wine.. just recently got Coffee Cake = love it - perhaps even more than wine! i'm a CCC (caramel-hued/MAC NC45/CoverFX I40 - now CoverFX B15) & wasn't sure if Coffee Cake would work on me (i stay away from ANY orange/red/pink hued blushers) - this was just lovely. Hint of buildable blush colour on me, and no residual orange at all.. on me was more peachy than anything = fresh & natural. Another Maybelline Dream Mousse Blush WINNER!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickety on 12/19/2005 6:12:00 PM more reviews by chickety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Blush has been my latest makeup "thing", just started wearing it regularly not too long ago. So lately any time I go to a drug store, and sometimes when in a department store, I try a new blush. On me, Coffee Cake is a slightly shimmery peachy brown. More peach then brown though. It can be subtle, or the color can be layered. Blends nicely, staying power is pretty good, some fading but the color is still there at five. I HATED the Dream Matte Mousse foundation. I wouldn't have gotten the DM blush if it weren't for reviews here. Overall I am very pleased with this blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Blush products