Maybelline Dream Mousse Blush in Coffee Cake

3.6

40 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/30/2007 4:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

It's an ok sheer blush in a natural, earthy "flushing" tone with a lot of shimmer to it; I am just not really a fan of cream-type blushes or stains because I don't like how they streak your foundation or cause unevenness.
I just can't get the kind of definition and control with this type of blush that I can from a powder. The color is nice, although sheer. I keep this in my purse for on-the-go makeup or touchups, and for that purpose, it suits me.
However, CG's is much better for that, lasts longer, is cheaper, looks better.
Won't repurchase. Plusses: doesn't make skin oily. Glowy. Minuses: cap keeps coming off in my purse/makeup bag and making a mess.



on 6/27/2006 9:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this mousse after being very happy with my other purchase, soft plum. The colour of this blush looks innocent enough in the jar. Once I got it on my face, I got a nasty surprise - it turned a BAD orange. Just looked ridiculous. Didn't even look bronzey, which, in my opinion isn't what a "coffee" colour is supposed to look like either. I'm NC20, maybe someone who's warmer can pull this off. Texture is great, just like the other one I have, but I'm very disappointed with the colour and would not buy again.


on 3/21/2006 8:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is the only color I got. This one is kind of orangey-brown on me, but not muddy. It's beautiful with some shimmer, but not too much. The color and finish is very natual except the shimmer. but it is beautiful and glowy overall.


on 3/4/2006 10:48:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Same for me too. Did nothing for my medium skintone but showed shiny, hi lighting on my cheeks. Tried it as a shadow and that was ok for everyday. Still love the texture and Cloud Wine is the best for medium skin tones. Wish they would come out with more deeply pigmented for medium skintones!


on 2/8/2006 6:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have this line of blush in cloud wine, and it's much nicer. Coffee cake just looks orange on me. It also seemed to get brighter and darker on me throughout the day. Not flattering. I have the type of skin tone where usually anything works, so I was disappointed to see how "off" the color looked. Maybe in the summer it would work better, but not for winter days. I would not buy this shade again.

UPDATE: Maybe I was just having an "off" week when I was using this because after I took a break from it, I re-tried it and like it. You have to pair it with other neutral MU tones, or it does look funny, but I like it better now. Not as good as Cloud Wine, but it will look great in the summer when my skin gets tan.


on 1/27/2006 11:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm a MAC C3; fair asian and very warm. The color is nice - this gives me a peachy glowy effect on the cheeks. However, it's a little too sparkly to look natural-glowy. I like how you just need a tiny dab of product - very economical. This pot will last you forever, especially if you have the number of blushes that so many of us do!


on 1/27/2006 3:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This blush is so-so. The color didn't really show on me. It's more of a murky color, and the packaging is horrid. I don't like dipping my finger into a pot. With this said, I did like the Peach Satin shade I bought.


on 1/13/2006 12:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great netural shade for me on the days I don't want to wear pink. Also very
consistent with the glow quality. Love it when they go on sale, 50% off!


on 12/31/2005 10:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Edit: although i'm off cream/mousse blushes now that i've bought my fab Anabelle brush - i still rate this mousse blush as being excellent - even though i won't use it anymore. i've found that i have to blend in some foundation with the mousse blush to keep it streak free - but that's just me. Here's my original post:Initially loved Cloud Wine.. just recently got Coffee Cake = love it - perhaps even more than wine! i'm a CCC (caramel-hued/MAC NC45/CoverFX I40 - now CoverFX B15) & wasn't sure if Coffee Cake would work on me (i stay away from ANY orange/red/pink hued blushers) - this was just lovely. Hint of buildable blush colour on me, and no residual orange at all.. on me was more peachy than anything = fresh & natural. Another Maybelline Dream Mousse Blush WINNER!! :)


on 12/19/2005 6:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Blush has been my latest makeup "thing", just started wearing it regularly not too long ago. So lately any time I go to a drug store, and sometimes when in a department store, I try a new blush. On me, Coffee Cake is a slightly shimmery peachy brown. More peach then brown though. It can be subtle, or the color can be layered. Blends nicely, staying power is pretty good, some fading but the color is still there at five. I HATED the Dream Matte Mousse foundation. I wouldn't have gotten the DM blush if it weren't for reviews here. Overall I am very pleased with this blush.




Back to Top