L'Occitane 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream

3.8

80 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/7/2011 3:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the first L'Occitane product I have ever purchased. I had heard great things about their products and was interested in a body moisturizer. I ultimately decided on purchasing the Ultra Rich Body Cream.

The scent is a bit odd to me, but nothing I can't get past. The texture is very creamy but not too thick. The cream absorbs fairly nicely. Probably most importantly, the Ultra Rich Body Cream did moisturize above average. Because of the scent, and richness of the product, I only used it at night.

I was ultimately looking for a cheaper replacement to La Mer's Body Cream. While I do think this product is above average, sadly, I do not think it will suffice. If you haven't ever tried La Mer's Body cream, I think L'Occitane makes a great product here... if you have tried La Mer, you'll be suckered in for hundreds more as this product will not live up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/6/2011 9:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Overall, this moisturizes pretty well but it leaves a greasy film and I feel the need to wash my hands after I apply it. I'm not particularly a fan of the scent but I don't hate it. It smells a little medicinal to me. I don't like dipping my fingers into the tub to apply it. I used up an entire tub but I won't be repurchasing again in the near future. I might give it another chance down the road because it does moisturize well, especially during winter months.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was one of the first shea products I tried years ago and I thought it was great. However, after trying some of the other body lotions over the years I've determined this is just not worth it for me. I have patchy eczema dryness and although the smell didn't bother me as much (it does have a strong scent) it feels like it sits on the skin layer rather greasily and has a tendency to flake off for me. On particularly sensitive skin, this product could actually make you feel worse causing redness I think possibly due to too much scent.
For quicker absorbing, more pleasant moisturizer for sensitive dry skin I would recommend the almond-milk line for this brand instead.


on 1/23/2011 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is what solidfied L'Occitane as a luxe brand for me. I have terribly dry skin, particularly in the winter. This cream sinks right in and my skin just seems to drink it in. There is a barely there scent that manages to work beautifully as a before bed lotion. I am completely in love.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2011 12:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is amazing if you have dry skin. It's the only lotion or body butter I have tried that will actually prevent the eczema that I get in winter. I love the verbena scented one the most. One lippie off for the price - I wish it were cheaper. But if you have really dry skin and want to splurge, this is the product to get.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2010 4:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very rich cream. You have smaller special edition jars that are scented with a variety of smells. I prefer the original one that isn't specifically scented but I'm sure it is perfumed.

It leaves you a little sticky for a while but it is a treat for dry and problematic skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2009 1:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I just can't get over the way this smells. There was a small sample sitting on my desk that I kept trying from time to time. My package was blue & silver and it certainly didn't smell like roses. On my hands it left a film so I had to wash it off. There's a patch of dry skin on one elbow that I used it on but I'm reluctant to keep trying because it stinks so much. It's not one of those smells that leaves shortly after applying either, this reeks. I've purchased raw shea butter before and it doesn't smell this bad. Today I chucked the sample in the garbage.


on 10/18/2009 7:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin is quite dry so I loved this body moisturizing cream. Is kind pricey if don't have a needy skin. But for is perfect! And the smell is great!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2009 1:36:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

purchased this on a cruise line when my luggage was delayed with all my make-up etc. products. It was pricey to me, but most things were in the shop. Once using it a few days and experiencing its lasting quality, moisturing power, and non-staining of garments, I vowed to look into purchasing it when at home. Surprise was the the cruise line was not charging more than the average price. I have since ordered more, via a link on this product review site.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a luxurious body cream. Nice, buttery texture, heavier going on. Goes on well. It has a neutral, calming scent, Definitely quality, and great for winter. It does take a while to sink in though, and can feel a little sticky.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top