Bare Escentuals • Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1068 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Sianxo on 3/26/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Sianxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a fantastic powder to set your foundation with. I have this in the original version, which is meant to be translucent, but I think it adds the tiniest bit of extra colour to my face. The only major downside to this loose powder is the packaging. It has the worst packaging I have ever experienced with make up. The holes are too big and too much powder comes out everytime I tap the base lightly... which means I am wasting product as I don't want to overload my face with the excess product. A tiny positive for the packaging is that it locks quite well when you turn the lid so nothing will fall out if you were to travel around with it. I would re-buy this product as it is fairly cheap (being $25.95 in Australia) compared to other make up brands we have. I would love to give this product 5 stars but due to the packaging being a massive let down I have only given it 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suzanneluc on 3/24/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by suzanneluc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Years ago I bought a Bare Minerals Starter Kit and was hooked on the stuff. I really believed it was good for my skin, but alas, I made the swtich to liquid foundation for better coverage, and my BM makeup was forgotten about.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago, I was researching a new setting powder to try out, and I came across my old Mineral Veil in my makeup collection! Perfect, no need to buy a new setting powder. I've been using my clear Mineral Veil everyday for the past 2 weeks and realized why it was forgotten in the first place. I have a light complexion with some redness, and the mineral veil looks like cheap costume makeup on me. I DO NOT apply too much (light dusting over the face, always swirling in the cap and tapping off excess), but it leaves a white cast on my face that doesn't look natural at all.

As far as oil control, it leaves my face looking matte enough for the first hour, but more time than that, and my face is an oil slick again. I believe it's just my skin type, as most of you seem to really like the Mineral Veil, but it is just ok for me, and with this price point, I'll search for a better powder.

I will say that when applying this powder, it leaves a really refreshing "cool" feeling that I love, but that's not enough for me to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jocox88 on 2/19/2014 4:35:00 PM more reviews by jocox88

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The locking lid containers from BE usually have bottoms that can be removed when almost empty. I think when the last foundation I had with a sifter container was just about empty, I was able to unscrew the bottom to access the remainder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkii18 on 2/19/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by nikkii18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I do love this product, but it is a little pricy. Their old packaging was much better. The lock lid not doesn't come off so when you are down to just a few applications left in the jar it's hard to get out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yummy1Mummy on 1/19/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by Yummy1Mummy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bare Mineras Mineral Veil ORIGINAL. I specify this because they have several different types of mineral veils, and i've made the mistake of accidentally buying one of the other ones and they are so different and terrible!

The ORIGINAL is amazing! The best mineral veil I've ever used and i have tried many. This can be used over liquid foundation or mineral foundation, it makes my skin look fantastic. It doesn't make my skin look cakey, dry, shiny, or sit in fine lines to make them look worse as many other mineral veils do. It doesn't break my skin out, and i have very sensitive skin.

I don't like any of the other bare minerals foundations, i have tried them and they do not work for me. However, this veil is a must have and i use it over other products and it works brilliantly. Its like it is air-brushing my skin!

I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldilox88 on 1/18/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by goldilox88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am the powder queen- I have tried them all and I have been using this one for years now. I can't even count how many times I have repurchased it. After applying my morning skincare and sunblock my skin is really shiny. I use a light dusting of mineral veil to mattify everything and it works really well. I can then apply blush, powder foundation over it if I want to. Most of the time I just forget all of that and just go with the mineral veil. The best part is, my skin remains matte all day, touchups are rarely needed and it is undetectable on the skin unlike many other powders which can look obvious or cakey. I used to use the mineral veil that offered spf 25 but they changed the formula and unfortunately now it leaves you looking white as a ghost, so I only use the original mineral veil now. I have tried many mineral powder foundations but find that they all are a bit opaque which looks obvious on the skin and tend to make skin flaws more visible, rather than hiding them. If I need a little extra coverage I go with Origins silk screen foundation on top of the mineral veil. By applying mv first, it prevents the silk screen from changing color or sticking to the moisturizer underneath.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kimmiebat on 1/9/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by Kimmiebat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very finely milled. Does everything I expect a powder to do. Mattify-I only use it in only my t zone which I recommend to older folks such as myself; keeping the cheeks more dewy. Packaging could be better-Bare Minerals has always failed in this area. But I feel it's worth the aggravation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShazboTastic on 1/5/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by ShazboTastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing but it's not the cheapest. A little does go a long long way. Feels silky and leaves skin looking radiant and glowy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/29/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why I never reviewed this product because I have had it for 10 years. This was my favorite setting powder for the longest time but since I have explored others. It does set foundation well, the only issue I have with it is pores. It seems to show mine more than any other powder and I don't know why.
Some of the newer Mineral Veils do not, so it might be the formula on the original. I love BE products, I think they are high quality and have great ingredients. This stuff can become cakey regardless of what the company says and needs to be buffed in some. It has never oxidized on me or become splotchy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Purplegal on 12/27/2013 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Purplegal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this because of the SPF and believing that Bare Minerals only sold good products. I was disappointed. The SPF worked fine, but the powder seemed to oxidize & turn into an oily mess. I tried it with a variety of foundations, primers & bare skin, but it just didn't do well with my skin. Also, I am not a fan of the packaging it seemed to release way to much powder and it was messy.

I know others love & swear by Bare Minerals, but this didn't work for me. For reference, my skin is oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products