Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3248 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hy1ian on 11/13/2014 6:36:00 PM more reviews by hy1ian

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

SKIN BACKGROUND: normal/dry, acne prone, mild to severe acne marks and scars, dominant yellow-olive undertones.
COVERAGE: full (when applied on top of a powder)
FINISH: matte
TEXTURE: very smooth and spongey
LASTING POWER: 10-12 hours
SHADES: Iím NC20 in Mac and the shade Nude (Light 4) is almost perfect for me. It's slightly more orange than yellow, but it's one of those things where only I really notice it.
DID THIS BREAK ME OUT?: no
WOULD I REPURCHASE?: yes
FINAL VERDICT: When I first tried this foundation, I didn't like it whatsoever. It was streaky, barely medium coverage, and lasted maybe 2-3 hours. After reading different makeup tips, I decided to put on powder before applying the foundation with my clean fingers. I know that sounds weird and gives the impression that it'd make the foundation chalky but it really doesn't! It makes the foundation apply smoothly and makes the coverage flawless. I use Mac Studio Fix Powder beforehand which works great, but using a translucent powder works just as well. After applying the foundation, I set the foundation with the same powder and it lasts even longer. If you didn't like the foundation, don't let it go to waste! Try different methods of applying the foundation to see what suits you best.

UPDATE: Because it's winter, my skin naturally becomes more dry and oddly textured (my acne scars become emphasized). This foundation didn't smooth over my skin as well as it did when I had more moisture in it, so I mixed a bit of silicone primer in it to apply and now it looks even better than before!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 k8lynm1ch3l3 on 11/6/2014 4:57:00 AM more reviews by k8lynm1ch3l3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product due to Google reviews... I've been purchasing drug store foundations of all brands so I have no "higher end" foundations to compare to. I rated 2/5 because I love the way this product went on. It's smooth and creamy, gave me a semi matte finish, but after about 2 hours I was super greasy. I wouldn't suggest to someone with combination / oily skin. It just didn't last :( I was excited when I was done with my make up to see how natural it looked and I wanted to love it, but it didn't even last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pontn on 11/3/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by pontn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised that hardly anyone seems to like this. Personally, I have been loving this ever since I started wearing makeup. I have strayed, of course, as you do when you are young and wild at heart - from the expensive crap in pretty bottles, to the liquid frauds of the high street. But I always come back to this. Convinced it's true love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HannahSunn on 10/15/2014 11:09:00 PM more reviews by HannahSunn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really did not like this foundation. It hardly did anything to my skin! I felt like it just made me look orange. I hated this product! Which is weird because my friend absolutely loved this foundation. I guess if depends on the person. I would not recommend this foundation though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anyasreviews on 10/14/2014 8:56:00 AM more reviews by anyasreviews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This was the first "real" foundation I used and I love it! My T-Zone gets super oily but this foundation completely stops that! I use the Rimmel Stay Matte powder with this and I never get oily skin whilst wearing it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Missmakeup789 on 10/10/2014 12:47:00 AM more reviews by Missmakeup789

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have LIVED by this foundation for the past few years, lately though it hasn't worked the same and I get a new one every month. I have reaaaally oily skin. And wearing this foundation it looks flawless for about 4 hours, then the oil starts showing and it gets greasy and i can literally see my finger prints if I were to touch my face. I am trying something new today but this will be my go-to foundation if this other foundation doesn't work out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 10/5/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

My feelings about this foundation can be summed up in one word: HORRIBLE! I've tried the Dream Matte Airfoam and didn't like it. But I actually really like the Dream Matte Liquid Mousse. I was curious about this makeup. In the Dream Matte Liquid Mousse, creamy natural is a good match for me. So I bought this in creamy natural as well. BIG mistake. The Creamy Natural in the Mousse makeup is quite a bit darker than the same shade in the Dream Mousse liquid. I could tell as soon as I opened the jar that it was going to be WAY too dark. I could tell just by placing my finger in the mousse. Needless to say, I wasn't about to put it on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iHaileyloco on 10/4/2014 8:10:00 PM more reviews by iHaileyloco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am a makeup artist,and this is my favorite drugstore foundation hands down. I have acne but not necessarily oily skin..so it works perfect for coverage and love the matte finish it gives! I have been using this product for years now and I always get compliments on how nice my skin looks!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MrsPeet15 on 10/3/2014 12:26:00 AM more reviews by MrsPeet15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Undoubtedly the best drugstore foundation I have found for me. Their fairest shade is petfect for my skin......im a typical redhead, white as a ghost! I love the texture, it instantly mattifies and it lasts an acceptably long time for the very small price. Ive been using it along side the dream illumination concealer (cheap version of Touchè eclat) and their matt maker powder untill I can get back to a department store, and its been great. Best thing of all? IT ACTUALLY STAYD MATTE! ITS A MIRACLE! No greasy face by lunch time! Only downside is the pot with the screw on lid, simply because I find it a bit inconvinient to use, otherwise, my favourite budget make up so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LilMissMatched on 10/2/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I see there are a ton of negative reviews for this stuff, and some mixed reviews. Many people don't like this foundation, and with good reason. I personally like this as a drugstore choice because the coverage is good and it stays very matte like the name promises. For somebody with oil, problem skin with acne scarring and redness, this foundation covers very well. A little goes a long way...a wee little scoop from the jar and it covers my whole face. I don't like the packaging...it's very unsanitary, and as some other reviewers mentioned, it has silicone and other nasties in it. I rotate foundation very frequently, and I feel like slathering on face makeup every day for years and years can't be good for your face or skin period...some brands market themselves as better for your skin, but I don't really buy into that hype. I think it's all marketing, and those brands target Eco-conscious consumers who they know will buy a product just because it's carefully labeled as "better your skin, better for the environment", at an inflated price. This maybelline is like $10 at the drugstore and works for heavy scarring but I wouldnt use it everyday...it's much too heavy. I rotate it w/ my LancŰme, my Almay, my Holika Holika Petit BB, and my bareMinerals, among others. It's a decent drugstore buy and it works good for certain things like most everything else. It has it's uses and delivers well for those particular uses: covering up moderate scarring w/out having to use concealer (I don't wear normally use concealer, I hate it's consistency), keeping shine away, and for nighttime wear, not so good w/ direct natural sunlight wear IMO b/c it's so heavy & can appear mask like. Another reason I like it is I have found a good color match in this foundation...it's very difficult for me to find a believable shade that blends seamlessly into my skin. So... I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products