Bobbi Brown • Extra SPF 25 Moisturizing Balm • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveMnMs on 12/9/2008 1:26:00 PM more reviews by iloveMnMs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received a sample packet of this from BB with another order. As I applied it, I was immediately overcome with a very stong stench. It seemed like a combination of perfume, noxema, and the "wet dog" smell from Philosophy Hope In a Jar. Yuck. While I didn't see lavender oil (like in HIAJ) in the ingredients, it does have many essential oils (primrose, rosemary, bitter orange) and citronellol. NOT a good combination. (Note: there is no perfume/fragrance listed.) The scent lingers, it does not dissipate rapidly. I wanted soooo much to wash it right off my face, but I didn't. I stuck it out.


The product itself is extremely moisturizing. It has a nice thick consistency and feels great going on. But it doesn't completely sink in, leaving your skin feeling slightly greasy hours later. It would be something to wear at night, IMO, but there is no reason for the SPF 25. If you have extremely dry skin, this would be a really nice treatment. The moisturizing properties are great. That said, I will not purchase. I cannot handle the smell.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanelmontes on 10/4/2008 5:32:00 PM more reviews by chanelmontes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really REALLY wanted this product to work for me but eventually I had to give in and exchange it. No matter how much I tried to break this balm down my complexion still looked way too shiny after application. Not only that, it made me BREAK OUT with big red pimples all over and also left tiny white bumps on my forehead and chin that I'm now trying desperately to get rid of. This balm is just way too emollient for my skin and even made my pores look bigger and blemishes more noticeable. It just sat on my face and took a good 3 hours to fully sink into my skin. If you really want to use this balm, I recommend only using it at night so by morning it would have done it's job without making you look like a butter ball.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel277 on 10/3/2008 9:33:00 PM more reviews by chanel277

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't used this product ever,but I saw at the ingredient list that contains oxybenzon.So If you are allergic to chemical sunscreens like I m stay away from this moisturizer
INGREDIENTS:Water, Homosalate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, C12-15 Alkyl Octanoate, Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone), Glycerin, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cetyl Alcohol, Polyacrylamide, Glyceryl Stearate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Orange Bigarade), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Epilobium Angustifolium Extrat, Daucuc Carota Sativa (Carrot), Retinyl Palmitate, Angellica Archangelica Root Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Geranium Maculatum Oil, Ormenis Multicaulis Oil, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Powder, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Stearate, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit), PEG-40 Stearate, Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Dicetyl Phosphate, Xanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol, Laureth-7, Tetrasodium Edta, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Oxybenzone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aclassicbeauty on 8/20/2008 12:05:00 PM more reviews by aclassicbeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG moisturizer for my sensitive, dry skin. Definitely a product for gals with dry to extra dry skin. I cannot find another cream that compares to this moisturizer. It's pretty expensive at $85, but you only need a tiny amount to get the job done and the 1.7oz jar lasts a long time. Since this product is a balm, it needs to be broken down. Therefore apply about a nickel size amount to clean hands and warm it up. Then pat/press into the skin with both palms. You will not be disappointed in this cream if applied correctly. If not, your face will look like a butter ball! I actually like the smell, very clean (think aromatherapy) and there's no perfumey, irritating scent. I use this product twice a day year round. It provides an excellent slip, so my foundation does not lay on top of my skin and always looks very natural. Also, I love the high SPF 25 that is hard to find in moisturizers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 g on 4/19/2008 11:52:00 AM more reviews by g

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have quite dehydrated skin and find that this sinks in with no problems and seems rich enough. My skin feels fine and it seems to provide the moisture however my skin feels that it could do with a little more. It is probably more suited for dry skins.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acri on 2/15/2008 4:59:00 AM more reviews by acri

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best moisturizer I've ever used. I have an under active thyroid and my skin tends to be very dry. It is the 1st time that I find a product that really works this well. It also lasts much longer than some other competitive products. Just warm it up in the palm of your hand before applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hellolizzie3 on 1/15/2008 10:05:00 PM more reviews by hellolizzie3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited to get this as a sample at some point when doing some hauling and put it straight into my travel bag. I hung onto it in there for a few months and finally, one day at the end of the holidays when my poor toxified skin needed some TLC, I pulled that sucker out and used it. This stuff is lovely. I honestly like it better than La Mer. It is only very slightly less thick than La Mer. I had to emulsify somewhat in my hand before spreading it on my skin. Had I known what I was getting into, I would have only used half the packet instead of the whole thing. However, having said that it absorbed very nicely into my skin after maybe 10 minutes and I was able to do my regular makeup with ease. On the basis of my love for this, I went immediately to Nordstrom and bought the Bobbi Extra Eye Balm, because I love and uber rich eye cream. I love that this cream has spf 25, and as soon as I am done with the day cream I am currently using, I am going to switch to this. Should be just in time for the long dry season here in Southern California.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MonkeysGirl on 10/12/2007 1:15:00 PM more reviews by MonkeysGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG daytime moisturizer. I agree with other reviewers that it is very thick, but it spreads and sinks in nicely. My skin is dry/combo/schizophrenic and can be prone to breakout. However, this fabulous little pot of goo does a terrific job of moisturizing and protecting my very fair skin. I live in the desert and need moisture. I've used 2 different types of foundation over it--the Bobbi Brown Extra Tinted and L'Oreal's TrueMatch. They are very different types of foundation (one is tinted and thick, the other is liquid and dries almost powdery). Both foundations went on just fine over this Balm. I love this stuff. I've had it for almost 8 months of daily use and am only 2/3 of the way through jar. With other moisturizers of a similar size I would have gone through 2 jars or tubes by now. It's expensive, but it sure does seem to last.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3blindmice on 7/18/2007 11:46:00 PM more reviews by 3blindmice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this because my counter has been sold out of the Protective Face lotion for months now. At first I regretted it, because it's a pretty dense cream and I bought it as the weather was getting hotter, so I thought it would be much too heavy. I must say, I quite like it. I apply an even thin layer in in the morning, then let it sink in for a few minutes, and use a non-silicone based primer over it and that cuts the shine especially in the t-zone. I have no problems putting foundation over this, it's very nice indeed. The texture of the spf 25 Moisturizing Balm is much runnier and has greater slip than that of the Extra Moisturizing Balm (non spf). The only issue I have with it, and with all Bobbi skincare is that it's very expensive. But the jar is large, and the product very spreadable, so I'm guessing it will last me a good long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 guerlainfanatic on 4/1/2007 2:28:00 PM more reviews by guerlainfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this moisturizer a week ago and I have to say it's the best moisturizer I have by far. I do agree that it is a little thick but it really doesn't bother me at all, only because it is so moisturizing. I have amazingly dry skin and everytime I get a makeover the first thing the makeup artist tells me is to get moisturizer. The problem is that I'm always too lazy. Since this became part of my collection I have been using it vigorously. My skin just does not feel the same without it. Previous to this purchase I had a terrible rash which had been plaguing me over the last few years, on both sides of my face. I also believe that the big rash underneath my eyes (most sensitive) was due to tanning, so you can imagine how patchy and dried up those areas were. Ever since using this product, all the patchy-ness, flaky-ness, discoloration has gone from my face. I have never seen the state of my skin so smooth and clear. I am exstatic that I made this purchase (by fluke) and would definitely buy again (though it will take some time to clear the jar).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Moisturizers products