NARS • Jungle Red • Lipstick

rated 4.6(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 chabbycheeks on 12/31/2011 3:24:00 AM more reviews by chabbycheeks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my "office" red because it's not very bright or bold compared to blue-based reds. It looks a bid orange-y on me which is fine because it looks good with my warm yellow undertone. I love the texture of NARS lipsticks, it feels very luxurious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fiammetta on 10/9/2011 7:39:00 PM more reviews by Fiammetta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is warm red with a satin finish. Can be swiped on over balm for a red stain, or more carefully applied with a brush for a classic look. I'm a warm-toned, pale-skinned sort, but don't find this an alarming, loud red at all. I have no problem wearing this in the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GucciDiva on 8/7/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by GucciDiva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am pale (117 in MUFE HD) and most red look garish on me, they either look blue and clown like or orange and radioactive. This is perfect. It has a coral-ish base, which makes it soft instead of harsh. It looks like a true red on me, but it doesn't overpower my face. My HG red. I'm on my 2nd tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sissyjoe on 5/12/2011 9:45:00 AM more reviews by sissyjoe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick! Especially if you will be shopping all day and would like your lips to be lovely all day long through kisses, snacks etc! This is the one I love to wear. My wife borrows it all the time and she loves it too! Definitely one of the best red lipsticks around!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pquiles on 4/18/2011 12:26:00 PM more reviews by pquiles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been craving the HOT RED lips lately and purchased the set of l/s, n/p and l/l. I'm in love. This l/s does not dry me out b/c I put my chapstick on prior to using. I apply carefully and do my plucker finger trick b/c it's very pigmented and I don't want it to end up all over my face and teeth.
NARS is has become my favorite MU line thus far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jacki3oh on 3/12/2011 5:31:00 PM more reviews by jacki3oh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

imo, THE greatest lipstick. i am a mac girl forever & always, but this product's color, staying power, packaging, etc trumps ALL other lipsticks. lifelong user & advocate! <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 olivegirls on 1/12/2011 3:02:00 AM more reviews by olivegirls

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you are tan/olive skin tone and want to rock a sexy red, this is the one u need to have. WONDERFUL product, a little bit dry, but I prep my lips before I use any dark l/s shade. I exfoliate with a soft toothbrush and apply lip balm and let my lips absorve it, I line my lips with reversible lip liner then I apply l/s and WOOALA!!! it lasted all morning, no bleeding at all ;-) when retouching I reapply balm, lip liner and l/s.
I will recommend this to anyone that loves a perfect sexy red lips and don't mind to take a little time to prepare their lips or have already smooth lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rtobiejr on 12/28/2010 4:41:00 PM more reviews by rtobiejr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Jungle Red is my perfect red. Just putting this on completely brightens up my face, and I can't stop smiling!

No need to put on much other makeup with this. I curl my lashes, put on some Diorshow and voila-- instantly awake.

I recommend getting the Jungle Red lipliner, and if your lips have any pigment, putting a bit of foundation on them to even out first.

This red is gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isavella on 12/28/2010 1:58:00 PM more reviews by isavella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this lipstick for Christmas. Apparently my boyfriend stormed into Sephora, found the first SA and demanded "Lead me to the hottest lipstick in this store." And this is what she pointed him to...HAHA.
I LOVE IT.
I already have a favorite red (YSL Opium Red), so I totally feel like I'm cheating on it. Jungle Red is matte and more densely pigmented. It's a true red on me (I have Mediterranean coloring). It wears forever. Unlike Opium Red, it dries out your lips a little when it wears off, creating a popsicle-like red stain that isn't as flattering as the satiny red glow Opium leaves. It's more in your face, though, in a good way. It's a little more Eastern European spy in the 1930's vs. classic French chic dewy beauty, which is how I envisage the Opium Red...(I need to detach myself from my lipsticks haha).
Giving it a 5! I just need more opportunities to wear it.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jedi_girl on 10/29/2010 9:31:00 PM more reviews by jedi_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like other reviewers, I concur this is a *perfect* red. I am *extremely* happy with the balance of 'orange' and 'blue' undertones.

This is the longest lasting lipstick I own - this includes cups of coffee, a meal and several hours at work. I do not find it drying, but then again I do not have dry lips (and do not need to use lip balm etc.) I also do not find it feathers, what a pleasant surprise. I love the rich, soft, velvety look this lipstick gives me, like something off a movie poster.

I am taking off one lippie because I feel the cost of $30CAD to be ridiculous. Given how I feel about the shade and its staying power I am willing to deal with it ... for now.


*Update: This lipstick is just so great I wanted to update my review with a note saying 'Omg, I really love it!'. I typically need to use lip liners to prevent feathering and especially with darker shades. But I do not need to use a lip liner with this and I am really just amazed. There is not an evening, when I wear it, that someone doesn't stop me and tell me they love this lipstick on me. If you are considering a red then consider coughing up the $30 and trying this. At least try it on at a Sephora and walk around for a few hours and admire the staying power and the compliments you get ;) (Still 4 lippies because I think the price is ridiculous but its NARS and this price range is sorta standard for them.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products