Alpha Hydrox • 10% AHA Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(215 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kmcartcart on 5/8/2011 10:14:00 AM more reviews by kmcartcart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

As far as I'm concerned, this stuff is an absolute miracle worker. I have never used a product before that gave me such immediate and noticeable positive results. The morning after I began to use it my pores, which I have long since accepted would always be big and full of blackheads on my nose, were smaller. After a week, they got even smaller and my blackheads were much less noticeable. I also noticed an improvement in some lines on my forehead and in overall skin quality. The best part is that it doesn't seem to dry my skin out much. I use it at night and wake up with soft, clear skin.

This combined with a few other products has given me nearly perfect skin. After years of constantly dealing with one or two heinous blemishes at a time, I never thought that it was possible for me to have a good complexion. Now I spend a minute or two smiling at myself in the mirror every morning and night because I can't believe how even and clear my skin is. I 100% recommend adding an AHA product to your skin regime, although I do think that I'll try acne.org's AHA product next due to some of the recommendations on this site.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chocolatedog on 1/17/2011 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Chocolatedog

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff. I use it twice a day after cleansing, wait 10 minutes and then apply oil free lotion. My face has never looked better. When I first started it I had some mild tingling and redness on my chin area, but after a few days it didn't happen anymore. I think that this has helped regulate the oil on my face, I don't seem to get nearly as oily as I used to. I also find that it helps minimize pimples and heal them quicker.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moonxxriver on 1/13/2011 4:16:00 PM more reviews by moonxxriver

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

While I normally would wait longer to review a product..I'm already loving this product so much that I had to write a review now. I bought this at Ulta about 2 weeks ago and I LOVE it. Obviously I haven't had any dramatic results yet but I've already noticed some fading in acne scars that I've had for years!!! My scars aren't very severe, but have always been noticeable enough that I have to use extra coverage foundation, plus concealer to cover it up and sometimes that still doesn't cut it. I use this every night after cleansing my face and using an ACV toner. I take time to gentle massage it into my skin. Then I wait about 20 minutes to fully let it sink in before I apply a moisturizer. The texture and color of my skin is already improving. I was kind of nervous because I've never used AHAs on my skin, and I've heard that it's really harsh for some people. This does not irritate my skin at all. You should be sure to use sun screen if you use this though, because it will make you more sensitive to sunlight. Some people complain about the packaging, but I see nothing wrong with it. I love this stuff and I will keep repurchasing because in my opinion, this is a fair price for this stuff. I'd still buy it if it costed more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shhchelle on 12/20/2010 1:16:00 AM more reviews by shhchelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After all the raves about this product, I decided to give it a try to get my acne under control. It only aggravated it and I developed big, red, bumps (cysts) that I thought was due to "purging." But this hurts, and it's been a few days. I also think the alpha hydrox foaming cleanser has to do with my new issues....I am stopping both immediately. I agree, this is oil-free but the sea kelp extract is very clogging and sticky. Do not buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BavSnob on 11/18/2010 7:47:00 PM more reviews by BavSnob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It's about time I reviewed this product. I have been using this on and off for years... recently my skin has been reacting to something, who knows what. Maybe my skin is reacting to the change in weather, maybe my trusty moisturizer isn't so trusty anymore, or maybe my skin is simply changing as I get older. I was getting strange small whiteheads here and there, they would spring up in the day (or over night) and disappear within a couple days. Either way, not cool, and I had to do something about it. I remembered how well my skin responded to AHAs, so I ordered this, the 10% lotion, AND the 14% swipes. I use the gel l in the morning under my moisturizer/sunscreen. I was using the lotion at night, and the swipes just once a week. Well yes, I dried out my skin a little too much with all the glycolic acid, but I kicked the problem skin to the curb and now my face is glowy and so smooth. Using the gel at night and under moisturizer is perfect maintenance now that I'm under control. I now use the lotion on my arms at night and still use the swipes once a week.
The price is right, packaging sometimes is hard to get your desired amount out of without taking too much, and the product itself is fantastic. It always gets my skin into shape, definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kmcool2007 on 10/10/2010 2:10:00 PM more reviews by kmcool2007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne prone, oily, dehydrated skin. I do NOT have sensitive skin and I rarely break out from products. This product, however, caused horrible cystic acne that would not go away. Even if this was the "purging" process, it was not worth it in my opinion. I used it for one month.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maureenheather on 8/19/2010 10:53:00 AM more reviews by maureenheather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Update 1/26/11: For the last two months, even though I loved the 10% gel, I switched to the 12% souffle thinking that more glycolic acid would be better. Big mistake. I like the texture of the souffle, but over time it seemed like all the improvements from the 10% gel were being undone. I was seeing more redness and just generally poor skin texture. So a few days ago I switched back to the 10% gel and already my skin is looking better-- redness is drastically toned down. I'm not sure if the souffle was too much glycolic for me or the base ingredients disagreed with my skin-- from reading the souffle reviews, I'm inclined to think the latter. So if the 10% gel works really well for you, I wouldn't bother getting the souffle, just stick with a good thing!

Original Review: Fantastic product. Has smoothed out my skin unbelievably. Honestly I can't even believe how well it works. It has slightly faded my acne scars and sunspots, but more noticeably has make an incredible difference in the texture and overall tone of my skin. I also think it's doing something to ward off breakouts, because I've been using it about a month and for the last two weeks have not gotten a single pimple, even during my period (usually I get cystic acne on my chin during that time). Will keep using this till they stop making it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ryleen on 6/29/2010 8:15:00 PM more reviews by Ryleen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this. Keeps my skin soft and under control. Works better than any spot treatment I've used. I think I've found my HG....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 6/26/2010 4:01:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use this every once in a while. It's a gel that is perfect if you have oily skin. It seems to refine my pores very well and doesn't irritate my skin. I apply at night and then wash my face in the morning. My skin feels soft and my face looks a bit brighter. So far I had luck with this not breaking me out and I look forward to getting the souffle next to see how that goes. You should definitely use sunscreen when using any AHA products as this can make your skin more photosensitive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chirpybird on 5/7/2010 10:56:00 AM more reviews by chirpybird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Have been using this product for many years. I have acne prone, hypersensitive skin. This product is one of they keys in why my skin stays acne free now. If I stop using it - the acne will return. I use it twice a day on my face, once a day on chest, shoulders and upper back where I also used to break out. Only recently I've noticed it stings when I put it on (only stings face, not other skin) - so I think now as I age (early 40's) I can reduce the amount I'm using on my face - or possibly only use it once a day on my face. There are only three places to buy it as far as I know - the company direct, Ulta web site, Drugstore.com. This is a product I would not go without. I do apply a heavy moisturizer (cetaphil cream) over the top, and sometimes aloe additionally.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments (Face) products