Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.1(246 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 beautifulthings on 6/22/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by beautifulthings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry to say this product has been a bit of a disappointment for me. I'd read good things about Murad but when it came down to it, this did nothing for my spots and I ended up buying a tube of Effaclar Duo, which had a much more immediate and impressive effect. Sorry Murad, you're a brand I really want to love, but not this time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiracara on 5/23/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by kiracara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I used to use this product when I didn't know much about acne care. The active ingredient in this product is sulfur, and it does have a medicinal smell, though the smell of sulfur isn't that strong for me. I actually liked it.

My problem is acne: While I was using it, I found that it worked best on pimples that were not too big, but have already come into a head (pus is visible). I would dab it morning and night until it was gone. It didn't work for the tiny ones at all and I disliked the thought of moving it around the big ones, since the tip was tiny.

I stopped using this product when I learned more about which ingredients to use because it was too expensive for its degree of effectivity. I'd actually rather use the Clinique Acne Solutions Spot Healing Gel than this, but I'd prefer this to the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion for the sake of convenience in application and coloration - this product tended to leave a yellow smear, so I had trouble hiding it.

To be honest, right now, the main draw of the product for me is it's packaging. It looks very neat and it's easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 overtheavg on 2/20/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by overtheavg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The very first time I tried this product, I was fairly enthusiastic. Indeed, it seemed to improve the condition of some blemishes I had in my forehead (due to the hair), but the reality it has been opposite. This stuff, makes red bumps turn into whiteheads! It's terrible, also because all the skin around become red and flaky.
Maybe it's ok for milia, but I wouldn't suggest u for red bumps or blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FacePaintLuva on 1/4/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by FacePaintLuva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Wow! I was beginning to lose hope at 20, that my skin would ever be clear, until I took another leap of faith and bought this. I've been in my acne war for about seven years, prior my skin was amazing before I turned 13, and just recently I started getting some lovely cystic acne spots on my cheeks, that would NOT budge.... Until now. Seriously people I was about to lose my mind, Ive done so much acne research I could write a book. I recently changed my face wash and toner to Burts Bees sans any lanolin, used a basic moisturizer, and Burts Bees acne spot treatment with tea tree oil in it & it worked ok. Ive been drinking lots of water, taking multivitamins, fish oil and only using derm tested blush and Lancome Tient Mericle foundation. And was still getting horrible cysts under my skin.... Well, bought this on a whim of research and am proud to say that along with my routine mentioned, after only a week my skin is smoother than its been in as long as I can remember. Who knew sulpher was the secret? I dont find there to be a smell, but I will be repurchasing, and couldn't be happier that my acne is finally going away and I cant feel any cysts under my skin. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsminniver on 12/5/2012 11:46:00 AM more reviews by mrsminniver

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Tried the sample size with the murad acne program. It is a very effective product in ridding the complexion of huge zits and cystic acne. Blackheads are another matter altogether and I do believe that murad's exfoliating acne gel is better at blackheads than this product, if your skin can tolerate the alcohol content. The sulphur is tolerable for me and not too invasive...one gets the occasional hint of a whiff of it but it doesn't linger. Am getting the full size as I believe it is a very effective product. Will also get the exfoliating gel in a smaller size as they do go hand in hand with each other in dealing with my zits and blackheads. While I am careful with the exfoliating gel (it tends to be too drying for my skin and I need to take an occasional break from it), this spot treatment is gentler than its sister and I find I can use it everyday without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosiejess on 11/9/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by rosiejess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Brilliant product. I don't know what it's like on severe acne, I generally have clear skin, but I get some spots around my t zone that are like small red bumps. They don't move for weeks and sometimes months. This really helps them go down quicker and if I can feel one coming, prevents it happening at all. Great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eiw92 on 11/9/2012 8:00:00 AM more reviews by eiw92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This doesn't work. It smells horrible, and makes no difference on my acne at all. I use the Origins Out of Trouble mask as a spot treatment, and that works MUCH better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skinobsessed1 on 10/20/2012 12:43:00 PM more reviews by skinobsessed1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is shockingly one of the *few* acne treatments that I actually notice a difference in. LOVE that is has sulfur in it, probably what is doing the trick. A little dot is sufficient, and I find the sulfur helps bring down the inflammation of a cystic pimple. Took off a lippie only for the price. However--I do think it lasts a long time. One tube easily lasts me a few months. I only use it a couple times a week however. So the usage will depend on how much acne you are trying to deflate. & the review below was farrrrrrrrrrrr from informative! I would love to know *what* drugstore product works better. I am always searching for a decent one from CVS!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annhf24 on 10/20/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by annhf24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't think this has done anything for me. The drugstore stuff works better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CamyBlackwood on 9/16/2012 1:24:00 PM more reviews by CamyBlackwood

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I loved this product it worked so well of not drying out my skin but also getting rid of the pimple fast.it feels more like a moisterizer than a spot treatment i put it on before i go to bed and before school and when i get home the zit is gone! i love that you dont need a lot of this product to work ive been using mine for at least 3 months ad it is still full! i will definatly repurchase this item!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products