Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.1(249 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 allieseven on 7/31/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by allieseven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

well, unfortunately after being pretty clear the past year and a half, i started getting my chin acne back, and they just kept on coming.
i got into this manic attack, searching how i could stop them from coming out every day, and this was the first thing i ordered online. i can't even remember how or why but i was desperate.
at that moment i would have been willing to spray some pesticide on my face, as long as it will work.
anyway, this stuff is pretty good, i don't know why all these bad reviews.
the smell issue? i didn't noticed it had any until i read a review saying it has a horrible smell.
it does'nt work for large cystic acne, but it works really well on little whiteheads and preventing a pimple from raising its ugly head when you catch it on time.
all in all, i give it an 8 out of 10. it's great.

as for me,
im still searching how to stop them from showing up. tomorrow im seeing a dermatologist at last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Helloneighbor on 7/28/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Helloneighbor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for something different to battle a few pimples that popped up randomly other than the salicylic acid or benz. peroxide based products that I already have but didn't seem like they were working. I went to sephora and saw that this was sulfur based and thought it may do the trick. Honestly, i don't think this does anything at all. the texture was very strange - almost a gritty feeling and felt that it was too watery and not effect as a spot treatment at all. would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mijal10 on 6/27/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by mijal10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product has worked wonders for me. It's been SUCH a life saver! The only issue I have with it is that's it looks disgusting on my face instead of being a transparent gel like other products are, so I can't wear it unless I'm home!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beautifulthings on 6/22/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by beautifulthings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry to say this product has been a bit of a disappointment for me. I'd read good things about Murad but when it came down to it, this did nothing for my spots and I ended up buying a tube of Effaclar Duo, which had a much more immediate and impressive effect. Sorry Murad, you're a brand I really want to love, but not this time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiracara on 5/23/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by kiracara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I used to use this product when I didn't know much about acne care. The active ingredient in this product is sulfur, and it does have a medicinal smell, though the smell of sulfur isn't that strong for me. I actually liked it.

My problem is acne: While I was using it, I found that it worked best on pimples that were not too big, but have already come into a head (pus is visible). I would dab it morning and night until it was gone. It didn't work for the tiny ones at all and I disliked the thought of moving it around the big ones, since the tip was tiny.

I stopped using this product when I learned more about which ingredients to use because it was too expensive for its degree of effectivity. I'd actually rather use the Clinique Acne Solutions Spot Healing Gel than this, but I'd prefer this to the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion for the sake of convenience in application and coloration - this product tended to leave a yellow smear, so I had trouble hiding it.

To be honest, right now, the main draw of the product for me is it's packaging. It looks very neat and it's easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 overtheavg on 2/20/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by overtheavg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The very first time I tried this product, I was fairly enthusiastic. Indeed, it seemed to improve the condition of some blemishes I had in my forehead (due to the hair), but the reality it has been opposite. This stuff, makes red bumps turn into whiteheads! It's terrible, also because all the skin around become red and flaky.
Maybe it's ok for milia, but I wouldn't suggest u for red bumps or blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FacePaintLuva on 1/4/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by FacePaintLuva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Wow! I was beginning to lose hope at 20, that my skin would ever be clear, until I took another leap of faith and bought this. I've been in my acne war for about seven years, prior my skin was amazing before I turned 13, and just recently I started getting some lovely cystic acne spots on my cheeks, that would NOT budge.... Until now. Seriously people I was about to lose my mind, Ive done so much acne research I could write a book. I recently changed my face wash and toner to Burts Bees sans any lanolin, used a basic moisturizer, and Burts Bees acne spot treatment with tea tree oil in it & it worked ok. Ive been drinking lots of water, taking multivitamins, fish oil and only using derm tested blush and Lancome Tient Mericle foundation. And was still getting horrible cysts under my skin.... Well, bought this on a whim of research and am proud to say that along with my routine mentioned, after only a week my skin is smoother than its been in as long as I can remember. Who knew sulpher was the secret? I dont find there to be a smell, but I will be repurchasing, and couldn't be happier that my acne is finally going away and I cant feel any cysts under my skin. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsminniver on 12/5/2012 11:46:00 AM more reviews by mrsminniver

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Tried the sample size with the murad acne program. It is a very effective product in ridding the complexion of huge zits and cystic acne. Blackheads are another matter altogether and I do believe that murad's exfoliating acne gel is better at blackheads than this product, if your skin can tolerate the alcohol content. The sulphur is tolerable for me and not too invasive...one gets the occasional hint of a whiff of it but it doesn't linger. Am getting the full size as I believe it is a very effective product. Will also get the exfoliating gel in a smaller size as they do go hand in hand with each other in dealing with my zits and blackheads. While I am careful with the exfoliating gel (it tends to be too drying for my skin and I need to take an occasional break from it), this spot treatment is gentler than its sister and I find I can use it everyday without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosiejess on 11/9/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by rosiejess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Brilliant product. I don't know what it's like on severe acne, I generally have clear skin, but I get some spots around my t zone that are like small red bumps. They don't move for weeks and sometimes months. This really helps them go down quicker and if I can feel one coming, prevents it happening at all. Great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eiw92 on 11/9/2012 8:00:00 AM more reviews by eiw92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This doesn't work. It smells horrible, and makes no difference on my acne at all. I use the Origins Out of Trouble mask as a spot treatment, and that works MUCH better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products