Hermes • Un Jardin en Méditerranée • Fragrances

rated 4.2(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Lazulia on 11/23/2010 11:40:00 AM more reviews by Lazulia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like the Hermes fragrances as they are often unusual and original. But they just don't seem to agree with me. Un Jardin en Méditerranée smelled like carrots on me (husband agrees...). I think it was the fig but somehow came through carroty. And then died off rather quickly which is unusual as most fragrances last well on me.

Very nice, fresh and original. But still I really felt like I smelled like a carrot. :) I really love love love Paul & Joe Blanc so I was hoping that other Jean Claude Ellena creations would work on me. So far no, but I'll give it another go and edit if I don't smell like a carrot next time around!

UPDATE - gave this another go. Didn't smell like carrots this time but smelled like Flash Kitchen Cleaner Spray instead. And again it died off completely after half an hour. Meh. Disappointment. Especially at that price. Rating now down to 2 I'm afraid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 9/2/2010 11:29:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Deep but easy-going love, together with the accessible comfort of friendship. A mature intellect and a lively interest in the world and nature, like that of a five year old. Well, this is my number two in the series - the first being the underrated Apres la Mousson. Un Jardin en Méditerranée is a more saturated smell, and definitely one of the best figs I have experienced. The fig note has a perfect balance between the sweetness of the big purple fruit, the dry bark and deep, balmy leaves. Add to this just a bit of citrus and orange blossom - a note that I usually don't enjoy but is magical here- and the lovely aroma of evergreen trees. Magnificient. It is like a precious and natural Mediterranean shadow rather than the well-groomed beaches of blue voyages. This fragrance starts where the beach ends and real nature with its rocks, stones, trees and shadows starts.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whitecountess on 8/7/2010 3:23:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Jean-Claude Ellena is one of our perfume greats. He is responsible for First (Van Clef and Arpels) Declaration (Cartier) In Love Again (Yves Saint Laurent) The Vert (Bulgari) among many others.
Un Jardin en Mediterranee is one of my favorites from the Series Ellena did for Hermes.
The first spritz is intensely cedar and almost harsh, but the rewards are huge and they are almost instantaneous. Mediterranee soon dries down to a woody, fig-like note, and it is absolutely exquisite. You do feel the crackle and scent of the earth, but also something beautiful and divine. It smells like the beam of light that shines through the trees as you are walking alone in the forest.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 queenofthenile on 7/24/2010 11:35:00 AM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The combination of citrus, florals and spices is just right, but I can't say this is something I'd actually want to spray on myself. It'd be better as a room spray. And for some reason the scent of this perfume makes my stomach feel a bit ill...something I've never experienced with a fragrance I like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 7/3/2010 10:01:00 PM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely adore this scent. You can read all the other reviews for the notes, etc., but the end result is that once this dries down it smells of my father's garden, rich with the fresh citrus green scent of lemon verbena, and the orange blossom sweetness that kisses the whole thing with breathy florals. The fig adds a touch of richness, and in the Texas heat this blooms with a magic that is hard to put into words - it's like the whole thing suddenly lifts off the skin with a 3-D effect. The gorgeous bottle is a plus, and now I want to add the others to my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dive14 on 6/16/2010 10:42:00 AM more reviews by Dive14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My first memories of this perfume is my mum spraying it liberally all over my sister and I in an Hermes boutique in Rodeo Drive. I can remember my first thoughts, that it smelt totally different to anything I usually go for, and yet I loved it. The notes are listed as Fig Woods and Leaves, Orange Blossom, Bergamot and White Oleander. It smells very natural, 'green', fresh and warm - like the essence of a holiday captured in a bottle or like walking through an aromatic herbal garden. It's definitely more suited for one of those balmy, hot summer evenings for it to reach it's full potential. In my opinion I prefer it as a unisex scent; I can imagine this smelling absolutely delicious on a man... a handsome, well-educated, sharply dressed man. For me, however, it's too leafy and green - basically just not sweet or obviously feminine enough for me to commit to it. My issue is that if I happen to pick up on a particular note (whether it's my imagination or not) then that starts to become all I notice and look out for - and in this case it's dill/coriander. My sister has a bottle of it and when she wears it I can sometimes notice it quite prominently in the dry down, and to me it smells vaguely musty. I prefer the initial juicy, almost mouth-watering first blast. I would rate this higher for a male, however for myself it's just not "me" (read: foody, vanilla-based, sweet) enough.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twirls on 4/11/2010 5:21:00 AM more reviews by twirls

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my favourite summer scents. I love the fig/citrus combination - the smell transports me to an orange grove in Sorrento, Italy on a warm summer day. The staying power is OK.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dirtyrat on 11/20/2009 11:14:00 PM more reviews by dirtyrat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i am pretty particular about perfume, and would rarely wear it. on top of that anything i liked my seemed to be allergic to. (or so he said!) this was a gift, and at first spritz i was a bit overwhelmed - but after the initial strong smell fades a bit it's beautiful. clean and feminine. it has been my daily scent for close to two years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 9/30/2009 5:25:00 AM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a fig perfume lover and I have to say that this is one of my favorite fig fragrances along with L'Artisan Premier Figuier Extreme. I can definitely smell fig as the predominant note as well as the sweetness of the mastic which makes it very unusual and special. It has a rather fresh and earthy rather than fruity feel and is ideal for sunny days when musks and vanillas seem too much! Staying power is ok but could be better. Definitely full bottle worthy for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* essija on 8/24/2009 10:43:00 AM more reviews by essija

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Sharp green citrus on me. I'm still on the fence with this one. First time I wore it is was perfect, but now I get more of a masculine feel from it. I do like it, but I think My taste has changed a bit. Still going to use up my decant but not sure I would purchase??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products