Redken Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray

4.0

126 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/24/2010 5:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely LOVE this stuff. I only recommend to use it on the top of your scalp. I wouldn't use it all over. It can be a little crunchy if you don't blow dry it out or use too much. I've heard that it soaks up the oil in your hair, but it doesn't do that for me unfortunately. The pump can be kind of annoying. It's a huge bottle so the price isn't that bad. I recommend buying the small version for $5USD first to try it out. I found it at Ulta.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 7/7/2010 12:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. It is designed for a blow-out, not leave in scrunchy messes. My hair is baby fine and this product delivers volume without weight and washes out clean without residue. I love it! Lasts a long time too since my hair isn't really long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2010 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think a lot of the negative reviews are because people don't know how to use the product. My stylist recommended it to me as well and you MUST blow out your hair properly with a round brush to get the full effect.

I only use this when I know I have time because I have pretty long hair and I know it will be timely, that being said, it will make your hair lifted at the roots and tons of volume but you hair to blow out every strand. If you just work it into your hair and leave it- your hair will be gross and knotty and greasy.

You cant blame a product if you dont know how to use it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2010 3:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It looks like I'm in the minority here, but I really don't like this product. I bought it after seeing some reviews on YT, where people claimed it helped keep oils at bay so you can go an extra day without washing your hair. I don't really have super oily hair. Depending on what products I use, it can get oilier. This stuff actually made my roots pretty gross. Crunchy and sticky. If any of it got anywhere that wasn't my roots, I had trouble running my fingers through my hair. It didn't really give that much volume either. Also, I might have had a defective bottle because my spray nozzle barely worked. I went back to using my cheapo Suave mousse and it is way better.


on 5/24/2010 1:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

Love the directional spray nozzle. Got it for $10 at my local Winners - as opposed to the $25 retail price. Thing is, I don't blow-dry. I air-dry. So, the added volume was limited and I can't find a way to make this work. I'll save it, though, because you never know.


on 5/12/2010 5:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

since growing out my hair ive been on the hunt for mousse.......this spray foam is fantastic it doesnt make your hair sticky and it gives me wonderful volume


on 4/13/2010 11:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This thing is the opposite of volume. Made my hair so oily, greasy and dirty looking.

I really don't recommend, save your money.


on 4/10/2010 2:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Some people love this, but its not for my prone to greasiness, limp, wavy hair. I was looking around in my vanity for old hair stuff to try use up ( project 10 pan for your hair) and i found this obnoxious tall container and in huge black letters it said GUTS. I was imediatly curious. And i , not reading the instructions, squirted a generous dollop of this sticky mousse onto my clean hand and worked it in. Note: I did this around five at night, so my hair would have already had hair stuff in it. I looked in the mirror and my thin hair lay thin and greasy on my shoulders. Gross. I attacked it with a blowdryer and heat protectant, to try and get volume back. And i then looked in the mirror. My hair looked nice.Bouncy, voluminous but no shine.
SUMMARY
Works well with heat (before or after) NOT ON WET HAIR your hair will never dry and if miracallly, it will be bathing in an oil bath. Would i reccomend it NO. Well not for my type of hair. Better stuff you can get. Cheaper. More worthwhile.


on 1/16/2010 12:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOVE this stuff!!! I find it gives my hair more, and longer lasting, volume than mousse and a softer feel. Excellent for blow dry styles, especially using a round brush. I spray it only on the roots and love how the super-direct spray goes right where I want. After I spray on a "strip" of Guts, I gently work it into my roots, and move on to the next section of hair.

A little goes a long way. Be sure to shake it well so that it "foams" up before applying. If not, the results are too sticky. I gave it a "3" for packaging because I find the cap a little obnoxious. However, that's not such a big deal. I will definitely continue to buy this product, it's a styling product I won't be without.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2009 6:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I always have a can in the bathroom and although I try other things in between, this is a constant . I get great volume & bounce w/o a filmy feel to my hair. I spray it in my hands first,then i rub it into my roots.....Just don't use too much or it could make the hair feel heavy/filmy (if that's a word)!!


Popular Styling Products


Surf Spray
296 Reviews
Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
49 Reviews


Back to Top