Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3347 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 suukyi on 1/24/2014 3:07:00 PM more reviews by suukyi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The lady at the Clinique counter didn't lie to me when she said that Clinique's 3-step acne set works better than Proactiv.
I've used the Clinique product for about 5 weeks, and it didn't completely get rid of my acne.
I guess my acne can be described as moderate to medium. I always get a pimple or two, and every month there's a time when the amount grows to 3-5 zits.
Then, I switched to Proactiv. My acne became worse than I did when I didn't use any products at all. I should have simply used stuff more gentle and nicer to the skin than Proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bailey4213 on 1/24/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by Bailey4213

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for close to a year or so, and it did nothing for me. It didn't prevent any breakouts or help heal them. The worst thing about this product is I think it is formulated so that if you don't use it for a day or two your skin breaks out so that you have to continue to use it. Plus, we cancelled it & it just keeps coming. I have so much extra that I'm most likely going to sell it on eBay. Plus this stuff burns really bad, just overall a terrible product. I recently switched off of it & my skin freaked out at first but is now a million times better then before . It's just a hyped-up rip off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BeautyisLife123 on 1/24/2014 2:08:00 PM more reviews by BeautyisLife123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Breaks my skin out and doesn't clear up any past marks only worked for about a week then stopped working :[

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sarahjh123 on 1/15/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Sarahjh123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Proactive did wonders for me! I realized the key ingredient (benzoyl peroxide) is what works for my skin. Salicylic acid (used in most products I tried in the past) makes my acne worse. I use the spot mask over night also and loved it! It helped quickly get rid of any occasionally break out. Proactive did clear up my acne, however I did get small occasionally break outs during my time of month. My biggest complaints are the price and I did notice scars were left behind (which never happened to me) after using proactive, not sure if that was proactivs fault though. I wouldn't repurchase anymore, only because I found AcneFree (the severe kit) works amazingly for me. It is the best similar to proactive system for a great price. It also isn't as drying. I highly recommend you to look into AcneFree before you purchase the proactive system.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 conceal4ever on 1/14/2014 1:46:00 PM more reviews by conceal4ever

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think that people react to this product very differently. I just wanted to contribute to the body of consumer knowledge about this product through my own experience. I have combination, acne prone skin, and have struggled with my skin since my teens. I am now about to turn 37 and I have been using the proactiv 3 piece system for 16 years. For about 8-10 years proactiv did a fantastic job of keeping my skin crystal clear. I remember the first month my face did feel a bit like it was burning off and I called their customer service dept to complain. I continued to use it as suggested and after about 3 weeks my skin was completely transformed and in about 2 months it was clear as a baby. After about 10 years I think my skin began developing immunity to the benzoyl peroxide and I've had to add Clindoxyl to my skin care routine, but I still trust proactiv to do a pretty good job of cleaning my face. Again, it sounds like everyone reacts differently to this product, I've been lucky to have had a pretty good experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 catced on 1/14/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by catced

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So guys, I do not understand how I have not sued proactive yet. I used this for about 6 months when I was about 15 years old, and my moderate teen acne totally healed- I had a flawless complexion. I figured I would stop using it after that because I wanted some color on my skin (it cleared up my skin but made it super sensitive to light). So I washed my face with just the cleanser every night after that.
About two months later, my skin was DESTROYED and I mean D E S T R O Y E D. I had cystic acne EVERYWHERE. IN HIGH SCHOOL. The most embarrassing experience ever. I had to go on the highest dosage of accutane for 12 months. TWELVE MONTHS. And anti-depressants. All thanks to proactive.
What happened after I finished the year of accurate you ask? Well, the cystic acne scarring was so terrible, I had to go to a cosmetic surgeon and- thank god for my parents generosity- had 12 treatments of fraxel REPAIR, which came out to over $15,000. So thank you proactive, for this extraordinarily wonderful experience. Even though the 12 treatments of the harshest facial laser known in the technological world today was over, I am turning 21 in one weeks to date, and my hyper pigmentation, ice pick, and any other type of scarring you can possible think of, still exists on my face. I will never be happy with the way I look. No amount of makeup will ever help me. Thank you. If anyone has had this experience, please message me, I would love to hear about what devastation proactive has endured on your life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 auntita on 1/13/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I decided to give this a try when I was in high school and it burned my skin so badly after trying it the first time that I could not continue to use it. It had a strong smell and left my skin red and irritated. If you have sensitive skin this may not be for you. This was way too harsh for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shorthairdontcareee on 1/8/2014 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Shorthairdontcareee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A lot of hype and a waste of money ... did nothing to improve my skin and I had difficulty getting them to stop sending me additional unwanted kits. The toner wasn't bad but I definitely wouldn't buy again :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clp53 on 1/6/2014 3:58:00 AM more reviews by clp53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most confusing product.. At first my skin was beautiful.. It completely cleared up my average acne. I had my engagement photos done and my skin was flawless. After a few months my skin went insane.. So disgusting. Acne everywhere.. Huge under-my-skin acne that hurt. It lasted for months untl I switched away from pro activ. Now my skin is flawless again. I know for fact that proactiv caused this because the exact same scenario happened a few years back. So over priced. The sales phone people are TERRIBLE. Do not order over website or phone.. They send you stuff every few months and your stuck with it, I made this mistake by not reading fine print . If you buy at their kiosk you don't get set up on their stupid program where they send you crap all the time to your house

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Anjeli19 on 1/4/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by Anjeli19

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

hatehatehatehate
words cannot begin to describe what this hell sent product did to my face
my skin is naturally oily yet i managed to keep it under control with my simple clean and clear cleanser. my skin was still oily but my breakout were minimal to none. seeking to improve my skin further i bought proactiv. i followed all the steps religiously and went through the beginning process of my skin breaking out by removing the impurities. they told me to give it a month and all my breakouts would stop. LIESLIESLIESLIES. my skin continuously got worse and i started breaking out all over my face. my cheeks which were never pimple or acne prone started reacting horribly, leaving me with acne scars, blemishes, black heads, white heads, the whole nine yards. so basically instead of fixing my skin in any way, it made my skin worse, by a long shot. ive now switched my cleansers again and am still trying to recover from the previous trauma to my face and am forced to cover my face in foundation just to feel slightly more comfortable with it to be able to go out in public. IT'S NOT WORTH THE HYPE AND I REGRET IT. I FEEL LIKE BURNING THE PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products