Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream


623 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$


Water, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Dilauryl Thiodipropionate, Sodium Sulfate, Fragrance

on 1/17/2014 5:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is a decent barrier cream but I do not find it nourishing or really moisturizing for my parched hands. I don't like the feel on my hands when I apply this, while I find that it does sink in reasonably quick my hands do not feel pampered or even well cared for. In my experience, if a hand cream spells out Glycerin as the second ingredient on the list - which is the case here - it is the type of translucent ointment which looks similar to vaseline and immediately turns slippery and washes off when it comes in contact with water. To be quite clear, most hand creams contain Glycerin, and per se there is nothing wrong with that ingredient, but I much prefer if a hand cream formula has a lower percentage of Glycerin, in favor of more oils or vegetable butters. These "richer" hand creams are opaque and white in color and do not turn into a slippery mess when hands get wet. At less than half the price, Neutrogena would be a much cheaper alternative to my long time favorite, L'Occitane's Shea Butter Hand Cream. But I am sorry to say it is in no way a substitute for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 1/8/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have had eczema for as long as i can remember and it is especially annoying when it flares up on my hands. I keep this little hand cream in my backpack for school and I use it after I come in from the cold weather and also after I wash my hands. I have the unscented version and it's a thick, clear cream. Unlike some other reviewers, I don't find this cream sticky or hard to spread. It sinks in fast and leaves my hands feeling moisturized.

on 1/7/2014 11:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this in my handbag right now. It's an HG, but it's the best hand cream I've found so far. It's not the most aesthetic of hand creams. The simple tube packaging is just that, simple, but I can understand why some people do not like the formula. It's like a cream-gel consistency, but applies like a thick white paste and can be difficult to spread. I have very dry hands because of work, and also suffer from eczema around my knuckles. When I get a flare-up, when I want a barrier cream or when I simply just want to moisturizer my dry hands at night, this is my go-to product. Sure its a bit thick and greasy, but most hand creams are. And after sitting in front of the TV for an hour, it's had sufficient time to sink in and I don't notice the stickiness anymore. The best part is when I go to wash my hands and I can still feel the cream there on my skin. It's great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 12/31/2013 3:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I do like this a lot but much prefer the unscented one. This and the unscented one are all you need for supple and cared for hands. Great value. I have left a longer and more detailed review for the unscented version.

on 12/13/2013 7:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It feels like very thick petroleum jelly! Not moistening at all.

on 12/11/2013 8:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Meh, not my favorite hand cream, to say the least. I have the fragrance-free one, I use it when I go out running when it's not yet cold enough to put on gloves but too cold to just go out. It works as a barrier but other than that it doesn't do anything for me.

on 11/25/2013 10:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

To start I have the "fragrance free" one. I am fine with the packaging but that's where the anything positive I have to say about this product stops.
As for the actual "cream" inside I feel like it's as productive as rubbing Monistat Anti-Chafing gel on my hands. It's a similar consistency. It seems more like a barrier cream than a moisturizing cream. If I still had the receipt (and remember where I bought it from), I'd return this.

on 11/7/2013 7:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only thing that works on my hands and feet. Love it. It's scent free, thick and a small amount is enough. I can see how this could be greasy for other people but it's perfection on my very dry skin. Also, my chapped lips have disappeared (nothing has worked on them before)
This leaves a light residue after but I prefer this texture over the type you get from lotions.
Have repurchased this for the third time. It's a godsend.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hey its my new fave hand moisturiser, i dont spend on big brands or 'miracle' creams unless Im sure it will make a difference (maybe used sample fitst!) and this is quite easy to find where I live so no problem getting it if i run out which wont be for a long time judging by usage. At first yes it seemed slightly heavy or greasy but in the current weather - its turning colder by the day, this is keeping the flakies away and my cuticles smooth. Best of all it don't cost much! Try it. x

on 10/22/2013 7:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this every night since my teens, and now in my mid-forties, my hands are soft and looks younger than my face! Yes, it is sticky, tacky, and it sits on top of my skin, but I wouldn't change it for anything else I've tried so far. Everything, from L'Occitane to the yummy Laura Mercier to even La Prairie, they are too liquid and doesn't have the same effect on my skin. Keeping this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Popular Lotions / Creams

Nivea Creme
Nivea Creme
1178 Reviews

Back to Top