Chanel • Les Beiges - Healthy Glow Sheer Powder • Powder

rated 3.4(48 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 beautyobssessed on 2/3/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by beautyobssessed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recently just got this and the main reason for me buying this product is the packaging BUT to be honest yeah this powder doesn't do much, I used it to set my foundation and yes it sets it but doesn't do anything in the way of glowing or anything special! If you're the type that leans towards packaging when it comes to makeup then yes this is for you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tabercat on 1/11/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by tabercat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I will be returning this product. I purchased shade 10 (the lightest). I was looking for a perfect powder that was very sheer, as close to invisible as possible, non-drying, did not emphasize lines, set my makeup, absorbed a little bit of shine, and contained spf. Amazingly, I would say it fits the bill on the above. However, the fragrance gave me an instant headache and immediately made my face a little itchy/tingly. My skin is not generally very sensitive. I think this product is terrible for the skin due to the fragrance content, although it has a nice cosmetic effect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LilianaF on 1/10/2014 11:19:00 AM more reviews by LilianaF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought it in N.40 and use it as a bronzer. I love it! The mirror is great and the brush works fantastic for me (it is soft enough that does not remove the make-up I put underneath). The only reason I am giving four stars is because of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 paleseptember on 12/10/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by paleseptember

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I would not repurchase this product. I have tried wearing it a few different ways - first using my foundation as usual and setting it with Les Beiges. This does absolutely nothing but emphasise the down on my cheeks. Not even 10 minutes later a shine develops on my T-zone so it is not effective as a setting/blotting powder.

I have also used it as my 'base'. First I applied concealer over redness, blemishes and under the eyes and then applied this with a dense brush all over the face. I found this technique more long-lasting when set with a separate powder. I feel the effect was nice for a natural daytime look but it is too high maintenance for me and the powders in general are very peach-toned which does not work on my sallow skin meaning it has to be blended properly down the neck.

The packaging it beautiful but the hinge broke within the first month of use. The scent is also great (typical Chanel) but I don't understand the appeal of the product. It's a waste of money.

I have heard it works nicely as a bronzer if you purchase a darker shade, I've yet to try this technique!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TrendSetter1 on 11/26/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by TrendSetter1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I always end up reading the MakeupAlley reviews - usually after I have bought the product and it is too late! Packaging lovely and nice in bag but a mistake buy for me. I use Shu Uemura powder to set my makeup and it's perfect (and light) and to be honest at the age of 40 I like to have a glow on my cheeks so I use little powder, just to set where I have put concealer along T-line. But I read about Chanel's 'healthy GLOW sheer/bronzer powder' which sounded great. I'm a Mac NC20 and bought the N20. Using the given brush I just can't see any difference and it certainly isn't even a good normal powder. Reviews suggest I should have bought the N30 for more colour and that glow/teint belle mine? I was thinking of counting my losses on this one but last night I thought I'd try the N30. Yes likely to be better (bit more colour) but I got sold into buying the expensive kabuki brush instead!... It was either count my losses on the N20 (I would not have bought N30) or use a kabuki brush (which I didn't have) and it did seem to make a difference. Was told N20 + brush was perfect colour (N30 with brush would be too dark). I wish I had NOT bought the brush - powder is too thick with it on my face which feels dry and tight. It isn't a powder and certainly doesn't work as one. Your usual powder and bronzer will be far better for colour and glow. And talking about bronzers, Chantecaille Bronze powder is wonderful (but v expensive!) and DOES give a nice glow and you don't feel it on your face. In sum don't buy, and don't be tempted by the brush either, you aren't missing anything!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dellti on 11/24/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Dellti

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! I purchased it in no 40 to use as a bronzer on my very fair skin. It is lovely! I don't mind the fragrance. The brush that comes with the compact is nice, but I prefer my 189 from MAC as it gives a nice light application. I will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 11/18/2013 3:49:00 PM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really really REALLY wanted to love this product since it costs darn too much money. I was originally looking for their perfection lumiere powder compact but the store has been out of my shade for a very long time apparently and a girl at the counter talked me into buying this powder instead. She matched me to No. 10 which is very very sheer upon the application and had just the slightest sheen to it. Not sparkly and not completely matte. Well I would of loved to keep the powder if I have had drier skin, but the shea butter in this powder made me look super duper shiny in the T-zone. The finish of it is very lovely and I think someone with a good skin that is more normal to dry would love it, since it just creates a beautiful glowing effect. Unfortunately on my combo oily skin it just looked horribly greasy after about 2 hours.
Also, in case you were wondering, these Les Beiges powders are somewhat similar in effect to Hourglass's Ambient Powders but they are more on a peachy/bronzing side. No. 10 shade creates EXACTLY the same effect as Hourglass's DIM light (although the Ambient powders do not make me look greasy at all), and the darker shades like No. 20 or No. 30 could be the "matte" versions of the Ambient powder in Radient.
So, the bottom line this product is hit or miss for sure. You may love it or you may hate it, it just all depends on what you are looking for. If you have oily skin - stay away, unless you only apply it on the perimeter of your face. But the problem then would be the price - is it worth to spend that kind of money on a product that you can only wear on certain parts of the face? And if your skin is in good condition that is either dry or normal, then you may like it since it will create a lovely natural glowing effect.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hammurabi on 11/11/2013 6:04:00 AM more reviews by Hammurabi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Like blushes, I also don't need another powder but the packaging is just oh so pretty. So bought myself a 30 (in hope to use it like a bronzer as well, but my skin is actually 20).
Powder smells wonderful, packaging is beautiful, the only thing that confuses me is the silly plastic shield that separates the brush and powder compact. Dear Chanel if you charges so much for a powder, please have a little separate compartment for the brush? the plastic shield is just so cheap.
The brush that comes with it is not too bad at all actually but I still use my own squirrel brushes. The colour is actually so light that even I use on my whole face it still look natural. Smells divine! and the great thing about it is while it does sparkles a little in the pan it is not sparkly at all.
I do like this powder, but it is not an amazing powder. Expensive yes, I got it duty free so I am very happy.
Wont pay stupid Australian prices for that for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GetSmart on 11/5/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by GetSmart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this. It is useless. It is so sheer it's like you're not wearing anything. It doesn't even cover up shine. What is the point? Further, I have used it 3 times and I have a hard film forming on the product that I will have to 'scratch off'. My brushes aren't dirty, it's just from using it on my skin when i have foundation on.

This cost me $90 AUD and it's a total waste of money.

Why are they all so orange, too? The lightest colour was not light enough.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yolp1945 on 11/5/2013 12:58:00 AM more reviews by yolp1945

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After I read other reviews and considered my own experience with this powder, I have come to the conclusion that perhaps this product works for people who don't need to "cover" anything up (acne, fine lines, etc). This product is sheer and will not cover anything. It works it you have relatively smooth skin that is normal to dry.

That said, I love this powder. My skin condition is relatively okay - no acne, no rosacea, no fine lines - and is normal to dry. On weekends when I'm running errands, I apply sunblock, buff this powder on (with Chanel's retractable kabuki that was released with Les Beiges), and run out of the house. It lasts a few good hours before I become shiny. When I work, I brush this on over foundation as setting powder with a powder brush.

As I have normal to dry skin, only a few parts of my face becomes oily in the day. I use blotting paper first, then use the half-moon brush that comes in the package to lightly TAP on the powder. I don't sweep it on with that brush because the powder gets everywhere (once my boyfriend said "there's an entire cloud around your face!").

So that is my experience. I don't think it's too expensive given that you get beautiful packaging and a very finely milled powder. But as always, consider your skin type first before splurging!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Powder products