Josie Maran Cosmetics • Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 40 • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunalove on 1/12/2013 11:01:00 AM more reviews by lunalove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with other reviewers who said that this is def. not water proof :)
It is white when you pump it out but I use 2 squirts on my whole face and neck and it doesnt leave me with a white cast to my face. It does protect from sun and esp if you are using a product like retin a or many acne meds, they make you more sun sensitive so high daily spf is a must-have.
I think that if you have dry skin this might not be moisturizing enough for you, but for normal to oily skins, this should be enough.
I apply this, then my foundation, and finish with powder and have had no problems with it breaking down my foundation or anything and as long as Im not sweating profusely or in rain, it does just fine.
If I dont find anything I like better I will be repurchasing once I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluemeanie on 1/10/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by bluemeanie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is dry. I like this product very much for when I want a quick combo product (moisturizer+sunscreen), but I don't use it every day. When I tried using argan oil alone as a moisturizer for several days back-to-back, I had some breakouts. With using it only sporadically (2-3 days per week typically), I have had no problems. The scent strikes me as a bit fruity, which I like since I can't stand the scent of typical sunscreens. 2 squirts is enough for my face and then I do one more for my neck and chest area. The product comes out opaque white, but doesn't leave a white cast on my skin. It's fairly easy to rub in to skin. I would repurchase at this point.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alg2106 on 1/10/2013 7:04:00 PM more reviews by alg2106

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this ffor winter months when my skin gets a little dryer. However, after about 2 months of use I began to break out all over my face and discontinued use. It took me a while to get my skin to clear up and that was after going to the dermatologist for a sulfur mask and antibiotics. If you don't get breakouts easily, though, definitely check it out because it does moisturize your skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 slchapman26 on 1/4/2013 4:21:00 PM more reviews by slchapman26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's an interesting product but on it's own I don't like it. I found, like with most Josie Maran products, it works better if it is combined with the argan oil. If you use the argan oil on your face first then the moisturizer it is quite nice and light. The one downfall is that it is a bit oily. I don't mind that becuase I'm fairly dry and live in an extremely dry climate, so for me it is great. You need to get used to the texture though. I also find this product is only good if you are not applying any foundation over it. If you are looking for colouring then use the tinted moisturizer, then for fuller coverage, add the matchmaker foundation. Using the Matchmaker foundation over this SPF moisturizer doesn't work, it made me really flaky especially on my cheaks where I am usually not dry at all.
Overall I really like this moisturizer if used in combination with the argan oil as a base.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roseb202 on 1/2/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by roseb202

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin and like this product. It does not cause tingling or burning like some other products do. I like that it has physical sunscreens instead of chemical sunscreens.

It has a nice pump dispenser. The consistency is not thick, which I like. It is pretty liquidy which allows me to spread it easily over my face. I lightly rub it into my face, doing portions at a time. It takes a minute or so to fully absorb. Then I apply a tinted foundation overtop. The result is very nice.

It wears well throughout the day, although I am not exposed to a lot of sunlight given that it's wintertime here where I am, and I stay indoors mostly.

The only thing I don't like about it is the slightly flowery smell, which reminds me very much of the air freshener on planes. I could get used to it over time, though. Wish they would make it totally unfragranced.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nades01 on 12/5/2012 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Nades01

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

By far THE outmost best cream with SPF ever! So gentle, I even use it at night. Never any breakouts and my skin has never been smoother and more even looking, even younger looking(am 44). Do buy it by the gallon, and it also comes in a bigger format which is totally worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tlex on 11/29/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by tlex

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Best sunscreen for me. It took awhile to figure it out, but my skin (acne) improved markedly using this. As a sunscreen, awesome under normal conditions. It is not water or sweat proof, at all.

The pkg is great, but I find it pretty expensive. If could something this excellent in $20-$25 range I would be a lot happier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 11/29/2012 2:55:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Liked the high spf of 40, but this turned out to be a pore clogger for my combination skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joymelissa on 11/17/2012 2:32:00 PM more reviews by joymelissa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favorite winter time SPF. It moisturizes my skin yet I do not breakout. Since I use Retin-A & proactiv I find the argan oil beneficial, it has never made me breakout in the winter...though I don't use it in the summertime since it is too heavy for my skin during warmer months. So when it starts to heat up I switch to La Mer SPF 30.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 05Rae15 on 11/11/2012 12:27:00 AM more reviews by 05Rae15

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this to use as my daily moisturizer but I didn't find it was hydrating enough for that purpose. It works really well as a sunscreen over top of another moisturizer but the point of buying this was so I would have spf and a moisturizer all in one and not have to use multiple products. With that being said it is a great sunscreen and I do use it in the summer for that purpose. I burn easily and when I put this on in the morning it protects my face right into the evening. It doesn't clog my pores which is a huge plus and it also doesn't leave me looking oily which some sunscreens do. I haven't noticed a white cast with this but I have noticed it comes off easily (if I talk on the phone it's all over the screen when I am done). It smells like blueberries which I didn't mind. I have a 4 oz. bottle to use up but I likely wouldn't buy this again after that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Moisturizers products