BeneFit Cosmetics • Sun Beam • Highlighters

rated 4.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Teaspenc on 4/23/2013 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Teaspenc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff I mix a little in with my tinted moisturizer it adds a dewy look. I use it as bronzer and eyeshadow! It is quality stuff :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 babygems on 4/12/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by babygems

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am disappointed with this product. It just doesn't show up on my skin. I am light skinned don't know what MAC colour but I wear buff in revlon true colour foundation. For me it is a complete waste of money if you have similar colour skin colouring to me I would say test it out before buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loovexemilyy on 3/17/2013 12:35:00 AM more reviews by loovexemilyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Sun Beam! I was able to snag a mini bottle of this along with a mini Coralista for around $15 at Sephora - so it was a steal in my opinion, as I probably wouldn't use an entire bottle of Sun Beam let alone pay $26+ for it. Anyways - I love to use this in the dead of summer as I feel like this is the only acceptable time to be gold and glowing! This is a beautiful highlighter that will only see the light of day a few weeks out of the year. It's a pretty pink/bronze/gold shimmer that adds a beautiful sun kissed glow. I'll either dab a bit down the center of my nose or just on my cheeks. (Side note: Blend well! I've taken the brush and dotted this on my cheeks and realized that I didn't blend this in well enough and the dots of product picked up on my sponge and went back on my face in the same shape - it looked like I had golden freckles!) Great product - it's such a nice color but I can't really pull it off year round.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jnn78 on 3/8/2013 9:17:00 PM more reviews by jnn78

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this! I am super super pale, so I was a little apprehensive about trying out a liquid bronzing product meant for all skin tones. But, I am happy to say that the product gives you a beautiful, subtle glow! You can apply this as a full bronzer if you want, but I think it is a little too shiny for that (unless your skin is very dry). I use this when I go out at night in conjunction with my powdered bronzer, and mainly put it on my cheekbones and brow bone. When I use it like this, it actually makes me look slightly tanner without looking like I'm wearing bronzer at all. I couldn't recommend this enough, except it is not a necessity for the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Divia14 on 3/8/2013 7:59:00 PM more reviews by Divia14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This highlight is amazing!It gives me such a pretty glow and I cannot leave my house without it!I went out to purchase High beam but it looked a little too pink for my skin tone and have me a white cast so the sale assistant recommended sun beam and I fell in love!This looks stunning on tan skin!I apply this on my cheek bones and under my brows and my face instantly lights up!I highly recommend trying this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mookier on 1/27/2013 11:36:00 PM more reviews by Mookier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a mini size with the sexy little stowaways kit. It is a "meh" product for me. Not a must have but not bad either.
It is a bit too glittery and doesn't really do much. I will use the mini size but won't be buying the full size tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thrrrrob on 1/17/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by thrrrrob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought a small sample of this from Sephora and I have to say it's beautiful. I am going to buy the full size when I'm done. It gives the most subtle glow to your face and that's what I like about it. You can use a generous amount on your cheekbones and you look like you had 10 hours of sleep. Absolutely gorgeous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mirageangelhope on 1/2/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

hated the pink one have to say that I really love this it isn't as stark against my skin.I also find this one much better texture wise non-greasy and won't displace any makeup underneath.Got the mini and the tons of product, this won't run out for a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 12/6/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sun Beam is one of Benefit's newer products, released earlier this year. This product is described as a "golden bronze highlighter to give you a natural sunkissed radiance. Dot and blend over makeup on cheek and brow bones for a bronzed glow that compliments all skin tones. It's liquid sunshine in a bottle!". Whoa there Benefit, lets not make silly claims here. I got a tiny 2.5ml sample of Sun Beam in Benefit's Sexy Little Stowaways value kit. The full size bottle contains 13ml (.45fl oz) retails for $26, giving my little sample a value of around $5. Benefit does not test on animals, but doesn't consider themselves "cruelty free", you can read more about that in their FAQ. Sun Beam was made in France. Benefit products are available at the brand's website, free standing Benefit boutiques, Benefit counters in select department stores, Sephora, and Ulta.
My mini bottle of Sun Beam is pretty different from the full size version. This little tube kinda looks like a mini lip gloss. The tube is an opaque bronzy gold shade that's just about the same color as the actual product. The name of the product is written vertically on the front of the tube, along with Benefit's logo. A small amount of product information can be found on the back of the tube. Twisting off the black cap will reveal a small, stiff brush applicator that's super saturated in product. This brush is only for dotting the product onto your face, do not attempt to use it to blend the product out, that's what fingers are for.
Sun Beam is a bronzey gold, creamy, liquid highlighter. I believe that Sun Beam is the liquid version of Watts Up?. Sun Beam is actually quite thin, blending easily and evenly into the skin. This highlight is on the shimmery side and seems opaque if you make a quick swatch of it, but once blended out Sun Beam becomes quite sheer, but still retails some golden warmth. When I initially swatched Sun Beam I thought it would be way too much for my very pale complexion. It was so shimmery, so bronzey, something that would look stunning on tan skin, but not me, I'm too pink and fair. Boy was I wrong. I applied Sun Beam to the cheekbones - just four dots, compared to the eight dots I use when I apply High Beam. I blended this highlighter out and wow...this is by far the most realistic, natural, complimentary highlight ever! Sun Beam warms my face up in the way a bronzer would, but without imparting as much color. The golden glow is still there, but its no where near as strong as it shows up in a swatch. The glowy golden sheen really gives the effect of being out in the sun without actually going outside, which is great for attic dwellers like myself.
Benefit's Sun Beam has quickly become my new favorite liquid highlighter. I much prefer it over it's sister High Beam. I find that the warm golden effect is so beautiful and flattering. I wish I had a larger sample size, I feel like I'm going to finish this tiny tube up so quickly. I won't splurge on the nearly $30 full size, but I'll snatch up another sample size as soon as I can in another Benefit value kit. Try Sun Beam some time, don't like it's bronzey hue intimidate you, the effect is so subtle and pretty. I don't know why Sun Beam doesn't get more buzz, it seems universally flattering. Definitely a new favorite from Benefit.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ariel2229 on 11/21/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by ariel2229

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a sephora coral my world kit. This came along with their coralista blush. First off the packaging that they came in was soooooo cute. With sun beam I like the fact that it comes with a brush applicator, I find this works best for me. I like this highlighter it is made more for women of color unlike high beam which can tend to look too harsh or ashy on women of color so I find this product is perfect for me. It is a goldish bronze shimmr very flattering and natural looking, like you are glowing from within in my opinion

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Highlighters products