Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(259 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aquaris on 5/7/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by aquaris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this! I like to use it a neutral shadow for "no makeup" looks. I also like to use it as a subtle eyeliner. I've tried it for my brows too but I think it's a little too cool for me, but otherwise works great to help fill in the brows. Overall a versatile, good quality, great value cream shadow. Seriously, I've had this for about 6 months now and use it a few times a week and haven't made much of a dent in it. Definitely want to give some of the other shades a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ValleyGirl on 5/2/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by ValleyGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this stuff. I use it as an eyeliner for some subtle defintion, BUT, its real genius for me is on my EYEBROWS.

Yes, it's a brilliant, perfect shade to give my brows definition and it LASTS. I use my finest, stiffest lining brush to apply, then blend with a spoolie, clean up the edges, and finish with a fixative of some sort. (currently just hairspray on a spoolie till I can convince myself to spend the bucks on the Anastasia Brow Fix.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dyellowrosek on 4/18/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by dyellowrosek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the very first Color Tattoo I bought and it was NOT a waste of money. I love this product. I don't have super oily lid, but it can get oily depending on the weather conditions, and this product stays on regardless with no creasing. I use it as a base, as well as by itself with some liner and mascara. Application for me is smooth, not patchy like some other cream shadows. On me it looks grayish, reminds me of the colour of cement. It is a matte cream, no shimmer. The price is fairly ok in my country if you buy it from a beauty store called "Pennywise" but it can get very expensive if purchased elsewhere. I have purchased a few other colours, but we do not get much of a variety here :(. Great product, try it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rav2b on 4/11/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by rav2b

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Not what I'd hoped. I like the color, but it' same bear to get on smoothly. The brand new, previously unopened product felt very dry. Several brushes brought up...practically nothing. I had to use my fingers, which doesn't bother me, and it still felt dry and difficult to blend. If you can get it on, it will stay...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BCbabe on 3/12/2014 10:44:00 PM more reviews by BCbabe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

One of the Color Tattoos that I somehow *had* to have... despite my inner dialogue ("Flat, boring taupe? Are you kidding? You'll never use that!") But I just had to have it... you know, because it was a flippin' Color Tattoo... and it was ON SALE... for like 1/2 price! I picked up pretty much every other one in the display over the weeks... I kept seeing the "sale" sign at my local SaveOnFoods and figured I could sneak them into the house one or two at a time under the guise of "groceries". And that's how it came to nestle in my collection. Having said that, I've yet to use it as an eyeshadow (not that I won't attempt it). I like mattes, but I kind of have to be in the mood to use them. They're... boring. They're respectable but dull, you know? And then over the past couple weeks I kept hearing all this talk about Anastasia Brow Dip, and I thought "Kewl... another attempt at gel for brows. I knew MAC put some out a while back - the Fluidline Brow Gelcremes - but those sold out like hotcakes and go figure, that wasn't enough to make them think "Oh, good idea! Let's make these permanent!" So much for an opportunity to capitalize on what many could have embraced as an essential beauty item. But the blonde shade was way too warm for my liking for me to even want to give it a whirl. And so, I'm also hearing the Anastasia ones are also too warm for a lot of blondes. Another lost opportunity (though I do hear more shades are coming...). BUT that is where this little gem steps in, because it works as a brow gel and fills that "true taupe" gap that both MAC and Anastasia messed up/missed out on. Seriously, it's my new BFF and I certainly didn't start the relationship even thinking it had that kind of potential. And it doesn't itch my like my pencil does, so I'm beyond grateful and pleased. BUT WAIT, THERE'S MORE... My usual "late to the par-tay" self is finally recognizing the greatness that was Chanel Notorious Ombre (not to be confused with Notorious Hombre...) Contraste - Sculpting Veil for Eyes and Cheeks. But you know why I missed out on this don't you? Because it's a flippin boring near dead, er matte taupe. Why put death on your face? Trust me, if you put too much on your face, people will think that BUT a judicious and strategic application will sculpt you the most perfect cheekbones, nose, eyelids or whatever else you want to sculpt onto your purdy li'l face. I get it. (Finally!!) Natural shadows mixed with flesh tones generally comes off as a taupey shade. (Not brown and certainly not a shimmery bronze... more on that another time). Now I'm not saying that Maybelline Tough as Taupe matches the illustriousness of Chanel, but you can also use this nutty little pot 'o taupe as a contour? (Oh yes, I did try it!) I haz cheekbonez! A little on one middle finger tip (it just seems to be the one I use to find my cheekbones), rub it on the opposite middle finger and gently press/slide it up under your cheekbones from just in front of your ear to about 1/2 way to the corner of your mouth. (Don't bring it too far forward or it will look unnatural). But it works... and it's long wearing! Didn't see that coming did you? Neither did I. This review just kind of morphed into some...thing and now I'm trying to think... Where else can you find a long wearing matte cream taupe? Mind blown. Who knew my little boring matte nemesis could turn the tables so fast? Nuh uh, not me! Get out the napkins cuz I just got served, man! Biggest sleeper in my stash. I should introduce it to my Copperplate...

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 2/27/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have owned this for several months but lately I am obsessed and wearing it every day. As others have said, this is actually the perfect shade of grey, not really taupe at all on me. I am a pale but ruddy NC15 with warm undertones, and I tend to avoid warm colors as they look muddy on my skin tone. I am crazy about thus product for several reasons: 1) it's cheap; 2) it's available everywhere; 3) it wears like a dream -- all day, no creasing (with UDPP); 4) you get a lot of product so you'll never run out; 5) but best of all: the shade. It's the perfect cool-toned medium grey that can, in certain light, be slightly brown/taupe (but it's usually pure grey). This color is SO gorgeous with dark brown eyes and pale skin. It's the perfect crease/outer v color, but you could also use it all over for a dramatic smokey eye. It can be sheered out for a lighter casual grey, or it can easily be built up for a deeper grey, a darker dramatic look. The color is so versatile that it pairs beautifully with any lid color, like a basic cream or a shimmery silver. The issues I have with it and the reasons it didn't get 5 lippies are 1) I can't seem to find the perfect brush for it so application and blending are a frustrating process (tried synthetic and natural but nothing's perfect); 2) it can apply patchy because of the texture - best to warm it with fingers before applying to prevent this; 3) the heavy glass jar container is a bit bulky and annoying to transport. And of course, the name could be more accurate. Other than that, this one is love, true love for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rose1234 on 2/5/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by rose1234

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Edited review:

I took two Lippies off because I wore this again but did two layers near my eye and it CREASED. So, that brings it down quite a lot as it is not so buildable, limits the looks I can do and possibly might require powder to set. Still like it and will give it a few more tries before it goes out of rotation.

Original review:
I knew of this eyeshadow from the MUB. So, when I saw them BOGO half off, I bought this and the bronze color. I dug in and was surprised how much came up. Also, the color was different in the underlayer than on top. I thought it would be a sandy taupe, but it is more grey almost leaning towards blue.

I put on, smeared around to above crease, highlighted tear ducts and inner 1/3 with a shiny champagne color and the brows with a bone white. A dark brown liquid liner and black thick mascara completed the look. I got sooooo many compliments. Someone even told me I looked like I had model makeup on.

Pros:
Color
Long wearing

Cons:
Need to be careful with amount of application - a little goes a long way!
Creased when applied second layer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jwalk839 on 2/5/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by jwalk839

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not crazy about this product. I've used other colors in the Color Tattoo line, but Tough as Taupe did not live up to what I've come to expect from these shadows. While others from this line are creamy and easy to apply, I found this one to be very muddy and little bit too thick. It is very easy to go too dark with this and it does NOT spread easily onto the lid. You really have to work it in so it doesn't look patchy. I also found that it appeared weirdly purple once I got it onto my lid. I don't know, maybe this shade just doesn't work with my face. Overall, I felt this product was too much of a hassle to apply and was not flattering on me. The one good thing I can say about this product is that, in true Color Tattoo fashion, the color does stay on all day long. So, if you think you would enjoy the shade, it will give you great staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 1/31/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nice base for a smokey eye.

It's more of a medium warm grey w/hint of taupe, not an actual taupe. It's a creamy matte finish and tugs a bit when applying.

For a lazy smokey eyes, I add a black in the crease, a shimmery highlight and smudge with liner on top and bottom lashes and voila, a super easy smokey eye.

Similar to Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay In Place ShadowCreme in Mochachino.
<3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lovelaura23 on 1/20/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Lovelaura23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best for natural smokey look! Day look nd night look

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products