LUSH • Ocean Salt • Scrubs

rated 4.0(671 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gingerbelle8 on 7/22/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by Gingerbelle8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've forgotten how much I loved this!! I never get to a Lush often and after using it again after a while of using other exfoliants I find this really makes my skin super smooth like a baby's bottom. My skin isn't sensitive so it works very well. I love that it doesn't smell and if I get any near my mouth it just tastes like salt. I only use it in the shower every other day. After using it I can't stop touching my face (even though I know touching my face is a no no.) The salt is naturally antibacterial so it really benefits acne prone skin. It also has a beautiful blue tone to it, even though it doesn't do anything for your skin...but it's nice to look at. It feels like a spa sea salt scrub you get at the spa!! Oh and not to mention, my skin feels squeaky clean without feeling over dry! Bonus!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sara_1987 on 7/21/2014 10:36:00 AM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This scrub is too harsh for using on your face, but can be nice as a body or foot scrub.

The salt can sting your skin though (if using on cuts or any sort of irritated skin).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 07words on 7/20/2014 5:44:00 PM more reviews by 07words

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I thought this was too harsh for my skin but i've eventually found my love for it.

I use this twice a week and scrub my face gently with it using a small amount. You need to watch out for sharp bits as they will hurt if you scrub your face too hard. The vodka in the ingredients is good as a toner, you can feel it getting to work on your skin. After washing this off with warm water, my skin is left feeling extremely smooth and not dry at all.

I've given up on all other exfoliators - this is my favourite. If only they'd now reduce the price (they put it up by 1).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 7/12/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I bought this to exfoliate my dry skin. (I always have flakey skin) I found it to be too harsh, irritating and drying my skin too much.

However, it works well as an acne spot treatment for me. Its also been verryyyyy handy to exfoliate my body before shaving so that's how I usually use it now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shaunan on 6/21/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by shaunan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is combo-dry. I was told to use ultrabland, WITH this to exfoliate but still have some moisture. This combo did not do it for me at all, it actually caused me to have break outs under my skin as well as near my mouth and along my cheeks.
On its own, its SUPER abrasive. If you have softer skin, this is going to be wayy too harsh. And honestly, I felt like mixing ultrabland and ocean salt was the same as mixing honey and sea salt together. much cheaper too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DJCupcakes on 6/15/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by DJCupcakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First off, let me preface my review by saying that I do not have sensitive skin. If you do - in any of the areas you plan on exfoliating - skip this product. It is definitely on the harsh/aggressive side, and sensitive types won't do well with it, IMO.

That being said, I don't have sensitive skin, and I love this scrub. I was skeptical of it at first, but after I tried a sample out on my hand, I was hooked - I could not remember my skin ever feeling so smooth and baby-soft.

This has a combination of finer crystals and coarser ones. When you first buy it, the coarser ones will be at the top, so you'll need to mix it (a long orange wood stick works well). The scent is oceany/watery and fresh, with a whiff of lime and vodka. It is bright blue, which is unnecessary, of course, but fun.

I've used this on both body and face. As I mentioned, it's quite aggressive, so you don't need to put a lot of pressure behind it. Simply glide it over your skin and the scrub itself will do the rest. (Seriously, don't scrub this into your skin. It is plenty strong on its own and working it in too roughly will be unpleasant.) Also beware of using these near any sort of open cut or wound. It does have salt, after all, so doing so will sting.

When I rinse this off, my skin is unbelievably smooth, like a baby's bum. This is quite a feat for me on my face especially, as my facial skin is rather roughly textured. This makes it feel refined and almost marble-like. Any rough spots I had are completely eliminated. I also feel that it has contributed to fading some of my hyperpigmentation from old acne, as I have fewer red marks now than I did when I started using this (and nothing else I'm using would be a contributing factor). Ocean Salt is like a facial-in-a-jar for me. It's also nice to use on the body prior to shaving. My legs, underarms, and bikini area get a remarkably smooth and close shave after exfoliating with this first.

I do not find this irritating to my skin, but again: I have resistant/non-sensitive skin, and I use a light hand. I also don't use this extremely often - usually once a week. I will keep repurchasing because nothing else has ever made my skin feel this smooth. If you're worried about the harshness, use with caution at first and try to get a sample before you commit to a full size.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaThunderroad on 6/8/2014 2:03:00 PM more reviews by AnnaThunderroad

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I cannot use this more than once a week, as I have extremely dry and very sensitive skin -- and this product is pretty harsh and my face does feel irritated and really tight right after it for a bit, but boy do I still love this stuff. It's like you're diving into a pool with the most sparkling, cleanest and coolest water on a hot summer's day. The scent is just amazing -- on days where I don't use it I catch myself smelling at it and I get anxious to use it again. If you have dry skin it's advisable to use it before you go to bed, so your skin has time to settle down overnight, and you will wake up with luminous looking, supple skin that's really, really noticable. It seems to cleanse pores really well, and I could literally watch the tiny blackheads on my nose disappear after every use. I am obsessed with anything that makes your skin super super soft, so this is like a drug for me. Even if you only use this product once a week your skin will most likely stay really smooth until you do it again. Sunday night is my Ocean Salt night and I look forward to it like I'm gonna have really good sex or something, hehe. It feels like a spa treatment. The price is steep, but it lasts a while since you don't need a whole lot of it. The first time I bought this I actually intended to use this only as a body scrub, and I do not recommend it for that, since the entire jar only lasted for 2-3 uses and my skin got super super irritated. In tiny little doses my face can deal with it, and I don't mind the irritation that much since the results are so amazing the next day. I can whole-heartedly recommend this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwiDay on 6/3/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by TwiDay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is hands down the best facial cleansing product I've used. It keeps my oily skin under control, it helps even out any redness. I still get a small breakout when it's that time of the month but even then this product makes the pimples small and not painful unlike the usual massive blind pimples I was getting each month. It is a little a expensive but I don't mind paying that for a product that works this well. Remember to be gentle while applying it otherwise it may hurt your skin a little bit. The smell is divine. I was originally put off when the sales assistant told me it smelt like margarita but it's not over powering and makes it feel that you've actually cleaned your skin. I LOVE the packaging is simple, cute and effective and with Lush's policy of bringing back 5 clean tubs into a store and getting a fresh face mask for free in return, how could you go wrong!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DanicaMarie on 5/26/2014 2:33:00 PM more reviews by DanicaMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm only 24, but i've used A LOT of skincare products over those 24 years; especially this last year when i've really become serious about taking better care of my skin. I've used a plethora of cleansers, moisturizers and scrubs/exfoliators. This sea salt scrub from LUSH is incredible. I've only been using it for a week (every other day) but i already beyond love it. The smell is amazing, it smells like a citrus-y margarita. I ordered it online, and after reading a ton of reviews on it, knew to mix mix mix before using. Even if you get them to mix it in the store for you, or think you've mixed it enough, mix some more. There are fine salt pieces, but there are also big chunks that could probably do some damage if just smeared around. The one thing i will warn you about is it does sting a little bit. Not even just on open pimples or anything either. Even on the clear parts of my skin it stung. Personally i actually kind of like it when a skincare product tingles a bit (makes me feel like its really working) so i like this, and it doesn't last terribly long anyways. You also have to be VERY gentle when you're rubbing this around, it is pretty abrasive (which is also why i dont think i could use this everyday) but i can honestly say i have never used an exfoliator that leaves my skin as soft as this. Honestly feels like silk. I will repurchase this forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riyeu on 5/26/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by riyeu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this and I love it. It is a course scrub that washes off clean. It has a light scent that I enjoy. I had a cut on my finger and it burned a bit so make sure you don't have any paper cuts while using this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Scrubs products